Curtis Laws Wilson Library
400 W. 14th Street
Rolla, MO 65409-0060
Main office: 573-341-4227
Circulation: 573-341-4008
Interlibrary Loan: 573-341-4006
Reference: 573-341-4007
Fax: 573-341-4233
Email: library@mst.edu
DataBases (used to find journal articles)
Electronic Journals
Print Resources
Web Resources
Missouri S&T Departmental Info
Library Databases
Applied Science and Technology
Applied Science and Technology covers literature discussing the practical applications of science and engineering. It also provides information on careers and employment in scientific and technological fields. Some full-text articles are available. Coverage begins in 1983.Compendex
This resource includes citations with abstracts for engineering and technical literature worldwide. It covers all fields of engineering, as well as related topics in management and the sciences. Coverage is 1980 to date.Inspec
INSPEC provides citations with abstracts for topics such as electrical engineering, electronics, and computers and computing. Coverage begins in 1969.Materials Science Collection
Materials Science Collection incorporates several materials science databases, with citations for literature on materials science, metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites used in engineering applications. Coverage begins in 1966.Recent Advances in Manufacturing
This database provides bibliographic information for manufacturing and related topics. It includes records for items in over 500 journals and magazines, as well as books, videos and conference proceedings. Coverage is 1990 to date.
Print Resources
Handbooks
Engineered Materials Handbook
Reference Desk TA403.4 .E64 1995
A handbook on the properties of nonmetallic engineering materialsEshbach.s Handbook of Engineering Fundamentals
Reference TA151 .E8 1990
A handbook that brings together the fundamental concepts in engineering and related fields that support engineering practicesMetals Handbook
Reference Desk TA459 .M288 1998
A handbook on the properties of metals and alloysEncyclopedias/Dictionaries
Dictionary of Materials and Testing
Reference TA402 .D55 2000
Definitions of terms concerning materials, materials testing, and related fieldsEncyclopedia of Materials Science and Engineering
Reference TA402 .E53 1986b
Comprehensive encyclopedia concerning the nature of materials and their practical applications
Web Resources
Library Journals
Design Studies
Only latest 12 months available onlineResearch in Engineering Design
Online coverage provided since 1998Free Electronic Journals
NIST
The online journal for the National Institute of Standards and Technology. The publication is available back to 1995 in full text on their web site.The Centre for Sustainable Design
The Journal of Sustainable Product Design (JSPD) covers economic, environmental, ethical and social issues in product design and development. JSPD is a comprehensive quarterly journal guaranteeing high quality both in content and in presentation. Back issues are available to 1997.Gateways
EEVL
A searchable collection of web resources in engineering, mathematics, and computingInfomine
A searchable virtual library of Internet resources in the physical sciences, engineering, computing, and math that are useful at the university levelOther Sites
Center for the Study of Ethics in the Professions: Engineering
Collection of codes of ethics from a number of engineering-related organizationseFunda
A site designed to assist in solving design problems by providing information that will answer common engineering questions; includes information on materials, processes, and formulas as well as a variety of online calculatorsEngineers Edge
A site for designers, engineers, and manufacturing professionals with a variety of design and engineering resources to aid in the solution of problemsMatWeb: Material: Property Data
Database of material properties for polymers, metals, ceramics, and other engineering materialsFE Supplied-Reference Handbook - NCEES
An online copy of the Fundamentals of Engineering (FE) Supplied-Reference Handbook from the National Council of Examiners for Engineering and Surveyingonlineethics.org
Provides "engineers, scientists, and science and engineering students with resources for understanding and addressing ethically significant problems that arise in their work"
Go to the Subject Guides page
Go to Curtis Laws Wilson Library
Go to the Basic Engineering Department
E-mail comments or questions toChris Jocius
Last Updated 9/1/05