Skip to department navigation
Skip to content
Skip to global navigation
library » library.mst.edu » subjectguides » reflib1 » artslanguagephilosophy
Subject Guide to Information Resources

Information Resources for Arts, Languages, Philosophy and Education


Chris Jocius
jociusc@mst.edu

Philosophy    Speech and Media Studies    Theater    Art and Film    Music    Foreign Languages    Education

 

 

Missouri S&T ALP Department Website

Use the links below to jump to your subject area of interest
Philosophy | Speech and Media Studies | Theater | Art and Film | Music | Foreign Languages | Education
 Resources & databases for particular programs

Philosophy 

Databases Missouri S&T Subscribes to:

ATLA Religion Index
Philosopher's Index

Library Journals with Web Access:

British Journal for the Philosophy of Science -- Full text from 1998
British Journal of Aesthetics -- Full text from 1999
British Journal of Sociology -- Full text from 1999
Ethics -- Full text from 1998. Full text of Ethics from  1938 to 2001 available here
Human Relations -- Full text from 2000
International Journal for Philosophy of Religion -- Access is provided to current year only
Journal of Philosophical Logic -- Access to current year only Full text from   1997-1998 can be found here
Journal of Philosophy -- Full text from 1921 to five years before the present only
Mind -- Full text from 1997. Full text from  1876 to seven years before the presen
Nous -- Full text from 1997. Full text from  1967 to five years before the present available here
Pacific Philosophical Quarterly -- Full text from 1997
Philosophical Forum -- Full text since 1999
Philosopher's Imprint -- Full text open access journal from the University of Michigan
Philosophical Perspectives -- Full text from 1987 - 1995
Philosophical Quarterly -- Full text since 1997 Full text from  1950 to five years before the present available here
Philosophical Review -- Full text from 1892 to three years before the present
Philosophy & Public Affairs -- Full text from 2001-2003 only Full text from 1971 to five years before the present
Philosophy and Phenomenological Research -- Full text from 1940 to five years before the present
Philosophy of Science -- Full text from 2002 to present
Philosophy: the Journal of the British Institute of Philosophical Studies -- Full text from 1998 to present
Technology and Culture -- Full text from 1998 to present

Free Journals on the Web:

Animus: a philosophical journal for our time
Essays in Philosophy
Florida Philosophical Review
Journal of Evolution and Technology
Minerva: Annual Online Journal of Philosophy
Philosophers' Imprint -- University of Michigan
Surfaces (English and French). Started in 1991.

Online Web Resources:

HyperNietzsche: Scanned images with transcriptions of Nietzsche's Notebooks

Print Resources:

Biographical Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Philosophers - REF B 104.B5 1996
Companion Encyclopedia of Asian Philosophy - REF B 121.C66 1997
Dictionary of Philosophy and Religion - REF B 41.R43 1996
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy - REF B 51.R68 1998
The Encyclopedia of Religion - REF BL 31.E46 1995
Who's Who in Philosophy - REF B 804.W52
World Philosophers and Their Works - REF B 104.W67 2000

Speech and Media Studies

  Databases Missouri S&T Subscribes to:

MLA International Bibliography

Free Journals Online:

American Communication Association
Agora (Edmonton) -- by the University of Alberta
American Communication Journal by Appalachin State University
Canadian Journal of Communication. Published since 1991
Discourse Analysis Online
Intensities: The Journal of Cult Media
Journal of Intercultural Communication
Media History Monographs: An Online Journal of Media History

Online Web Resources:

American Communication Association

Theater

  Free Journals Online:

Applied Theatre Researcher
Didaskalia -- Ancient Theatre Today
International Journal of Scottish Theatre

Online Web Resources:

Leach Theater
TheatrePedia from the East Los Angeles College Theatre Arts Department

Print Resources:

The Best Plays of 2002-2003 (series) - REF PN 6112.B45 2002/2003
Contemporary Dramatists - REF PN 1625.C6 1993
Index to One-Act Plays - REF PN 6120.O5 Z99.L83 1924
Theatre: Stage to Screen to Television - REF PN 2189.L44
The Oxford Companion to American Theatre - REF PN 2220.B6 1984

Art and Film

  Databases Missouri S&T Subscribes to:

Art Full Text
LexisNexis Academic -- choose the Guided News Search, then Arts & Sports news to find film reviews

Free Journals Online:

Crossings: Electronic Journal of Art and Technology
Nineteenth-Century Art Worldwide

Online Web Resources:

St. Louis Art Museum
Search the Missouri S&T library collection of videos & DVDs

Print Resources:

Art

A Biographical Dictionary of Artists - REF N 40.B53 1995
Contemporary Artists - REF N 6490.C6567 1996
The Dictionary of Art - REF N 31.D5 1996
The Encylopedia of Visual Art - REF N 25.E53 1983
Encyclopedia of World Art - REF N 31.E533

Film

International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers - REF PN 1997.8.I58 1997
Leonard Maltin's Movie Encyclopedia - REF PN 1998.2.M34 1994
Magill's Survey of Cinema - REF PN 1993.45.M3
Variety's Film Reviews - REF PN 1993.V36

Music

Band
Orchestra

Free Journals Online:

ECHO: A musicology journal from UCLA
Electronic Musicological Review -- in English and Portugese
EOL Journal -- Ethnomusicology
Journal of Seventeenth-Century Music From the University of Illinois
Music and Anthropology: Journal of Mediterranean Musical Anthropology
Music Theory Online
Polish Music Journal
PMO: Popular Musicology Online
Sound Journal

Online Web Resources:

Choral Public Domain Library
DW3 -- collection of classical music links from Duke University
KMNR -- Missouri S&T student radio
KMST Public Radio
Norton-Sony Classical Essentials of Music
Worldwide Internet Music Resources from U. Indiana

Print Resources:

Contemporary Composers - REF ML 105.C75 1992
The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz - REF ML 102.J3 N48 2002
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians - REF ML 100.N48 2001
The New Oxford Companion to Music - REF ML 100.N5 1983

Foreign Languages

French
German
Russian
Spanish

Library Journals with Web Access:

Nineteenth Century French Studies -- Full text available from 2001

Online Web Resources:

iLoveLanguages

Search the Missouri S&T library for all works in:

--  French
--  German
--  Russian
--  Spanish

Print Resources:

We have a large selection of dictionaries in many foreign languages. Browse the reference collection between PA-PM to find the dictionary you require.

Education

Databases Missouri S&T Subscribes to:

Education Full Text
ERIC database

Free Online Journals:

Academic Leadership Journal
Australian Educational Computing
Australian Journal of Educational Technology
CJEAP: Canadian Journal of Educational Administration and Policy
Current Issues in Education -- Arizona State University
Early Childhood Research & Practice
Education Next: A Journal of Opinion and Research
Education Policy Analysis Archives -- Arizona State University
EJEL: Eletronic Jounral of eLearning
Essays in Education -- University of South Carolina
EASI: Equal Access to Software and Information -- a journal about teaching disabled students with technology.
International Education Journal
The International Electronic Journal for Leadership in Learning
International Journal of Educational Technology -- University of Illinois and Univeristy of Western Australia
Language Learning and Technology
Journal of Interactive Online Learning
The Journal of Technology, Learning, and Assessment
The Source: An OnLine Journal of Education -- University of Southern California

Web Resources Online:

ERIC.gov

Print Resources:

Dictionary of Education - REF LB 15.G6 1959
The Encyclopedia of Education - REF LB 15.E47 2003
Handbook of Education Psychology - REF LB 1051.H2354 1996
Public School Laws of Missouri - REF LB2529 .M81 2009/2010
Special Education: A Reference Handbook - REF LC 3981.S33 2001
Standards and Schooling in the United States: An Encyclopedia - REF LB 2822.82.S82 2001

Site last updated August 17 2010

If there are any dead links on this site, or if you have any suggestions as to other links that should appear here, please direct your comments to Chris Jocius .

Return to the Library Web Site

 

 

 

  generate print-friendly
DESERT EXPLORER

Michael Bouchard studies bizarre dome-like structures in Egypt's Afar Desert.

READ MORE >
GOING THE DISTANCE

Marathon runner Devin Dixon sped through three degrees in just over six years.

READ MORE >
MINING ON THE MOON

Dr. Leslie Gertsch takes a look at humanity's future in space.

READ MORE >
D-DAY RE-EXAMINED

John McManus' latest book looks at the Big Red One at Omaha Beach.

READ MORE >
LIFE ON MARS

Melanie Mormile studies bacteria here on Earth that could survive on Mars.

READ MORE >
SPELUNKING FOR A CAUSE

Michael Bradford helps protect bats and cave formations in Missouri.

READ MORE >
SLIMY STUFF

Paul Nam suggests the potential solution to several global problems is green slime (algae).

READ MORE >
DANCING WITH CODE

Marquia Lewis studies computer science and is a member of the Gold Miners dance squad.

READ MORE >
CRAFT-Y MAGAZINE EDITOR

Casey Burton works to improve cancer screenings and publishes a gamer magazine.

READ MORE >
A GOALIE'S PERSPECTIVE

Carrie Levy enjoys the mental challenge of being a Lady Miner goalkeeper.

READ MORE >
A PHILOSOPHY OF ADVOCACY

Kate Burns is proof that students in every major can find success.

READ MORE >
PHYTOFORENSICS

Joel Burken's research team use trees to detect soil and groundwater contamination.

READ MORE >
ROCKET SCIENTIST

Anan Takroori shares his love of planes, rockets and satellites with campers.

READ MORE >
'DOWN-TO-EARTH' SCHOLAR

Krista Rybacki studies soil samples from an area near a lead recycling smelter.

READ MORE >
MINERS ABROAD

Delancey Rougely studied the effects of war in France and blogged about it.

READ MORE >