Skip to department navigation
Skip to content
Skip to global navigation
library » library.mst.edu » resources » databases » dblist

 

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z

Use of these resources is limited by licensing agreements. Click here to see the terms of use.

 

 

A
ABI/Inform 1971 - present (ProQuest) ABI/Inform provides access to information in 1000 business journals worldwide. Information covered includes economics, finance, and taxation. Full text articles are included.
Academic Search Complete A multi-disciplinary database providing full text for nearly 8,600 journals, including full text for more than 7,500 peer-reviewed titles.  ASC offers indexing and abstracts for more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings, and contains PDF content going back as far as 1887.
ACI International Abstracts (American Concrete Institute) This database provides searchable abstracts to international concrete publications, including those of the American Concrete Institute. There is an option on the search page to limit your search to just ACI publications.
ACM Digital Library The ACM Digital Library contains all of the journals and magazines from the 1950's onward (where available) published by the Association for Computing Machinery, a professional organization focused on computer science.
Aerospace & High Technology Database The Aerospace Database provides bibliographic coverage of basic and applied research in aeronautics, astronautics, and space sciences. The database also covers technology development and applications in complementary and supporting fields such as chemistry, geosciences, physics, communications, and electronics. In addition to periodic literature, the database also includes coverage of reports issued by NASA, other U.S. government agencies, international institutions, universities, and private firms.
Agricola 1970 - present This database provides access to citations for worldwide periodical literature as well as USDA publications. Topics covered include agriculture, animal science, plant science, food and human nutrition, biotechnology, entomology, forestry, and environmental sciences. Produced by the U.S. National Agricultural Library, coverage begins in 1970.
AIAA Meeting Papers The AIAA (American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics)Meeting Papers database provides full-text access to papers from AIAA conference from 1996-present. Please note that some smaller conferences co-hosted by the AIAA may not be available. Also note that the database indexes some papers from non-AIAA conferences that will not be available in full text.
America: History & Life (EBSCOhost) America: History & Life covers the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. It includes citations with abstracts for books, dissertations, and articles from 1964 to the present. It does not include full text articles, although it does link to some sources of full text.
Annual Reviews Authoritative, analytic reviews in 40 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences. Annual Reviews publications are among the most highly cited in scientific literature.
Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson)  This database offers full text plus abstracts and indexing of an international array of  peer-selected publications—now with expanded coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism.  Coverage begins in 1984.
ArticleFirst 1990 - present (FirstSearch) ArticleFirst provides the searchable table of contents for over 15,000 journals.  This database covers a wide range of disciplines including business, the humanities, medicine, popular culture, science, social science and technology.  Coverage begins in 1990.
ArXiv ArXiv is an e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, and quantitative biology. The contents of arXiv conform to Cornell University academic standards. arXiv is owned, operated and funded by Cornell University, a private not-for-profit educational institution. arXiv is also partially funded by the National Science Foundation.
ASCE's Civil Engineering Database The ASCE (American Society of Civil Engineers) database provides indexing to all of the ASCE's publications since 1970.  Many of these publications are then easily available in print or electronic form in the Missouri S&T library. To limit your search only to the ASCE's full-text database, you can search the ASCE Digital Library separately.
ASCE Digital Library This database includes the full text of ASCE Conference Proceedings beginning in 1998, and all 30 ASCE Journal and Periodical volumes published since 1995.
ASM Handbooks This collection of handbooks from the ASM provides searchable access to materials information.
ASME Digital Collection Contains all ASME Transactions journals from 2000-present and all ASME conference proceedings from 2008-present.
ASTM Standards and Digital Library The Standards and Digital Library provides full text access to all 12,000+ ASTM standards; each week, about 50-150 standards are revised, newly approved, re-approved or withdrawn. The Digital Library covers a broad range of engineering disciplines and includes everything that ASTM has published -- manuals, monographs, STPs, and journal articles.
ATLA Religion Index 1949 - present ATLA Religion Database provides information on topics such as biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religion in social issues.  ATLA contains more than 1.3 million bibliographic records covering the research literature of religion in 35 languages. It includes more than 430,000 article citations from more than 1,500 journals (600 currently indexed), more than 200,000 essay citations from 15,300 multi-author works, and more than 400,000 book review citations. Most coverage spans from 1949 to the present while ambitious retrospective indexing is underway taking indexing of select titles whose publication pre-dates 1949 back to their original publication date.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation. Avery indexes not only the international scholarly and popular periodical literature, but also the publications of professional associations, US state and regional periodicals, and the major serial publications on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Expanded coverage includes obituary citations providing an excellent source of biographical data — often the only information available for less-published architects. Coverage is from the 1930s (with selective coverage dating back to the 1860s) to the present.
B
Biography Reference Center (EBSCO) Biography Reference Center is a collection of over 461,000 full-text biographies. It includes the complete full-text run of Biography Today and Biography, as well as thousands of other narrative biographies. You can browse by genre categories as well as keyword searching.
BioOne Indexes and Abstracts

BioOne Full Text Journal Collection

This BioOne bibliographic database is an indexed and fully-searchable collection of abstracts that link to the full text articles available from the BioOne organization. BioOne provides a unique aggregation of over 65 high-impact bioscience research journals from more than 50 publishers. Additional publishers and journals will be added over time, and the aggregation will ultimately encompass over 200 bioscience titles. These titles are produced by societies and non-commercial publishers and a majority were previously available only in printed form. BioOne was developed by the American Institute of Biological Sciences (AIBS), SPARC (the Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition), the University of Kansas, the Greater Western Library Alliance, and Allen Press. The organization is committed to a non-profit objective of disseminating important, scholarly information focused on the biological, ecological and environmental sciences by recovering costs while ensuring sustainability. More information can be found at www.bioone.org.
BuildingGreen.com Articles "providing accurate, unbiased, and timely information designed to help building-industry professionals and policy makers improve the environmental performance, and reduce the adverse impacts, of buildings."
Business Insights: Essentials (Gale) Business Insights: Essentials is a fully integrated resource bringing together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information.
Business Source Premier As the world's largest full text business database, Business Source Premier provides full text for nearly 8,350 scholarly business journals and other sources, including full text for more than 1,100 scholarly business publications. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. This database provides full text (PDF) for more than 350 of the top scholarly journals dating as far back as 1922. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.

C
Cabell's Business Directories Cabell's business directories include the subject areas of accounting, management, marketing, and Economics & Finance. The directories can assist business students and professors publish their mauscrpts in academic journals by maintaining current contact information and websites for a large number of journals. Cabell's also provides information on publication guidelines, type of reviews, acceptance rates, submission process, and more.
Cambridge Structural Database Great source for crystallographic data. Not available online, but is installed on a computer on the library's first-floor computer cluster.
Ceramic Abstracts Ceramic Abstracts/World Ceramics Abstracts is a comprehensive database for the ceramics industry, providing international coverage on the manufacture, processing, applications, properties and testing of traditional and advanced ceramics. Source materials include over 200 journals, conference proceedings, books, patents, standards and company product literature. All abstracts are in English. Coverage is 1975-present.
ChemBioFinder  ChemBioFinder is a free chemistry and biology reference database with almost 2 million compounds indexed. Users are allowed 5 free searches before being required to register for a free account with Cambridgesoft.  The database includes:
    •     Chemical Structures - 2D structures & 3D models.
    •     Name, molecular formula and weight, CAS reigstry number
    •     Hyperlinks -Links to other websites with information about your compound.
Chicago Defender, Historical (1910-1975) This database from Proquest provides full text coverage of the entire Chicago Defender newspaper from 1910-1975.
Chicago Tribune, Historical (1849-1990) A Proquest Historical Newspaper database containing complete full text coverage of the Chicago Tribune from 1849-1990.
CINAHL 1982 - present (EBSCO) The CINAHL database is the authoritative source of information for the professional literature of nursing, allied health, biomedicine, and healthcare; it is the online version of the Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature® print index. The CINAHL database provides references to books, pamphlets, audiovisuals, dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of professional practice, nurse practice acts, critical paths, and research instruments.
Clinical Register (OVID)  The Register of Clinical Social Workers is a directory of clinical social workers in the United States. It contains information such as name, address, telephone number, employer, education, and employment history as well as type of practice and licensing information.
Communication and Mass Media Complete This database indexes articles in journals related to all aspects of communications and mass media, including technical communication and other closely-related fields of study. Full text content is available for over 500 journals.
Compendex 1884 - present (includes Engineering Index Backfile) This resource includes citations with abstracts for engineering and technical literature worldwide. It covers all fields of engineering, as well as related topics in management and the sciences. Contemporary coverage is 1980 to present.

Comprehensive Nuclear Materials

 In-depth discussion of the major classes of materials suitable for usage in nuclear fission, fusion reactors and high power accelerators, and for diverse functions in fuels, cladding, moderator and control materials, structural, functional, and waste materials.

Comprehensive Renewable Energy

Reference work covering the major areas of renewable energy, including photovoltaics, wind, solar thermal, fuel cells/hydrogen, biomass, hydro, geothermal, and ocean power.

Congressional Serial Set

 Reports, documents and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, originally published in approximately 13,800 bound volumes which covers material from 1817-1980.

 

D
Dictionary of Scientific Biography Biographical information on the careers and practices of prominent scientists from ancient times through the modern era. All periods of science from classical antiquity to modern times are represented.
Discovering Collection (Gale) Discovering Collection has 5 core subject areas: history, literature, biography, science and social studies. This database contains thousands of overview essays, critical analyses, biographies, primary sources, creative works and multimedia elements.
Dissertations & Theses Abstracts

Dissertation Abstracts offers access to more than 90 percent of the doctoral dissertations accepted each year in North America. The database also covers thousands of dissertations and theses from around the globe. It is the most comprehensive information resource covering doctoral dissertations and master's theses, including content from a number of ProQuest dissertation print publications, including: Comprehensive Dissertation Index; Dissertation Abstracts International; Masters Abstracts International; and American Doctoral Dissertations.

 

E
EarthDoc EarthDoc is a fulltext geoscience database launched by EAGE in 2007 and currently contains around 50,000 scientific documents. It includes event papers from +200 events and other societies, as well as articles from journals such as Geophysical Prospecting, Petroleum Geoscience, and Journal of Environmental & Engineering Geophysics.
Earthquake Engineering Abstracts Earthquake Engineering Abstracts (EEA) is currently comprised of approximately 102,000 records (full citations and abstracts) from 1971 forward, plus several hundred earlier classic papers and reports. EEA includes approximately 44,000 journal articles -- indexes and abstracts of all major journals that publish significant earthquake engineering research; approximately 36,000 proceedings and meeting abstracts and approximately 23,000 research reports' abstracts -- abstracts of research monographs and technical reports including Earthquake Engineering Research Center Reports and Pacific Earthquake Engineering Research Center Reports.
eBook Academic Collection (EBSCO) This eBook package contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles in a broad range of academic subjects, including: Art, Business & Economics, Education, Humanities, Technology & Engineering, and Social Science.  There are more than 114,000 titles included and have unlimited user access.
Ebrary Ebrary Academic Complete offers full text access to over 35,000 electronic books in a wide variety of subjects. Ebooks in this collection can be full text searched as well as printed in limited quantities. You can download full books viewable using Adobe Digital Editions. Downloaded books expire after 14 days.
EconLit EconLit provides citations for economics literature worldwide, including books, journal articles, and working papers. Full text articles are not included. Coverage is from 1969 to the present.
Education Full Text (H.W. Wilson)

Education Index Retrospective 1929-1983

Education Full Text brings you comprehensive coverage of an international range of English-language periodicals, monographs and yearbooks since 1983, including full text of many articles. Subject coverage includes adult and continuing education, special ed, literacy standards, teaching methods, and multicultural education.

Education Index Retro covers the education literature from 1929-1982 but provides no full text. It provides infomration on societal trends affecting education, including segregation, multiculturalism, feminism, and economic devleopments

Encyclopedia of Chemical Biology This encyclopedia provides researchers and advanced students with timely and authoritative review-type information. The articles in WECB illuminate the crucial role of chemistry and chemical techniques in the life sciences and support the information needs of researchers in the field of chemical biology.
Encyclopedia of Communication Theory Encyclopedia offers a comprehensive overview of communication theory, with current descriptions of theories as well as the background issues and concepts that comprise these theories.
Encyclopedia of Data Warehousing and Mining Encyclopedia with information on the science of managing and analyzing large datasets and discovering novel patterns
Encyclopedia of E-Commerce, E-Government, and Mobile Commerce Encyclopedia that provides the most inclusive and up-to-date coverage of the e-technologies field.  It includes includes contributions highlighting current concepts, trends, challenges, applications, and dot.com experiences in the field of e-commerce, e-government, and mobile commerce
Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues This encyclopedia assembles information from numerous fields of knowledge relevant to the study of environmental issues, including biology, geology, anthropology, demographics, genetics, and engineering. Ranging from broad concepts to specialized subject areas, there are over 700 articles covering a wide variety of topics and explaining the interrelationships of these issues in easily understandable terms.
Encyclopedia of Finance Encyclopedia of Finance covers all aspects of finance, including: financial and portfolio management, security analysis, insurance, real estate, and international finance. Statistical applications in finance are also included.
Encyclopedia of Gender and Information Technology Encyclopedia that provides an all-encompassing perspective on the way genter and information technology impact each other
Encyclopedia of Geography Encyclopedia of Geography contains more than 1,200 entries and encapsulates a very diverse array of topics within the discipline today. Key areas include: physical geography, human geography, nature and society, methods and GIS,people and movement, and history of geography.
Encyclopedia of Global Resources The Encyclopedia of Global Resources includes 575 essays providing a wide variety of perspectives on both traditional and more recent views of Earth's natural resources. The essays consider aspects such as resource exploitation, environmentalism, geology, and biology and range from economic applications and benefits to the impact of the extraction of natural resources. It includes coverage of many top resources - 119 mineral based, 41 biologically based, and 39 energy related.
Encyclopedia of Human Computer Interaction Encyclopedia covers a wide range of HCI related topics such as concepts, design, usability, evaluation, and applications of HCI in organizations around the globe
Encyclopedia of Knowledge Management Encyclopedia covering all aspects of this discipline, which range from knowledge identification and representation, to the impact of Knowledge Management Systems on organizational culture, to the integration and cost issues being faced by Human Resources and production departments.
Encyclopedia of Operations Research and Management Science Wiley Encyclopedia of Operations Research and Management Science is a multi-volume reference devoted to operations research and management science theory, methodology, and applications. The encyclopedia includes over 600 articles featuring four types of articles: introductory, advanced, technical, and case studies. Wiley EORMS includes topic areas such as decision and risk analysis, stochastic models, and optimization models, techniques and algorithms.
Encyclopedia of Statistical Sciences The Encyclopedia of Statistical Sciences is considered an important reference of statistical content for those in the fields of statistics, probability theory, biostatistics, quality control, and economics. There is also an emphasis in applications of statistical methods in computer science, engineering, psychology, survey methodology and many other disciplines. The online edition includes the full text of the first and second print edition plus supplements.
Energy Technology Data Exchange Database (ETDEWEB) ETDEWEB includes information on the environmental impact of energy production and use, including climate change; energy R&D; energy policy; nuclear, coal, hydrocarbon and renewable energy technologies and more. This growing collection has over 3,418,000  bibliographic records and over 111,000  full text documents and additional records may have links to help users find full text. Since August 2003, ETDEWEB now includes historical information from ETDE's Energy Database, which began in 1987 as well as historical information back to 1974 from US DOE/OSTI's Energy Citations database.
Entrepreneurial Studies Source This database provides the latest insight on topics relevant to entrepreneurship and small business. Multiple areas of study are covered, such as: business planning, communications, marketing, management, organizational behavior, product development, and risk taking. There is full text for more than 125 periodicals, thousands of company profiles, and over 600 videos with transcripts.
Environment Complete Environment Complete offers deep coverage in many subject areas of Environmental studies. It contains records from more than 2,200 domestic and international titles going back to 1888 and the database also contains full text to more than 920 journals. Areas of coverage include: agriculture, ecosystem ecology, environmental law and technology, geography, pollution and waste management, urban planning and social impacts.
Environmental Engineering Abstracts
Environmental Engineering Abstracts covers the world literature pertaining to technological and engineering aspects of air and water quality, environmental safety, and energy production. More than 700 primary journals are thoroughly indexed and abstracted. Over 2,500 additional sources, including monographs and conference proceedings, are also monitored for relevant articles.
Environmental Health Perspectives (some sections require a password) Environmental Health Perspectives (EHP), an international peer-reviewed journal of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences, is a forum for the examination, discussion, and dissemination of the latest news and research relating to the effect of the environment on human health.
ERIC The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. The ERIC database corresponds to two printed journals: Resources in Education (RIE) and Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE). Both journals provide access to some 14,000 documents and over 20,000 journal articles per year.
ETDEWEB -- Energy Technology Data Exchange Database

ETDEWEB includes information on the environmental impact of energy production and use, including climate change; energy R&D; energy policy; nuclear, coal, hydrocarbon and renewable energy technologies and more. This growing collection has over 3,418,000  bibliographic records and over 111,000  full text documents available and additional records may have links to help users find the full text. Since August 2003, ETDEWEB now includes historical information from ETDE's Energy Database, which began in 1987 as well as historical information back to 1974 from US DOE/OSTI's Energy Citations database.

 

F
Films on Demand: Humanities and Social Science Thousands of streaming videos for the humanities and social sciences, including: instructional videos, documentaries, and stage performances.
FirstSearch

Unlike the other databases listed here, FirstSearch is the name of the service that provides a number of databases on different subjects, including business (BusManagement, for example, covers management topics). To access these databases, first connect to FirstSearch, then choose the “List All?? option on the left-hand side of the search page to view a list of the available databases. Some full text may be available.

G
Gale Virtual Reference Library Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
GeoRef This database is a comprehensive geoscience resource containing over 2.6 million bibliographic records covering subjects such as mineralogy and crystallography, general mineralogy, mineralogy of silicates, and mineralogy of non-silicates. Bibliographic records from more than 3,000 journals are included in the database as well as journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses. Geology of North America is covered from 1785 to the present, and geology of the world is covered from 1933 to the present. This database is produced by the American Geological Institute.
GeoScienceWorld GeoScienceWorld provides electronic access to the journals of the American Association of Petroleum Geologists, American Geological Institute, Geological Society of America, Geological Society of London, Mineralogical Society of America, Society for Sedimentary Geology, and Society of Exploration Geophysicists.
Great Lives from History: Inventors and Inventions Inventors and Inventions contains in-depth critical essays on 413 important men and women inventors from all time, worldwide. Essays ranges from 2,000 to 2,500 words and display standard ready-reference top matter offering easy access to biographical information. Each essay also contains three major sections: "Early Life," "Life's Work," and "Impact."
GreenFILE (EBSCO)

GreenFILE is a database that covers all aspects of human impact to the environment and provides both indexing and abstracts and some Open Access full text records. It is a multidisciplinary collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles. Topics covered include agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.

The Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003)

 

This Proquest historical database includes both of the UK newspapers The Guardian from 1821-2003 and The Observer from 1791-2003. Complete full text coverage of these two newspapers is provided.

 

H
Handbook of Adolescent Psychology A classic reference that explores the latest research on adolescent development. There are two volumes, Individual Bases of Adolescent Development and Contextual Influences on Adolescent Development. This handbook offers insight into the nature of adolescents in social, cultural, and historical contexts and stretches across the fields of behavioral science and education. A useful reference for those working in mental health and education as well as researchers interested in theory and applied science.
Handbook of Green Chemistry This handbook covers highly topical areas in green chemistry such as feedstocks, green chemical engineering, green catalysis, separation techniques, and green solvents. It also covers the big environmental product design issues faced by chemists today. The twelve volume handbook is published online in three parts with volumes 1-6 published in 2010, and updates of the additional 6 volumes in 2011 and 2012.
Handbook of Lifespan Development This online handbook presents the study of human development and includes two main subject areas: cognition, biology, and methods and social and emotional development. There is complete coverage of the biological, cognitive, social, and emotional aspects of human change across the lifespan.
Handbook of Social Marketing The SAGE Handbook of Social Marketing presents a major retrospective and prospective overview of social marketing and brings together a systematic framework and state of the art thinking to provide complete coverage of this discipline.
HealthSTAR 1966 - present (OVID)
HealthSTAR 1999 - present (OVID)
Ovid HealthSTAR is comprised of data from the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) MEDLINE and former HealthSTAR databases. As such, it contains citations to the published literature on health services, technology, administration, and research. It focuses on both the clinical and non-clinical aspects of health care delivery. The following topics are included: evaluation of patient outcomes; effectiveness of procedures, programs, products, services and processes; administration and planning of health facilities, services and manpower; health insurance; health policy; health services research; health economics and financial management; laws and regulation; quality assurance; licensure; and accreditation.
HeritageQuest HeritageQuest is a comprehensive database of American genealogical sources, including: unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids. There are 6 different core data sets available to search
Historical Abstracts (EBSCOhost)

Historical Abstracts covers world history from 1450 to the present, excluding material on the United States and Canada. Citations and abstracts for books, dissertations, and articles from over 2,000 journals are included in the database. Coverage begins in 1954. It does not include full text articles, although it does link to some full text sources.

I
IEEE Xplore -- IEE/IEEE Electronic Library IEEE Xplore provides full text access to its transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings as well as current IEEE standards. Coverage begins in 1988.
International Medieval Bibliography IMB is a multidisciplinary bibliography of Europe, North Africa and the Near East covering the period 300-1500. The database covers 4,500 periodicals and includes articles, conference proceedings, and essay collections.
INIS (International Nuclear Information System) The International Nuclear Information System (INIS) is the leading information source for scientific and technical literature published worldwide on the peaceful applications of nuclear science and technology. INIS maintains a bibliographic database, entitled INIS Database, which currently contains over 2.7 million references with English abstracts from 1970 to the present. The Database is updated weekly.
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences The International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences presents an overview of scholarship and research for a large number of social-science topics. The link provided allows you to search both the classic 1968 edition and the expanded 2009 edition.
Inspec Archive 1898 - 1968 (OVID) Inspec is the world’s leading bibliographic database, providing comprehensive access to the world's scientific and technical literature in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computers, computing, information technology, manufacturing, production and mechanical engineering. The library provides access to Inspec's archives, covering 1898-1968.

 

J
Journal Citation Reports: Science and Social Science Editions Your source for obtaining the impact factor and other useful metrics about science and social science journals, now available online.
Journals@OVID (1993 - present) - full text in medicine, nursing, and the journal Science Journals@Ovid is the second generation of Ovid Full Text, which combines all the capabilities of Ovid Full Text Collections with several important features and functions. The database is an aggregate of hundreds of scientific, technical, and medical journals from over 50 publishers and societies. While the Ovid Full Text Collections are subsets of journals combined for local access, Journals@Ovid is an aggregated online database of all Ovid journals, with each journal available by individual subscription.
JSTOR (18?? - 199?) - full text journals in humanities, social sciences, and mathematics

JSTOR provides access to the full images (including photos, tables, and graphs) of articles from back issues of a variety of scholarly journals, including economics journals. Coverage extends back to the 19th century for some journals. Recent years' issues are generally not accessible in this database.

K
Knovel Digital Library

Knovel is a science, engineering, and technology database comprised of ebooks and other types of technical information, such as data sheets, conference proceedings, and other various reports. It has interactive tables, graphs and charts to assist users with analysis of materials and properties and built-in conversion equations so data can be displayed in the required unit of measurement.

L
LearningExpress Library *Notice: LearningExpress Library has a new Platform; existing users will have to create new accounts* LearningExpress Library contains over 300 online academic and licensing practice tests including TOEFL, ESL, GRE, LSAT, SAT, ACT, civil service, military, and citizenship. Instant scoring and customized feedback is provided. You must first register with LearningExpress before accessing these materials.
Lecture Notes in Computer Science Full text of LNCS, 1997-present.
LexisNexis Academic LexisNexis Academic provides access to full-text news and business reports, including transcripts of television and radio news broadcasts.
LexisNexis Congressional (Proquest) Proquest Congressional provides information related to the U.S. Congress. It includes a variety of features, including indexes to congressional publications, the full text of laws, regulations, bills, and publications. It also provides information about the backgrounds and activities of members of Congress.
Library Lit & Information Science Full Text (H.W. Wilson) Reflecting the latest trends in a rapidly evolving field, this database indexes English and foreign-language periodicals, selected state journals, conference proceedings, pamphlets, books, and library school theses, plus over 300 books per year. This invaluable resource delivers full text articles cover to cover from over a hundred select publications.  Coverage began in 1984, with full text available since 1997.
LISTA w/ Full Text (Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts) LISTA indexes more than 500 core journals with coverage back to the mid-2960s; as well as books, research reports and proceedings. The database also contains full text for more than 330 journals and nearly 30 full text monographs. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more.
London Times (1785-1985)

See The Times (London) Archive for more information

M
Materials Research Database with METADEX Materials Research Database with METADEX brings together in one place the majority of the leading materials science databases, with specialist content on materials science, metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites used in engineering application. Everything from raw materials and refining through processing, welding and fabrication to end use, corrosion, performance and recycling is covered in depth. Over 3,000 primary journals plus trade literature, patents, newspapers, press releases, conference proceedings, books and reports. The database also contains Materials Business File which focuses on industry news, international trade data, government regulations and management issues related to the metals and materials industries.
MathSciNet The Mathematical Reviews Database is the database of bibliographic information and reviews created and maintained by the American Mathematical Society. It continues the tradition and extends the scope of the work begun by the paper publication Mathematical Reviews in 1940. Journals, conference proceedings, and books of mathematics research are covered.
Medline 1996 - present (OVID)
Medline 1950 - present (OVID)
MEDLINE covers literature on biomedicine, including the biological and physical sciences as they relate to medicine. It contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 4,600 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, coverage begins in 1966.
Mergent Online   Mergent Online provides extensive information on 15,000 public companies in the United States and 20,000 international companies. Information on companies includes financials, stock, subsidiaries, S.E.C. filings, debt, etc.; worldwide industry reports are also available in the database. Fifteen years of company financial information is provided.
Mergent Manual Archives   Mergent WebReports is an archive of scanned pages from Moody's and Mergent manuals. Coverage includes all manuals, dating back to 1909.
MLA International Bibliography MLA indexes articles in the modern languages, literatures, linguistics, and folklore. It includes journals, books, dissertations, and collections of essays. Complete coverage begins in 1963, although basic records for earlier articles in journals available in the JSTOR database are also included in MLA.
N
NASA Technical Reports Server  Full text of thousands of current and historical NASA reports.
New York Times, Historical (1851-2010) with Index This database provides full text coverage of the entire New York Times Newspaper from 1851-2010 and indexed from 1851-1993. Coverage of newer material can be found in Lexis-Nexis Academic.
Newspaper Source Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text to more than 40 national and international newspapers as well as selective full text for over 370 regional newspapers. The database also contains some full-text for TV & radio news transcripts.
NewspaperArchive.com

Access NewspaperARCHIVE contains tens of millions of searchable newspaper pages, dating as far back as the 1700s. It is your gateway to searching and reading historical newspapers online. Content on Access NewspaperARCHIVE is a unique primary resource, as newspapers provide information as news happened and not necessarily the way it was remembered.

NIST Chemistry WebBook The NIST Chemistry WebBook provides access to data compiled and distributed by NIST under the Standard Reference Data Program.  You can search for data on specific compounds in the Chemistry WebBook based on name, chemical formula, CAS registry number, molecular weight, chemical structure, or selected ion energetics and spectral properties.  It includes such properties as Ion energetics data, thermophysical property data, thermochemical data and more on thousands of chemical compounds.
NTIS Technical Reports (title search/index only) The National Technical Information Service is one of the largest central resource for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available. For more than 50 years NTIS has assured businesses, universities, and the public timely access to well over 2 million publications covering over 350 subject areas.
O
OneMine OneMine is a full text database with a comprehensive collection of mining and minerals based research. It is a collaborative effort among multiple societies and includes conference papers, technical documents, articles, pre-prints, and late papers.
OnePetro
OnePetro.org is a multi-society library that provides a simple way to search for and access a broad range of technical literature related to the oil and gas exploration and production industry. From one place, you can search and buy documents from many different professional societies, or similar organizations, that serve the oil and gas industry.
Oxford English Dictionary On-Line Full Text of the Oxford English Dictionary
P
PAIS International PAIS includes material on topics relating to politics and public policy. The database indexes a variety of materials, including articles, books, and government documents. Coverage begins in 1972.
PapersFirst 1993 - present (FirstSearch) This database covers every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Centre.  Coverage began in 1993 and it currently contains over 4.9 million records.
Phase Equilibria Diagrams The classic American Ceramics Society/NIST resource for phase equilibria diagrams, now available online.
Philosopher's Index The Philosopher's Index provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. It covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, epistemology, logic, and metaphysics as well as material on the philosophy of disciplines, such as law, religion, science, history, and education. 
Points of View Reference Center (EBSCO) A full text database designed to provide students with a series of controversial essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. Essays provide questions and materials for further study and are accompanied by supporting articles from the world's top political and societal publications.

Powder Diffraction File Not available online, but installed on one of the library's first-floor computers.

Premedline (OVID) Ovid MEDLINE® In-Process & Other Non-Indexed Citations (PREM), the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) in-process database for Ovid MEDLINE, provides basic information and abstracts before a record is indexed with MeSH® heading(s) and added to Ovid MEDLINE. Ovid MEDLINE® In-Process & Other Non-Indexed Citations, like Ovid MEDLINE® itself, encompasses information from Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing, as well as other sources of coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science.
Project Muse (Scholarly Journals Online) Project Muse provides access to the full text of articles from almost 200 journals, many of them in the humanities. Coverage begins in 1993.
Proquest Congressional (LN Congessional) Proquest Congressional provides information related to the U.S. Congress. It has a variety of features, including indexes to congressional publications, the full text of laws, regulations, bills, publications and information on the background and activities of members of Congress.
PsycARTICLES (EBSCO) PsycARTICLES is a database of full text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe Publishing Group. The database contains approximately 150,000 articles from over 70 journals. Coverage spans 1894 to present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1
Psychology & Mental Health This online resource covers notable theories, people, social issues, life stages, the physiology and anatomy of the nervous system, and various mental illnesses or conditions. It covers not only the history of the field and core aspects of psychology but also covers diagnoses, disorders, treatments, tests, notable people, and issues. Essays address how culture, ethnicity, and gender affect psychological theory and beliefs.
PsycINFO 1887 - present (EBSCO) The American Psychological Association's PsycINFO® database is the comprehensive international bibliographic database of psychology. It contains approximately 3 million citations and summaries of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports, all in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Journal coverage spans from the 1800s to the present.
PubMed

PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, includes over 15 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.

 

Q
Quakeline Database Quakeline is a bibliographic database that covers earthquakes, earthquake engineering, natural  hazard mitigation, and related topics. It includes records for various publication types,  such as journal articles, conference papers, technical reports, maps, and videotapes.  QUAKELINE® was launched in May 1987.  The database currently provides access to about 40, 000 records.
R

Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (H.W. Wilson)

Indexes popular periodical literature from 1890-1982, providing a detailed account of U.S. culture and history with more than 3 million records from over 375 leading magazines.  No full text provided

Religion Index/ATLA 1949 - present ATLA Religion Database provides information on topics such as biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religion in social issues.  ATLA contains more than 1.7 million bibliographic records covering the research literature of religion in 35 languages. It includes more than 430,000 article citations from more than 1,500 journals (600 currently indexed), as well as essay citations from multi-author works and book review citations. Most coverage spans from 1908 to the present and a retrospective indexing project provides citations of select titles back to their original publication date.
S
SAE Digital Library

Full text of all technical papers published by SAE International from 1998 - present.

Safari Books Online Safari Books Online offers electronic books about programming, IT, and business.  It features over 5000 books from a variety of top technology publishers.
Saint Louis Post-Dispatch, Historical (1874-1922) The St. Louis Post-Dispatch covers local, national and international news for the St. Louis Area.  Full historical (1874-1922) coverage of state and national news is offered with an emphasis on business and the economy.  The Post-Dispatch reports on a variety of industries including: financial services, beverage, agriculture, chemical, aerospace & defense, automotive and comprehensive sports coverage from that time period.
SciFinder Scholar
(registration required: click here)
SciFinder Scholar contains a comprehensive database of chemical literature and patents. It includes literature on topics such as biotechnology, toxicology, environmental sciences, medicine, and food science. Some full text articles are available. Coverage begins in 1907. Before using SciFinder Scholar, you must register an account through this link. On some campus computers, full functionality will be available only in Internet Explorer.
Scientific.Net (Materials Science & Engineering) Scientific.Net is one of the largest and fastest growing sites that is wholly devoted to the area of materials science and engineering. It consists of ten journals devoted to the discipline and includes both "Materials Science Forum" and "Key Engineering Materials."
Scopus Scopus provides multidisciplinary indexing of the science, engineering, and social science literature. It is Elsevier's counterpart to ISI's Web of Science, providing the same core functionality but indexing a wider variety of journals and proceedings.

Shock & Vibration Digest (EBSCO) This database includes over 97,000 bibliographic records covering areas related to shock and vibration, noise, and vibration technologies. Titles included in the database are Journal of Sound and Vibration and Journal of Vibration & Control.
Social Services Abstracts Social Services Abstracts provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,406 serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews.  Coverage began in 1980.
Social Work Abstracts 1960 - present The Social Work Abstracts database, produced by the National Association of Social Workers, Inc., contains more than 45,000 records, spanning 1960 to the present, from social work and other related journals on topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, community organization, and more.
Sociological Abstracts Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,809 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Records added since 1973 contain in-depth and non evaluative abstracts of journal articles.
SPE eLibrary The Society of Petroleum Engineers eLibrary and Offshore Technology Conference papers are now available through OnePetro In order to limit your search to those papers, you must choose the Advanced Search option and check only those two organizations.
T
Technology Research Database Technology Research Database provides a simultaneous search of all of the following databases, which are searchable individually as well.  For further information on a particular database please see the appropriate description listed on this page: Aerospace and High Technology, Engineering Research database, Earthquake Engineering Abstracts, Environmental Engineering Abstracts, and Materials Research database.
The Times (London) Archive (1785-1985) Search the complete digital edition of The Times (London) to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.
Transportation Research Record Full text of the Transportation Research Record from 1996-present. Coverage begins with volume 1517.
TRID (Transportation Research Index) TRID combines the records from TRB's Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD's Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to over 940,000 records of transportation research worldwide.
U
USA Trade Online (contact Reference Desk for password) USA Trade Online is provided by the U.S. Census Bureau's Foreign Trade Division. The database provides current and cumulative U.S. export and import data on more than 18,000 export commodities and 24,000 import commodities worldwide. Reports can be customized to include: port level detail, state exports, balance of trade, method of transportation and market level ranking.  Contact Reference dept. for Username and Password.
W
WorldCat (FirstSearch) WorldCat provides access to the catalogs of universities and research centers across the US; it is a unique resource to determine what materials actually exist, and which libraries hold that item. Remember, if you are trying to request a book through Interlibrary Loan, you do not need to find out what libraries hold that book; our InterLibrary loan staff will do that for you.
  generate print-friendly
DESERT EXPLORER

Michael Bouchard studies bizarre dome-like structures in Egypt's Afar Desert.

READ MORE >
GOING THE DISTANCE

Marathon runner Devin Dixon sped through three degrees in just over six years.

READ MORE >
MINING ON THE MOON

Dr. Leslie Gertsch takes a look at humanity's future in space.

READ MORE >
D-DAY RE-EXAMINED

John McManus' latest book looks at the Big Red One at Omaha Beach.

READ MORE >
LIFE ON MARS

Melanie Mormile studies bacteria here on Earth that could survive on Mars.

READ MORE >
SPELUNKING FOR A CAUSE

Michael Bradford helps protect bats and cave formations in Missouri.

READ MORE >
SLIMY STUFF

Paul Nam suggests the potential solution to several global problems is green slime (algae).

READ MORE >
DANCING WITH CODE

Marquia Lewis studies computer science and is a member of the Gold Miners dance squad.

READ MORE >
CRAFT-Y MAGAZINE EDITOR

Casey Burton works to improve cancer screenings and publishes a gamer magazine.

READ MORE >
A GOALIE'S PERSPECTIVE

Carrie Levy enjoys the mental challenge of being a Lady Miner goalkeeper.

READ MORE >
A PHILOSOPHY OF ADVOCACY

Kate Burns is proof that students in every major can find success.

READ MORE >
PHYTOFORENSICS

Joel Burken's research team use trees to detect soil and groundwater contamination.

READ MORE >
ROCKET SCIENTIST

Anan Takroori shares his love of planes, rockets and satellites with campers.

READ MORE >
'DOWN-TO-EARTH' SCHOLAR

Krista Rybacki studies soil samples from an area near a lead recycling smelter.

READ MORE >
MINERS ABROAD

Delancey Rougely studied the effects of war in France and blogged about it.

READ MORE >