Skip to department navigation
Skip to content
Skip to global navigation
library » library.mst.edu » subjectguides » reflib1 » psychology
Subject Guides to Information Resources

Psychology Subject Guide


Chris Jocius
jociusc@mst.edu

Databases (used to find journal articles)

Books and Ebooks

Web Resources

Missouri S&T Departmental Info

 

This page is here to guide you. It provides information regarding reference materials, books, journals and databases related to the area of psychology. There are also some links to web sites that you might find useful, helpful or interesting.

 


 

Databases & E-Resources
The Library provides access to many databases. Here are a few you might find helpful.

PsychInfo 1806 -- Present (indexes 2,491 psychology journals--many have full text available)

PsycARTICLES (EBSCO, 1894-present) (full-text articles published by APA)

Medline 1950- Present (for searching citations and abstracts in the biomedical literature)

Academic Search Complete (many full-text articles)

JSTOR (many full-text articles)

Scopus (indexing the social science, engineering, and science literature)

Summon (a search engine that searches books, journals, and newspapers in Wilson Library)

 


 Books and Ebook resources (Ebooks marked by *)
This list of books contains key reference tools and other books. (Missouri S&T titles only.)
 

APA Dictionary of Psychology
REF BF31 .A63 2007 (Reference)

APA Handbook of Industrial and Organizational Psychology
REF HF5548.8 .A684 2011, vols. 1-3 (Reference)

Career Paths in Psychology, ed. Robert J. Sternberg
BF 76.C38 2007

Concise Rules of APA Style
BF76.7 .C66 2010 (Reference)

Comprehensive Handbook of Psychological Assessment
REF BF 176.C654 2004  v. 1-4 (Reference)

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (6th ed.)
REF BF 76.7 .P83 2010 (Reference)

Effective Writing in Psychology by Bernard C. Beins
BF 76.7 .B45 2008

Encyclopedia of Applied Psychology
REF BF 636.E52 2004 v. 1-3 (Reference)

Encyclopedia of Cognitive Science

REF BF 311.E539 2003 v. 1-4 (Reference)

Encyclopedia of Creativity

REF BF 40.E53 1999 v.1-2 ( Reference)

Encyclopedia of Emotions
REF BF 531.E55 1999, vols. 1-2 (Reference)

Encyclopedia of Human Emotions
REF BF531 .E55 1999 (Reference)

* Encyclopedia of Identity ed. by Ronald L. Jackson
Available Online

Essential Ethics for Psychologists
by Thomas E. Nagy
BF 76.4 .N338 2011

Finding Jobs with a Psychology Bachelor's Degree

REF BF76 .L357 2009 (Career Reference)

Handbook of Consumer Psychology
HF5415.32 .H363 2008 (Lower Level)

* Handbook of Adolescent Psychology by Richard M. Lerner
Available Online

* Handbook of Life-span Development ed. by Richard M. Lerner
Available Online

Handbook of Psychology
REF BF 121.H1955 2003 v.1-12 (Each subject vol. indexed individually) (Reference)

Handbook of Social Psychology
REF HM1011 .H37 2010 v. 1-2 (Reference)

Magill's Medical Guide
REF RC41 .M34 2008 v. 1-5 (Reference)

Psychology & Mental Health
REF BF636 .S25 2010 v. 1-5 (Reference, Online)

Research Methods: A Tool for Life by Bernard C. Beins
BF 76.5 .B439 2009

Risk: A Very Short Introduction, by Baruch Fischoff
HM1101 .F57 2011


* The Science of ADHD: A Guide for Parents & Professionals by Chris Chandler
Available Online



Links
Here are some related web sites in support of psychology.

Missouri S&T Psychology Department

American Psychological Association

Association for Psychological Science

Classics in the History of Psychology

Psych Web

AllPsych Online

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Statistics

Psychology: Electronic Journals and Periodicals

Current Research in Social Psychology

PubMed.gov


Back to Main Subject Guides Page

Back to Library Home Page


This page created by Christopher Jocius; Suggestions?
Created April 2003
Updated October 5 2011
Disclaimer : Neither the Missouri University of Science and Technology nor Curtis Laws Wilson Library accept any responsibility for any material located after following the above links that lead off-site.

 

  generate print-friendly
DESERT EXPLORER

Michael Bouchard studies bizarre dome-like structures in Egypt's Afar Desert.

READ MORE >
GOING THE DISTANCE

Marathon runner Devin Dixon sped through three degrees in just over six years.

READ MORE >
MINING ON THE MOON

Dr. Leslie Gertsch takes a look at humanity's future in space.

READ MORE >
D-DAY RE-EXAMINED

John McManus' latest book looks at the Big Red One at Omaha Beach.

READ MORE >
LIFE ON MARS

Melanie Mormile studies bacteria here on Earth that could survive on Mars.

READ MORE >
SPELUNKING FOR A CAUSE

Michael Bradford helps protect bats and cave formations in Missouri.

READ MORE >
SLIMY STUFF

Paul Nam suggests the potential solution to several global problems is green slime (algae).

READ MORE >
DANCING WITH CODE

Marquia Lewis studies computer science and is a member of the Gold Miners dance squad.

READ MORE >
CRAFT-Y MAGAZINE EDITOR

Casey Burton works to improve cancer screenings and publishes a gamer magazine.

READ MORE >
A GOALIE'S PERSPECTIVE

Carrie Levy enjoys the mental challenge of being a Lady Miner goalkeeper.

READ MORE >
A PHILOSOPHY OF ADVOCACY

Kate Burns is proof that students in every major can find success.

READ MORE >
PHYTOFORENSICS

Joel Burken's research team use trees to detect soil and groundwater contamination.

READ MORE >
ROCKET SCIENTIST

Anan Takroori shares his love of planes, rockets and satellites with campers.

READ MORE >
'DOWN-TO-EARTH' SCHOLAR

Krista Rybacki studies soil samples from an area near a lead recycling smelter.

READ MORE >
MINERS ABROAD

Delancey Rougely studied the effects of war in France and blogged about it.

READ MORE >