UMR Curtis Law Wilson Library

Curtis Laws Wilson Library
400 W. 14th Street
Rolla, MO 65409-0060


Main office: 573-341-4227
Circulation: 573-341-4008
Interlibrary Loan: 573-341-4006
Reference: 573-341-4007
Fax: 573-341-4233
Email: library@mst.edu

print 
Subject Guides to Information Resources

Resources for Research in Biology


Chris Jocius
jociusc@mst.edu

 

Databases (used to find journal articles)

Electronic Journals

Print Resources\Web Resources

Missouri S&T Department Info

 

 

Library Databases

Agricola
This database provides access to citations for worldwide periodical literature as well as USDA publications. Topics covered include agriculture, animal science, plant science, food and human nutrition, biotechnology, entomology, forestry, and environmental sciences. Produced by the U.S. National Agricultural Library, coverage begins in 1970.

Biological Abstracts
Biological Abstracts covers all aspects of the life sciences, including agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, genetics, botany, ecology, microbiology, pharmacology, and zoology. Citations and abstracts for literature from Journals worldwide are included in the database. Our coverage begins in 1980.

Bio One
Bio One provides an integrated linked information resource of interrelated journals(80  journals, from 2000-     ) focused on the biological, ecological and environmental sciences in full-text articles.

MEDLINE
MEDLINE covers literature on biomedicine, including the biological and physical sciences as they relate to medicine. It contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 4,600 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. A few full text articles are available. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, coverage begins in 1950.

PubMed
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, includes over 17 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources. "Entrez Pubmed" database is useful for research in bioinformatics.

SciFinder Scholar
SciFinder Scholar contains a comprehensive database of chemical literature and patents. It includes literature on topics such as biotechnology, toxicology, environmental sciences, medicine, and food science. Some full text articles are available. Coverage begins in 1907. (You must download the SciFinder Scholar software to your computer to be able to access this database unless using a library research computer in the library.)

Electronic Journals
NOTE: Dates of access varies, some have moving walls of access dates.


Science
Online from 1998 to the present.
A U S international weekly science journal 1883 to the present..
The front third of each issue devoted to science news and research trends.

Nature
Online access from 1997 to the present.
A UK  international weekly science journal 1889 to the present..
The front third of each issue devoted to science news and research trends.

Link to list of  free online journals for biology.

Biomaterials
Latest 12 months available

Cancer Epidemiology, Biomarkers, & Prevention
Available 1999-

Cancer Research
Available 1999-2002

Cell Growth & Differentiation
Available 1999-

Clinical Cancer Research
Available 1999-

Endocrinology
Available 1992-

FEMS Microbiology Journal
Latest 12 months available

Geomicrobiology Journal
Available 1999-

Journal of Applied Physiology
Available 1948-

Journal of Bacteriology
Available from 1995 to 6 months prior to present

Journal of Biological Chemistry
Available from 1980- to12 months prior to present date.

Journal of Experimental Botany
Available 1997-2003

Microbiology and Molecular Biology Reviews
Available from 1995 to 12 months prior to present date.

Molecular and Cellular Biology
Available from 1995 to 6 months prior to present date.

Molecular Cancer Research
Available November 2002-

Molecular Cancer Therapeutics
Available November 2001-

New England Journal of Medicine
Available 1993-

Plant Cell
Available 1989-

Plant Molecular Biology
Available 1997-2003.

Plant Physiology
Available 1998-

Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences
Available from the database JSTOR:1915-, excluding the previous 2 years; also available 1990-
to the previous 6 months prior to the present.



Print Resources

Dictionaries

Naturally Speaking:
A Dictionary of Quotations on Biology, Botany, Nature, and Zoology
Reference QH13 .N38 2001
Selected definition quotations of biology-related terms

Dictionary of Ecology and the Environment
Reference QR9 .S56 2001
Definitions of terms used in the study of ecology

Dictionary of Genetics
Reference QH427 .K55 2002
Definitions of terminology used in genetics literature

Dictionary of Microbiology and Molecular Biology
Reference QR9 .S56 2001
Definitions of terms in modern microbiology and molecular biology

Dictionary of Toxicology
Reference RA1193 .H63 2000
Definitions of terms related to the study of toxicology

Encyclopedias

Desk Encyclopedia of Microbiology
Reference QR9.D47

Encyclopedia of Animals: a complete visual guide
Reference QL7.E53 2004

Encyclopedia of Biodiveristy
Reference QH541.15 .B56 E53 2001 5 v.

Encyclopedia of Bioethics
Ref QH 332.E52 2004  4 v.

Encyclopedia of Evolution
Reference  QH360.2 .P345 2002 2 v.
Contains entries concerning concepts and theories related to evolution

Encyclopedia of Genetics
Ref 427.E53 1999 4 v.

Encyclopedia of Human Biology
Reference  QP11 .E53 1997
Contains articles providing an overview of current knowledge of human biology

Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
Ref QH 302.5 E53 2005 26 v.
Offers comprehensive integrated coverage of basic and advanced coverage of subjects

Encyclopedia of Microbiology
Reference  QR9.E53 2000  4 v.

Encyclopedia of Molecular Biology
Reference QH506 .C74 1999  4 v.
Presents entries discussing terms from molecular biology

Encyclopedia of Neurological Sciences
Reference  RC346.E53 2003  4 v.

Encyclopedia of Seeds: Science Technology and Uses
Ref SB 117.E46 2006

Encyclopedia of Toxicology
Reference RA 1193.E53 2005 4 v.
Contains entries discussing the adverse effects of chemical compounds on biological systems

Grizmek's Animal Encyclopedia
Ref QL 7.g7813  17 v.


Handbooks/Guides

Bergey's Manual of Systematic Bacteriology
Ref QR 81.B46 2001 2 v.

Cell Physiology Source Book
Reference QH631 .C458 1998
Covers topics relevant to the discipline of cell physiology

Handbook of Ecotoxicology
Reference QH545.A1 H36 1995
Covers topics dealing with aquatic and terrestrial toxicology, including test protocols

How to Do Ecology
Ref QH 541.2>K374 2006

Manual of Environmental Microbiology
Reference QR100 .M36 2002
Provides information on concepts and methodologies in environmental microbiology

 

Web Resources

Gateways

Biology Browser
A site sponsored by Biosis (the source of the Biological Abstracts database) that provides access to useful web links

BIOME
Site that provides access to a searchable catalog of Internet sites and resources in the health and life sciences

Bio Netbook
Another site that provides access to a searchable catalog of Internet sites and resources in the biological sciences

National Biological Information Infrastructure
A USGS-led project providing access to biological information; links provided include online databases and other sites maintained by government agencies as well as non-governmental organizations

Online Books and Journals

Kimball's Biology Pages
An online biology textbook based on Biology by John W. Kimball (Wm. C. Brown,1994).

PLoS Biology
PLoS Biology is an open-access journal published by the Public Library of Science. It includes articles in all areas of biological science.

Anatomy

LUMEN: Structure of the Human Body
From the Loyala University medical school, LUMEN includes tutorials to assist in the study of anatomical structures.

Biodiversity and Ecology

NatureServe
NatureServe is a non-profit organization that provides scientific information and tools to aid in conservation efforts. Their Explorer database provides information on the distribution and conservation status of pant and animal species in the U.S. and Canada; the InfoNatura provides similar information for the birds and mammals of Latin America.

Botany

PLANTS Database
The database provides information about the vascular and nonvascular plants of the U.S. and its territories. It includes names, distributional data, species abstracts, characteristics, images, plant links, references, and crop information.

Genetics

The Genome Database
This database provided by Johns Hopkins University contains genomic mapping data resulting from the Human Genome Initiative. It includes information about regions of the human genome, maps of the genome, and variations within it.

NIH Computational Molecular Biology: Databases
A collection of databases that offer facilities to browse and retrieve molecular biology sequence data

Microbiology

All the Virology on the WWW
This site tries to collect all the virology-related sites that might be of interest to people interested in learning about viruses. It includes The Big Picture Book of Viruses, an index to virus pictures online.

Phylogeny

The Tree of Life
This site provides information about organisms, their evolutionary history, and their characteristics. Each page contains information about a single group of organisms, with the individual pages linked to each other in the form of the evolutionary tree.

Zoology

AmphibiaWeb
AmphibiaWeb provides access to information on amphibian biology and conservation. The site includes taxonomic information for all species of amphibian worldwide. For many of the species, descriptions, life history information, conservation status, photos and range maps are also available.


Go to the Subject Guides page

Go to Curtis Laws Wilson Library

Go to the Missouri S&T Biology Department



E-mail comments or questions toChristopher Jocius
Last Updated 10/10/2007