Skip to department navigation
Skip to content
Skip to global navigation
library » library.mst.edu » resources » databases » newspapers
Newspapers

Use of these resources is limited by licensing agreements. Click here to see the terms of use.
Off-campus users experiencing difficulty can click here for suggestions.
For assistance in printing from oversized PDF, click here.

Missouri Newspapers

Kansas City StarThe Kansas City Star is the major daily newspaper serving the Kansas City metropolitan area. The Star was founded in 1880 by William Rockhill Nelson and is the winner of eight Pulitzer Prizes. The Star publishes 13 zoned editions and provides coverage of national and local news, business, sports and features. The Star is owned by Knight Ridder, the second-largest newspaper publisher with products in the United States.  Coverage is 1991-Present.
Saint Louis Post-Dispatch (1988-Present)

Saint Louis Post-Dispatch, Historical (1874-1922)
The St. Louis Post-Dispatch covers local, national and international news for the St. Louis Area, with bureaus in Washington, D.C., Jefferson City, MO and Springfield, IL. Full coverage of state and national news is offered with an emphasis on business and the economy. St. Louis is located in a diversified economic climate, and the Post-Dispatch reports on a variety of industries including: financial services, beverage, agriculture, biotechnology, chemical, aerospace & defense and automotive. The Post-Dispatch also provides comprehensive sports coverage of baseball, hockey and football, as well as the Big 12 and Big Ten college conferences. The St. Louis area is one of the leading medical centers in the U.S. and is the home of such well-known research organizations as Washington University, Monsanto and McDonnell-Douglas/Boeing..
Rolla Daily News (March 19, 1946-December 1991)

Rolla's current local newspaper. Available on microfilm, located in the microfilm room at call number 071.78594 R647.


Other Major Newspapers

London Times (1785-1985)Search the complete digital edition of The Times (London) to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.
New York Times, Historical (1851-2006)This database provides full text coverage of the entire New York Times Newspaper from 1851-2006. Coverage of newer material can be found in Lexis-Nexis Academic.


Newspaper Aggregators

LexisNexis AcademicLexisNexis Academic provides access to full-text news and business reports, including transcripts of television and radio news broadcasts.
Newspaper SourceNewspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text to more than 40 national and international newspapers as well as selective full text for over 370 regional newspapers. The database also contains some full-text for TV & radio news transcripts.
NewspaperArchives.com

Access NewspaperARCHIVE contains tens of millions of searchable newspaper pages, dating as far back as the 1700s. It is your gateway to searching and reading historical newspapers online. Content on Access NewspaperARCHIVE is a unique primary resource, as newspapers provide information as news happened and not necessarily the way it was remembered.



 

  generate print-friendly
DESERT EXPLORER

Michael Bouchard studies bizarre dome-like structures in Egypt's Afar Desert.

READ MORE >
GOING THE DISTANCE

Marathon runner Devin Dixon sped through three degrees in just over six years.

READ MORE >
MINING ON THE MOON

Dr. Leslie Gertsch takes a look at humanity's future in space.

READ MORE >
D-DAY RE-EXAMINED

John McManus' latest book looks at the Big Red One at Omaha Beach.

READ MORE >
LIFE ON MARS

Melanie Mormile studies bacteria here on Earth that could survive on Mars.

READ MORE >
SPELUNKING FOR A CAUSE

Michael Bradford helps protect bats and cave formations in Missouri.

READ MORE >
SLIMY STUFF

Paul Nam suggests the potential solution to several global problems is green slime (algae).

READ MORE >
DANCING WITH CODE

Marquia Lewis studies computer science and is a member of the Gold Miners dance squad.

READ MORE >
CRAFT-Y MAGAZINE EDITOR

Casey Burton works to improve cancer screenings and publishes a gamer magazine.

READ MORE >
A GOALIE'S PERSPECTIVE

Carrie Levy enjoys the mental challenge of being a Lady Miner goalkeeper.

READ MORE >
A PHILOSOPHY OF ADVOCACY

Kate Burns is proof that students in every major can find success.

READ MORE >
PHYTOFORENSICS

Joel Burken's research team use trees to detect soil and groundwater contamination.

READ MORE >
ROCKET SCIENTIST

Anan Takroori shares his love of planes, rockets and satellites with campers.

READ MORE >
'DOWN-TO-EARTH' SCHOLAR

Krista Rybacki studies soil samples from an area near a lead recycling smelter.

READ MORE >
MINERS ABROAD

Delancey Rougely studied the effects of war in France and blogged about it.

READ MORE >