Skip to department navigation
Skip to content
Skip to global navigation
library » library.mst.edu » subjectguides » reflib2 » aerospaceengineering
Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering Resources

For assistance, please contact Matthew Pickens at mpickens@mst.edu

 

Databases Print Resources Web Resources

 

Library Databases

Use these databases to find journal articles and other materials on aerospace engineering, mechanical engineering, and related topics.

Aerospace & High Technology Database

Citation index covering research in aeronautics, astronautics, and space sciences. The database also indexes some complementary research from other fields. No full text.

AIAA Meeting Papers

Full-text proceedings from conferences and meetings hosted by the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics. To limit your search to materials freely available to the Missouri S&T community, make sure the "Search Only My Publications & Papers" box is checked.


ASTM Standards and Digital Library

The Standards and Digital Library provides full text access to all 12,000+ ASTM standards; each week, about 50-150 standards are revised, newly approved, re-approved or withdrawn. The Ditial Library covers a broad range of engineering disciplines and includes everything that ASTM has published -- manuals, monographs, STPs, and journal aricles.

Compendex

Bibliographic citations and abstracts for engineering and technical literature in a broad range of disciplines, dating back to 1884. No full text.

Knovel Digital Library

Knovel is a large collection of downloadable science and engineering ebooks, including reference works.

NASA Technical Report Server

Technical information published by NASA and its predecessors, dating back to 1915. Mostly full text.

SAE Digital Library

Full text of SAE technical papers from the most recent ten years.

Scopus
Scopus provides multidisciplinary indexing of the science and engineering literature. It is Elsevier's counterpart to ISI's Web of Science, providing the same core functionality but indexing a wider variety of journals and proceedings.

Technology Research Database

TRD provides a simultaneous search of multiple technology-related databases, included the Aerospace and High Technology Database. No full text.

Transportation Research Record

Full text of the Transportation Research Record from 1996-present. Coverage begins with volume 1517.

TRIS Online

Database containing almost half a million references to transportation research. Links to some full text.

 

 

Print Resources

SAE Technical Papers

  • Papers from before 1980 must be requested through interlibrary loan.
  • Many papers from 1980-1995 are available on microfiche on the third floor. Missing papers can be requested through interlibrary loan.
  • Papers from 1994-2006 are available on CD-ROM at the reference desk.
  • Papers from the last ten years are available through the SAE Digital Library.

Handbooks

  • CRC Handbook of Mechanical Engineering
    REF TJ151 .C73 1998
  • Mechanical Engineer's Handbook
    REF TJ 151 .M395 2006
  • SAE Handbook
    TL151 .S62, latest edition in Reference
  • Modern Tribology Handbook
    REF TJ1075 .M567 2001
  • The Engineer's Career Guide
    Reference Reserve

 

Web Resources

  • AERADE

    Searchable, browsable collection of high-quality aerospace and defense industry resources. Provided by Cranfield University.

  • Intute

    Searchable, browsable collection of engineering and science-related links.

  • Defense Technical Information Center

    Interface for searching scientific resources published by the Department of Defense.

  • NTSB Aviation Accident Database

    Contains information from 1962 and later about civil aviation accidents and selected incidents within the United States, its territories and possessions, and in international waters.

  • NASA Innovative Partnerships Program

    Site providing information on NASA's technology transfer initiatives and opportunities.

  • NASA Scientific & Technical Information

    Directory of NASA's scientific and technical information sites.

  • The Thermal Connection

    Commercial site providing links to thermal properties and calculators.

  • Thermodynamic Data

    Directory site providing links to nanotech, mechanics, and thermodynamics properties and calculators.


Go to the Subject Guides page

Go to Curtis Laws Wilson Library

Go to the Mathematics & Statistics department

Last Updated 08/04/2011

  generate print-friendly
DESERT EXPLORER

Michael Bouchard studies bizarre dome-like structures in Egypt's Afar Desert.

READ MORE >
GOING THE DISTANCE

Marathon runner Devin Dixon sped through three degrees in just over six years.

READ MORE >
MINING ON THE MOON

Dr. Leslie Gertsch takes a look at humanity's future in space.

READ MORE >
D-DAY RE-EXAMINED

John McManus' latest book looks at the Big Red One at Omaha Beach.

READ MORE >
LIFE ON MARS

Melanie Mormile studies bacteria here on Earth that could survive on Mars.

READ MORE >
SPELUNKING FOR A CAUSE

Michael Bradford helps protect bats and cave formations in Missouri.

READ MORE >
SLIMY STUFF

Paul Nam suggests the potential solution to several global problems is green slime (algae).

READ MORE >
DANCING WITH CODE

Marquia Lewis studies computer science and is a member of the Gold Miners dance squad.

READ MORE >
CRAFT-Y MAGAZINE EDITOR

Casey Burton works to improve cancer screenings and publishes a gamer magazine.

READ MORE >
A GOALIE'S PERSPECTIVE

Carrie Levy enjoys the mental challenge of being a Lady Miner goalkeeper.

READ MORE >
A PHILOSOPHY OF ADVOCACY

Kate Burns is proof that students in every major can find success.

READ MORE >
PHYTOFORENSICS

Joel Burken's research team use trees to detect soil and groundwater contamination.

READ MORE >
ROCKET SCIENTIST

Anan Takroori shares his love of planes, rockets and satellites with campers.

READ MORE >
'DOWN-TO-EARTH' SCHOLAR

Krista Rybacki studies soil samples from an area near a lead recycling smelter.

READ MORE >
MINERS ABROAD

Delancey Rougely studied the effects of war in France and blogged about it.

READ MORE >