Curtis Laws Wilson Library
400 W. 14th Street
Rolla, MO 65409-0060

8 AM - Midnight
7 Days a Week
Closed Campus Holidays

Main office: 573-341-4227
Circulation: 573-341-4008
Interlibrary Loan: 573-341-4006
Reference: 573-341-4007
Fax: 573-341-4233
Email: library@mst.edu

Select subscription e-books

Use of these resources is limited by licensing agreements. Click here to see the terms of use.
Off-campus users experiencing difficulty can click here for suggestions.

 

Social Sciences/Humanities

 

CQ Researcher
Founded in 1923 as Editorial Research Reports, CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Reports are published weekly in print and online 44 times a year by CQ Press, a division of Congressional Quarterly Inc. CQ Researcher Online offers access to CQ Researcher reports dating back to 1991. PDF files are available for reports from January 1996; color PDFs are available for reports published after January 2001.
Dictionary of Scientific BiographyBiographical information on the careers and practices of prominent scientists from ancient times through the modern era. In order to access this resource, click the link on the left and then the "Proceed" button on the page that loads.
Dictionary of National BiographyAn illustrated collection of more than 50,000 specially written biographies of the men and women from around the world who shaped all aspects of Britain's past.
EbraryEbrary Academic Complete offers full text access to over 35,000 electronic books in a wide variety of subjects.  These materials are also available through the library catalog.  Materials in this collection can be full text searched as well as printed in limited quantities.
Encyclopedia of Environmental IssuesThis encyclopedia assembles information from numerous fields of knowledge relevant to the study of environmental issues, including biology, geology, anthropology, demographics, genetics, and engineering. Ranging from broad concepts to specialized subject areas, there are over 700 articles covering a wide variety of topics and explaining the interrelationships of these issues in easily understandable terms.
Encyclopedia of GeographyEncyclopedia of Geography contains more than 1,200 entries and encapsulates a very diverse array of topics within the discipline today. Key areas include: physical geography, human geography, nature and society, methods and GIS,people and movement, and history of geography.
Encyclopedia of Global ResourcesThe Encyclopedia of Global Resources includes 575 essays providing a wide variety of perspectives on both traditional and more recent views of Earth's natural resources. The essays consider aspects such as resource exploitation, environmentalism, geology, and biology and range from economic applications and benefits to the impact of the extraction of natural resources. It includes coverage of many top resources - 119 mineral based, 41 biologically based, and 39 energy related.
Encyclopedia of Homes through American HistoryThe Greenwood Encyclopedia of Homes through American History explores the rich history of American houses and apartments, from hand-built shelters of the settlers of the early colonies to innovative urban lofts and conspicuous McMansions of today.
Encyclopedia of Operations Research and Management ScienceWiley Encyclopedia of Operations Research and Management Science is a multi-volume reference devoted to operations research and management science theory, methodology, and applications. The encyclopedia includes over 600 articles featuring four types of articles: introductory, advanced, technical, and case studies. Wiley EORMS includes topic areas such as decision and risk analysis, stochastic models, and optimization models, techniques and algorithms.
Great Lives from History: Inventors and InventionsInventors and Inventions contains in-depth critical essays on 413 important men and women inventors from all time, worldwide. Essays ranges from 2,000 to 2,500 words and display standard ready-reference top matter offering easy access to biographical information. Each essay also contains three major sections: "Early Life," "Life's Work," and "Impact."
International Encyclopedia of the Social SciencesThe International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences presents an overview of scholarship and research for a large number of social-science topics. The link provided allows you to search both the classic 1968 edition and the expanded 2009 edition.
Mergent Manual Archives  Mergent WebReports is an archive of scanned pages from Moody's and Mergent manuals. Coverage includes all manuals, dating back to 1909.
Oxford English Dictionary On-LineFull Text of the Oxford English Dictionary
Psychology and Mental HealthThis online resource covers notable theories, people, social issues, life stages, the physiology and anatomy of the nervous system, and various mental illnesses or conditions. It covers not only the history of the field and core aspects of psychology but also covers diagnoses, disorders, treatments, tests, notable people, and issues. Essays address how culture, ethnicity, and gender affect psychological theory and beliefs.
Safari Books OnlineSafari Books Online offers electronic books about programming, IT, and business.  It features over 5000 books from a variety of top technology publishers.

 

Science/Engineering

 

ASM HandbooksThis collection of handbooks from the ASM provides searchable access to materials information.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and PhysicsThe CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics online edition represents the 87th edition of the print version in a convenient, easy to search and reference electronic form. The publication's mission is to provide broad coverage of all types of physical science data commonly encountered by scientists and engineers.
Dictionary of Scientific BiographyBiographical information on the careers and practices of prominent scientists from ancient times through the modern era. In order to access this resource, click the link on the left and then the "Proceed" button on the page that loads.
Encyclopedia of Chemical BiologyThe Wiley Encyclopedia of Chemical Biology provides researchers and advanced students with timely and authoritative review-type information. The articles in WECB illuminate the crucial role of chemistry and chemical techniques in the life sciences and support the information needs of researchers in the field of chemical biology.
Encyclopedia of Environmental IssuesThis encyclopedia assembles information from numerous fields of knowledge relevant to the study of environmental issues, including biology, geology, anthropology, demographics, genetics, and engineering. Ranging from broad concepts to specialized subject areas, there are over 700 articles covering a wide variety of topics and explaining the interrelationships of these issues in easily understandable terms.
Encyclopedia of GeographyEncyclopedia of Geography contains more than 1,200 entries and encapsulates a very diverse array of topics within the discipline today. Key areas include: physical geography, human geography, nature and society, methods and GIS,people and movement, and history of geography.
Encyclopedia of Global ResourcesThe Encyclopedia of Global Resources includes 575 essays providing a wide variety of perspectives on both traditional and more recent views of Earth's natural resources. The essays consider aspects such as resource exploitation, environmentalism, geology, and biology and range from economic applications and benefits to the impact of the extraction of natural resources. It includes coverage of many top resources - 119 mineral based, 41 biologically based, and 39 energy related.
Encyclopedia of Statistical SciencesThe Encyclopedia of Statistical Sciences is considered an important reference of statistical content for those in the fields of statistics, probability theory, biostatistics, quality control, and economics. There is also an emphasis in applications of statistical methods in computer science, engineering, psychology, survey methodology and many other disciplines. The online edition includes the full text of the first and second print edition plus supplements.
Handbook of Green ChemistryThis handbook covers highly topical areas in green chemistry such as feedstocks, green chemical engineering, green catalysis, separation techniques, and green solvents. It also covers the big environmental product design issues faced by chemists today. The twelve volume handbook is published online in three parts with volumes 1-6 published in 2010, and updates of the additional 6 volumes in 2011 and 2012.
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology OnlineFor more than 40 years, the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology has been the first source readers around the world have turned to when starting research on any major scientific topic. With more than 7,000 articles written by leaders in their fields - including 30 Nobel Prize winners - the Encyclopedia is famed for the scope and quality of its content.  The electronic version contains over 7,100 articles in 97 subject areas.
Merck Index  The Merck Index is an encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, and biologicals that contains more than 10,000 monographs. Each monograph in this authoritative reference source is a concise description of a single substance or a small group of closely related compounds.
Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook  The handbook for chemical engineers.
Safari Books OnlineSafari Books Online offers electronic books about programming, IT, and business.  It features over 5000 books from a variety of top technology publishers.