Skip to department navigation
Skip to content
Skip to global navigation
library » library.mst.edu » subjectguides » reflib1 » interdisciplinaryengineering
Subject Guides to Information Resources

Resources for Research in Basic Engineering


Chris Jocius
jociusc@mst.edu

DataBases (used to find journal articles)

Electronic Journals

Print Resources

Web Resources

Missouri S&T Departmental Info

 

Library Databases

Applied Science and Technology
Applied Science and Technology covers literature discussing the practical applications of science and engineering. It also provides information on careers and employment in scientific and technological fields. Some full-text articles are available. Coverage begins in 1983.

 Compendex
This resource includes citations with abstracts for engineering and technical literature worldwide. It covers all fields of engineering, as well as related topics in management and the sciences. Coverage is 1980 to date.

Knovel Digital Library
Knovel is a science, engineering, and technology database comprised of ebooks and other types of technical information, such as data sheets, conference proceedings, and other various reports. It has interactive tables, graphs and charts to assist users with analysis of materials and properties and built-in conversion equations so data can be displayed in the required unit of measurement.

 Materials Science Collection
Materials Science Collection incorporates several materials science databases, with citations for literature on materials science, metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites used in engineering applications. Coverage begins in 1966.

Recent Advances in Manufacturing
This database provides bibliographic information for manufacturing and related topics. It includes records for items in over 500 journals and magazines, as well as books, videos and conference proceedings. Coverage is 1990 to date.


Print Resources

Handbooks

Engineered Materials Handbook
Reference Desk TA403.4 .E64 1995
A handbook on the properties of nonmetallic engineering materials

Eshbach.s Handbook of Engineering Fundamentals
Reference TA151 .E8 1990
A handbook that brings together the fundamental concepts in engineering and related fields that support engineering practices

Metals Handbook
Reference Desk TA459 .M288 1998
A handbook on the properties of metals and alloys

Encyclopedias/Dictionaries

Dictionary of Materials and Testing
Reference TA402 .D55 2000
Definitions of terms concerning materials, materials testing, and related fields

Encyclopedia of Materials Science and Engineering
Reference TA402 .E53 1986b
Comprehensive encyclopedia concerning the nature of materials and their practical applications


Web Resources

Library Journals

 Design Studies
Only latest 12 months available online

Research in Engineering Design
Online coverage provided since 1998

Free Electronic Journals

NIST
The online journal for the National Institute of Standards and Technology. The publication is available back to 1995 in full text on their web site.

The Centre for Sustainable Design
The Journal of Sustainable Product Design (JSPD) covers economic, environmental, ethical and social issues in product design and development. JSPD is a comprehensive quarterly journal guaranteeing high quality both in content and in presentation. Back issues are available to 1997.

Gateways

EEVL
A searchable collection of web resources in engineering, mathematics, and computing

Infomine
A searchable virtual library of Internet resources in the physical sciences, engineering, computing, and math that are useful at the university level

Other Sites

Center for the Study of Ethics in the Professions: Engineering
Collection of codes of ethics from a number of engineering-related organizations

eFunda
A site designed to assist in solving design problems by providing information that will answer common engineering questions; includes information on materials, processes, and formulas as well as a variety of online calculators

Engineers Edge
A site for designers, engineers, and manufacturing professionals with a variety of design and engineering resources to aid in the solution of problems

MatWeb: Material: Property Data
Database of material properties for polymers, metals, ceramics, and other engineering materials

FE Supplied-Reference Handbook - NCEES
An online copy of the Fundamentals of Engineering (FE) Supplied-Reference Handbook from the National Council of Examiners for Engineering and Surveying

onlineethics.org
Provides "engineers, scientists, and science and engineering students with resources for understanding and addressing ethically significant problems that arise in their work"


Go to the Subject Guides page

Go to Curtis Laws Wilson Library

Go to the Basic Engineering Department


E-mail comments or questions to Chris Jocius
Last Updated 9/1/05

  generate print-friendly
DESERT EXPLORER

Michael Bouchard studies bizarre dome-like structures in Egypt's Afar Desert.

READ MORE >
CHAMPIONING STEM FOR MINORITIES

Emily Hernandez wants to see more diversity in the engineering fields, and is doing her part to help.

READ MORE >
SELFLESS ACTIONS, GLOBAL IMPACT

Melissa Elder’s travels to her mother’s homeland of Honduras have shaped her career path and research focus.

READ MORE >
D-DAY RE-EXAMINED

John McManus' latest book looks at the Big Red One at Omaha Beach.

READ MORE >
LIFE ON MARS

Melanie Mormile studies bacteria here on Earth that could survive on Mars.

READ MORE >
SPELUNKING FOR A CAUSE

Michael Bradford helps protect bats and cave formations in Missouri.

READ MORE >
PERFECT FIT

Hannah Frye is doing research that could lead to a treatment for diseases like Alzheimer’s or Parkinson’s.

READ MORE >
DANCING WITH CODE

Marquia Lewis studies computer science and is a member of the Gold Miners dance squad.

READ MORE >
PEOPLE PERSON

Cagatay "Ty" Atmaca has accomplished a lot since being sent to learn English in America by the Turkish Petroleum Corp. four years ago.

READ MORE >
PRINTING THE FUTURE

Jonathan Bopp used his 3D printer to create parts for the Mars Rover’s robotic arm.

READ MORE >
A PHILOSOPHY OF ADVOCACY

Kate Burns is proof that students in every major can find success.

READ MORE >
PHYTOFORENSICS

Joel Burken's research team use trees to detect soil and groundwater contamination.

READ MORE >
SAYING GOOD RIDDANCE TO SOGGY BUNS

Tyler Richards has designed a cap that keeps separated liquid from escaping ketchup bottles.

READ MORE >
'DOWN-TO-EARTH' SCHOLAR

Krista Rybacki studies soil samples from an area near a lead recycling smelter.

READ MORE >
MINERS ABROAD

Delancey Rougely studied the effects of war in France and blogged about it.

READ MORE >