Skip to department navigation
Skip to content
Skip to global navigation
library » library.mst.edu » subjectguides » reflib1 » biologicalsciences
Subject Guides to Information Resources

Resources for Research in Biology


Chris Jocius
jociusc@mst.edu

 

Databases (used to find journal articles)      Print Resources       Web Resources     

 

 

Library Databases & E-Resources

Agricola
This database provides access to citations for worldwide periodical literature as well as USDA publications. Topics covered include agriculture, animal science, plant science, food and human nutrition, biotechnology, entomology, forestry, and environmental sciences. Produced by the U.S. National Agricultural Library, coverage begins in 1970.

Biological Abstracts
Biological Abstracts covers all aspects of the life sciences, including agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, genetics, botany, ecology, microbiology, pharmacology, and zoology. Citations and abstracts for literature from Journals worldwide are included in the database. Our coverage begins in 1980.

Bio One
Bio One provides an integrated linked information resource of interrelated journals(80  journals, from 2000-     ) focused on the biological, ecological and environmental sciences in full-text articles.

Encyclopedia of Chemical Biology
The Wiley Encyclopedia of Chemical Biology provides researchers and advanced students with timely and authoritative review-type information. The articles in WECB illuminate the crucial role of chemistry and chemical techniques in the life sciences and support the information needs of researchers in the field of chemical biology.

Encyclopedia of Life

Knovel Digital Library
Knovel is a science, engineering, and technology database comprised of ebooks and other types of technical information, such as data sheets, conference proceedings, and other various reports. It has interactive tables, graphs and charts to assist users with analysis of materials and properties and built-in conversion equations so data can be displayed in the required unit of measurement.

MEDLINE
MEDLINE covers literature on biomedicine, including the biological and physical sciences as they relate to medicine. It contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 4,600 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. A few full text articles are available. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, coverage begins in 1950. 

PubMed
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, includes over 17 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources. "Entrez Pubmed" database is useful for research in bioinformatics.

SciFinder Scholar registration required: click here)
SciFinder Scholar contains a comprehensive database of chemical literature and patents. It includes literature on topics such as biotechnology, toxicology, environmental sciences, medicine, and food science. Some full text articles are available. Coverage begins in 1907. Before using SciFinder Scholar, you must register an account through this link. On some campus computers, full functionality will be available only in Internet Explorer.

For more information on understanding and using Scifinder, check out Information Retrieval: Scifinder for a thorough exploration of all the options and capabilities available in this service.

Gateways

Biology Browser
A site sponsored by Biosis (the source of the Biological Abstracts database) that provides access to useful web links

BIOME
Site that provides access to a searchable catalog of Internet sites and resources in the health and life sciences

National Biological Information Infrastructure
A USGS-led project providing access to biological information; links provided include online databases and other sites maintained by government agencies as well as

 

 

Print Resources

Dictionaries

Naturally Speaking:
A Dictionary of Quotations on Biology, Botany, Nature, and Zoology
Reference QH13 .N38 2001
Selected definition quotations of biology-related terms

Dictionary of Genetics
Reference QH427 .K55 2002
Definitions of terminology used in genetics literature

Dictionary of Microbiology and Molecular Biology
Reference QR9 .S56 2001
Definitions of terms in modern microbiology and molecular biology

Dictionary of Toxicology
Reference RA1193 .H63 2000
Definitions of terms related to the study of toxicology

Dictionary of Virology
Reference QR358 .M34 2009

Encyclopedias

Desk Encyclopedia of Microbiology
Reference QR9.D47

Dictionary of Scientific Biography
Online

Encyclopedia of Animals: a complete visual guide
Reference QL7.E53 2004

Encyclopedia of Biodiveristy
Reference QH541.15 .B56 E53 2001 5 v.

Encyclopedia of Bioethics
Ref QH 332.E52 2004  4 v.

Encyclopedia of Evolution
Reference  QH360.2 .P345 2002 2 v.
Contains entries concerning concepts and theories related to evolution

Encyclopedia of Genetics
Ref 427.E53 1999 4 v.

Encyclopedia of Human Biology
Reference  QP11 .E53 1997
Contains articles providing an overview of current knowledge of human biology

Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
Ref QH 302.5 E53 2005 26 v.
Offers comprehensive integrated coverage of basic and advanced coverage of subjects

Encyclopedia of Microbiology
Reference  QR9.E53 2000  4 v.

Encyclopedia of Molecular Biology
Reference QH506 .C74 1999  4 v.
Presents entries discussing terms from molecular biology

Encyclopedia of Neurological Sciences
Reference  RC346.E53 2003  4 v.

Encyclopedia of Science, Technology, and Ethics (3rd ed.)
Reference Q175.36 .E53 2005

Encyclopedia of Seeds: Science Technology and Uses
Ref SB 117.E46 2006

Encyclopedia of Toxicology
Reference RA 1193.E53 2005 4 v.
Contains entries discussing the adverse effects of chemical compounds on biological systems

Grizmek's Animal Encyclopedia
Ref QL 7.g7813  17 v.

McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology
Ref SQ121 .M3 2007 (also online)

 

Handbooks/Guides

Bergey's Manual of Systematic Bacteriology
Ref QR 81.B46 2001 3 v. (5 parts)

Cell Physiology Source Book
Reference QH631 .C458 1998
Covers topics relevant to the discipline of cell physiology

CRC Desk Reference for Nutrition
Reference QP141 .B523 2005

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
Ref Desk QD65 .H3 90th 2009/10 (also online)

Guide to Wetlands
Reference QH541.5.M3 G84 2005

Handbook of Ecotoxicology
Reference QH545.A1 H36 1995
Covers topics dealing with aquatic and terrestrial toxicology, including test protocols

How to Do Ecology
Ref QH 541.2>K374 2006

Manual of Environmental Microbiology
Reference QR100 .M36 2002
Provides information on concepts and methodologies in environmental microbiology

Medicinal Plants of the World
Ref S164 .V295 2004

Merck Index
Ref Desk RS51 .M4 2006 (also online)

Microbiology : A Centenary Perspective
Reference QR41.2 .M57 1999

 

Web Resources

Gateways

Biology Browser
A site sponsored by Biosis (the source of the Biological Abstracts database) that provides access to useful web links

National Biological Information Infrastructure
A USGS-led project providing access to biological information; links provided include online databases and other sites maintained by government agencies as well as non-governmental organizations

Online Books and Journals

Kimball's Biology Pages
An online biology textbook based on Biology by John W. Kimball (Wm. C. Brown,1994).

PLoS Biology
PLoS Biology is an open-access journal published by the Public Library of Science. It includes articles in all areas of biological science.

Anatomy

LUMEN: Structure of the Human Body
From the Loyala University medical school, LUMEN includes tutorials to assist in the study of anatomical structures.

Biodiversity and Ecology

NatureServe
NatureServe is a non-profit organization that provides scientific information and tools to aid in conservation efforts. Their Explorer database provides information on the distribution and conservation status of pant and animal species in the U.S. and Canada; the InfoNatura provides similar information for the birds and mammals of Latin America.

Botany

USDA PLANTS Database
The database provides information about the vascular and nonvascular plants of the U.S. and its territories. It includes names, distributional data, species abstracts, characteristics, images, plant links, references, and crop information.

Genetics

NIH Computational Molecular Biology: Databases
A collection of databases that offer facilities to browse and retrieve molecular biology sequence data

Microbiology

All the Virology on the WWW
This site tries to collect all the virology-related sites that might be of interest to people interested in learning about viruses. It includes The Big Picture Book of Viruses, an index to virus pictures online.

Phylogeny

The Tree of Life
This site provides information about organisms, their evolutionary history, and their characteristics. Each page contains information about a single group of organisms, with the individual pages linked to each other in the form of the evolutionary tree.

Zoology

AmphibiaWeb
AmphibiaWeb provides access to information on amphibian biology and conservation. The site includes taxonomic information for all species of amphibian worldwide. For many of the species, descriptions, life history information, conservation status, photos and range maps are also available.

Encyclopedia of Life


Go to the Subject Guides page

Go to Curtis Laws Wilson Library

Go to the Missouri S&T Biology Departmen t



E-mail comments or questions to Christopher Jocius
Last Updated 10/10/2007

  generate print-friendly
DESERT EXPLORER

Michael Bouchard studies bizarre dome-like structures in Egypt's Afar Desert.

READ MORE >
GOING THE DISTANCE

Marathon runner Devin Dixon sped through three degrees in just over six years.

READ MORE >
MINING ON THE MOON

Dr. Leslie Gertsch takes a look at humanity's future in space.

READ MORE >
D-DAY RE-EXAMINED

John McManus' latest book looks at the Big Red One at Omaha Beach.

READ MORE >
LIFE ON MARS

Melanie Mormile studies bacteria here on Earth that could survive on Mars.

READ MORE >
SPELUNKING FOR A CAUSE

Michael Bradford helps protect bats and cave formations in Missouri.

READ MORE >
SLIMY STUFF

Paul Nam suggests the potential solution to several global problems is green slime (algae).

READ MORE >
DANCING WITH CODE

Marquia Lewis studies computer science and is a member of the Gold Miners dance squad.

READ MORE >
CRAFT-Y MAGAZINE EDITOR

Casey Burton works to improve cancer screenings and publishes a gamer magazine.

READ MORE >
A GOALIE'S PERSPECTIVE

Carrie Levy enjoys the mental challenge of being a Lady Miner goalkeeper.

READ MORE >
A PHILOSOPHY OF ADVOCACY

Kate Burns is proof that students in every major can find success.

READ MORE >
PHYTOFORENSICS

Joel Burken's research team use trees to detect soil and groundwater contamination.

READ MORE >
ROCKET SCIENTIST

Anan Takroori shares his love of planes, rockets and satellites with campers.

READ MORE >
'DOWN-TO-EARTH' SCHOLAR

Krista Rybacki studies soil samples from an area near a lead recycling smelter.

READ MORE >
MINERS ABROAD

Delancey Rougely studied the effects of war in France and blogged about it.

READ MORE >