![]() |
Curtis Laws Wilson Library
400 W. 14th Street
Rolla, MO 65409-0060
Main office: 573-341-4227
Circulation: 573-341-4008
Interlibrary Loan: 573-341-4006
Reference: 573-341-4007
Fax: 573-341-4233
Email: library@mst.edu
Library Databases and Electronic Resources
Electronic Journals Print Resources Web Resources
Library Databases and Electronic Resources
SciFinder Scholar
SciFinder Scholar is the most comprehensive bibliographic database in the field of chemistry. The database is essentially an online version of Chemical Abstracts, but provides enhanced search capabilities (e.g., reaction searching) and coverage now predates the 1907 commencement of Chemical Abstracts. The database contains over 27 million citations primarily from journals, patents, and conferences. While the focus of the database is chemistry, it is also a valuable resource for certain areas of agriculture, biology, engineering, geology, medicine, and physics. Coverage from mid-1800s to present.
Unlike most databases, client software will need to be downloaded onto your computer in order to access SciFinder Scholar. SciFinder Scholar is available on computers in the Wilson Library and most Computer Learning Centers (CLCs).
Encyclopedia of Chemical Biology
The Wiley Encyclopedia of Chemical Biology provides researchers and advanced students with timely and authoritative review-type information. The articles in WECB illuminate the crucial role of chemistry and chemical techniques in the life sciences and support the information needs of researchers in the field of chemical biology.
Scopus
Scopus provides multidisciplinary indexing of the science and engineering literature. It is Elsevier's counterpart to ISI's Web of Science, providing the same core functionality but indexing a wider variety of journals and proceedings. Coverage generally from 1996 to present though some records date as far back as the mid-1800s.
Technology Research Database
Technology Research Database (TRD) is comprised of a number of materials science and engineering databases (e.g., Ceramics Abstracts, Advanced Polymers Abstracts, Composites Industry Abstracts, METADEX, etc.). Dates of coverage vary for each database.
Compendex
Compendex is one of the most comprehensive bibliographic databases in the field of engineering. The citations are drawn from over 2,600 journals, conference proceedings, technical reports, books, and other materials. Compendex is the online equivalent of the print Engineering Index. Coverage is from 1884 to Present.
Biological Abstracts
This database provides coverage of the biological sciences. The database includes both the traditional areas of biology, as well as interdisciplinary fields such as biochemistry, biophysics and bioengineering. More than 6,500 serials are monitored for inclusion. Coverage from 1980 to Present.
Dissertation Abstracts
Dissertation Abstracts contains references and abstracts for doctoral dissertations from accredited American and
Canadian, selected British and European universities, covering all academic subjects. Masters theses are also included
from accredited North American Universities. Coverage from 1861 (masters from 1988) to present.
PapersFirst
This database covers every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received by the British Library. Coverage from 1993 to Present.
Wilson Library subscribes to over 40,000 journals; most of these are electronic subscriptions, while some are available only in print and some are in both formats. To determine if the library subscribes to a particular journal, one must search the A-Z Electronic Journals list and the MERLIN online catalog for print holdings. Search MERLIN by first clicking "Journal Title" and then entering the name of the journal (e.g., Journal of Organic Chemistry). MERLIN will provide information about the journal's availability in print.
Below are links to a few full-text electronic journals to help you get started. To perform a comprehensive literature search, one needs to first search one or more of the databases listed above.
NOTE: Unless the journal is freely available, you will need to be on-campus or set-up VPN in order to access electronic journals. This includes the electronic journals linked from MERLIN.
American Chemical Society Journals
Full-text access to almost all of the ACS journals.
SpringerLink
Full-text access to many Springer chemistry journals from 1997-present.
Chemical and Engineering News
Trade publication of the ACS. Offers general news on topics related to chemistry and the chemistry industry. Limited full-text access to materials published after 1/2007. Print version available in Library: 3rd Floor TP1 .C35
Journal of Chemical Education
Publication of the ACS Division of Chemical Education. Full-text access to articles and tips on classroom and laboratory pedagogy.
This is not an exhaustive list. Please search the MERLIN catalog for additional books. Also try Thermodex and the Chemical and Physical Properties websites to identify additional resources (See Web Resources below).
Dictionary of Scientific Biography
Reference Q141 .D5
Biographical information on the careers and practices of prominent scientists from ancient times through the modern era. In order to access this resource, click the link on the left and then the "Proceed" button on the page that loads. This resource is also available online.McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology
Reference Q121 .M3 2007
For more than 40 years, the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology has been the first source readers around the world have turned to when starting research on any major scientific topic. With more than 7,000 articles written by leaders in their fields - including 30 Nobel Prize winners - the Encyclopedia is famed for the scope and quality of its content. The electronic version contains over 7,100 articles in 97 subject areas. This resource is also available online.On Being a Scientist: A Guide to Responsible Conduct in Research
Q180.A1 S35 2009
This resource is also available online.
Ready Reference - Try these first.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, 90th Edition
Reference Desk QD65 .H3 2009/2010
Contains an extensive collection of physical property data, conversion factors, nomenclature, and mathematical
tables. This resource is also available online.
Lange's Handbook of Chemistry
Reference TP151 .H25 15th 1999
Contains physical property data, conversion factors, and nomenclature.
The Merck Index, 14th Edition
Reference Desk RS356.M524 2006
Contains encyclopedia entries for chemicals, pharmaceuticals, and biologicals. Provides information on synthesis
and some physical property. This resource is also available online.
Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology
Reference Q121 .M3 2007
Dictionary of Inorganic Compounds
Reference QD148 .D53 1992
Dictionary of Organic Compounds
Reference QD246 .D5 1996
Dictionary of Organometallic Compounds
Reference QD411 .D53 1995
Dictionary of Scientific Biography
Reference Q141 .D5
Encyclopedia of Analytical Science
Reference QD71.5 .E53 1995
Encyclopedia of Chemical Physics and Physical Chemistry
Reference QD451 .E53 2001
Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis
Reference QD77 .E53 1995
Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary
Reference QD5 .C5 1997
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
Reference TP9 .K54 2004
Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry
Reference TP9 .U57 2003
Handbooks
The ACS Style Guide: Effective communication of scientific information
Reference QD8.5 .A25 2006
Aldrich Handbook of Fine Chemicals (a.k.a. Aldrich Catalog)
Reference Desk TP202 .A43 2007/2008
Beilstein's Handbuch der Organischen Chemie
Third Floor QD251 .B4
The Chemist's Companion: A Handbook of Practical Data, Techniques, and References
Reference QD65 .G64
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, 88th Edition
Reference QD65 .H3 2007/2008. The latest edition of this resource is also available online.
CRC Handbook of Laboratory Safety
Reference QD51 .H27 1990
Gmelins Handbuch der Anorganischen Chemie
.
Third Floor QD151.G52
Handbook of Data on Organic Compounds.
Reference QD257.7 .H36 1994
Handbook of the Physicochemical Properties of the Elements
Reference QD466 .A3413
International Critical Tables of Numerical Data, Physics, Chemistry and Technology
Reference Q199 .N32
Laboratory Companion: A practical guide to materials, equipment, and technique
Reference QD53 .C69 2006
Purification of Laboratory Chemicals
Reference TP156 .P83 P47 1997
Reagent Chemicals: Specifications and procedures
Reference QD77 .A54 2006
Standard Methods for the Examination of Water and Wastewater
Reference QD142 .A5
Spectra Collections
The Aldrich Library of 13C and 1H FT-IR Spectra
Reference QC462.85 .A44 1993
The Aldrich Library of FT-IR Spectra
Reference QC457 .P87 1997
The Aldrich Library of Infrared Spectra
Reference QD96 .I5 P67 1981
The Aldrich Library of NMR Spectra
Reference QD96 .N8 P68 1983
Handbook of Infrared and Raman Spectra of Inorganic Compounds and Organic Salts
Reference QC457 .N927 1997
Handbook of Monochromatic XPS Spectra
Reference QC482 .S6 C75 2000
Infrared Prism
(Sadtler)
Third Floor QC457 .S3 1967
Nuclear Magnetic Resonance Spectra (Sadtler)
Third Floor QC762 .S3 1967
Sadtler Ultra Violet Standard Spectra
Third Floor QC459 .S3 1966
Sigma-Aldrich Handbook of Stains, Dyes, and Indicators
(UV-visible-IR)
Reference QD77 .G73 1990
Standard Grating Spectra
(IR; Sadtler)
Third Floor QC453 .S3
Periodic Tables
Chemical Properties and Spectra
Chemical and Physical Properties
This website, maintained by LSU, allows one to select a chemical/physical property and then provides a print
resource where that information can be found. After you locate a print resource on the LSU Website, check
MERLIN to see if we own it.
CODATA: Internationally Recommended Values of the Fundamental Physical Constants
NIST Data Gateway
Spectral Database for Organic Compounds (SDBS)
A spectral database, maintained by the National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (Japan),
for organic compounds. Includes spectra for FT-IR, MS, NMR, C13 NMR, Raman, and ESR.
ThermoDex
This website, maintained by University of Texas-Austin, allows one to select a chemical/physical property and
then provides a print resource and/or Web-based resources where that information can be found. After you
locate a print resource in ThermoDex, check MERLIN to see if we own it.
Miscellaneous
Missouri S&T Department of Chemistry
ACS Directory of Gradate Research
American Chemical Society (ACS)
Abbreviations for Core Chemical Abstracts Journals
Beilstein Dictionary (German Dictionary)
Back to Main Subject Guides Page
Back to Library Home Page
If you have any suggestions and/or questions, please contact me at jociusc@mst.edu.
This page was created by David Hubbard. Last updated by Chris Jocius on September 9, 2009.