Curtis Laws Wilson Library
400 W. 14th Street
Rolla, MO 65409-0060
8 AM - Midnight
7 Days a Week
Closed Campus Holidays
Main office: 573-341-4227
Circulation: 573-341-4008
Interlibrary Loan: 573-341-4006
Reference: 573-341-4007
Fax: 573-341-4233
Email: library@mst.edu
Library Databases and Electronic Resources Print Resources Web Resources
Library Databases and Electronic Journals
Compendex
Compendex is one of the most comprehensive bibliographic databases in the field of engineering. The citations are drawn from over 2,600 journals, conference proceedings, technical reports, books, and other materials. Compendex is the online equivalent of the print Engineering Index from 1980 to the present (see below for additional coverage). Coverage is from 1884 to Present.
Encyclopedia of Chemical Biology
The Wiley Encyclopedia of Chemical Biology provides researchers and advanced students with timely and authoritative review-type information. The articles in WECB illuminate the crucial role of chemistry and chemical techniques in the life sciences and support the information needs of researchers in the field of chemical biology.
The Engineer's Career Guide
A guide to developing a career path in engineering. The print edition is available for 3-day check-out from Reference Reserves; ask at the Circulation Desk if you'd like to borrow the print edition.
Knovel Digital Library
Knovel is a science, engineering, and technology database comprised of ebooks and other types of technical information, such as data sheets, conference proceedings, and other various reports. It has interactive tables, graphs and charts to assist users with analysis of materials and properties and built-in conversion equations so data can be displayed in the required unit of measurement.
Perry's Chemical Engineer's Handbook, 8th Edition
Reference Desk TP151 .P45 2008
The handbook for chemical engineers. Provides information on processes and physical property data. Also available online.
SciFinder Scholar (registration required: click here)
SciFinder Scholar contains a comprehensive database of chemical literature and patents. It includes literature on topics such as biotechnology, toxicology, environmental sciences, medicine, and food science. Some full text articles are available. Coverage begins in 1907. Before using SciFinder Scholar, you must register an account through this link. On some campus computers, full functionality will be available only in Internet Explorer.
For more information on understanding and using Scifinder, check out Information Retrieval: Scifinder for a thorough exploration of all the options and capabilities available in this service.
Scopus
Scopus provides multidisciplinary indexing of the science and engineering literature. It is Elsevier's counterpart to ISI's Web of Science, providing the same core functionality but indexing a wider variety of journals and proceedings. Coverage generally from 1996 to present though some records date as far back as the mid-1800s.
Technology Research Database
Technology Research Database (TRD) is comprised of a number of materials science and engineering databases (e.g., Ceramics Abstracts, Advanced Polymers Abstracts, Composites Industry Abstracts, METADEX, etc.). Dates of coverage vary for each database.
Biological Abstracts
This database provides coverage of the biological sciences. The database includes both the traditional areas of biology, as well as interdisciplinary fields such as biochemistry, biophysics and bioengineering. More than 6,500 serials are monitored for inclusion. Coverage from 1980 to Present.
Dissertation Abstracts
Dissertation Abstracts contains references and abstracts for doctoral dissertations from accredited American and
Canadian, selected British and European universities, covering all academic subjects. Masters theses are also included
from accredited North American Universities. Coverage from 1861 (masters from 1988) to present.
PapersFirst
This database covers every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received
by the British Library. Coverage from 1993 to Present.
The classic American Ceramics Society/NIST resource for phase equilibria diagrams, now available online.
This is not an exhaustive list. Please search the MERLIN catalog for additional books. Also try Thermodex and the Chemical and Physical Properties websites to identify additional resources (See Web Resources below).
Dictionary of Scientific Biography
Reference Q141 .D5
Biographical information on the careers and practices of prominent scientists from ancient times through the modern era. In order to access this resource, click the link on the left and then the "Proceed" button on the page that loads. This resource is also available online.The Engineer's Career Guide
Reference Reserve
Information on developing your career as an engineer. Available for three-day checkout.McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology
Reference Q121 .M3 2007
For more than 40 years, the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology has been the first source readers around the world have turned to when starting research on any major scientific topic. With more than 7,000 articles written by leaders in their fields - including 30 Nobel Prize winners - the Encyclopedia is famed for the scope and quality of its content. The electronic version contains over 7,100 articles in 97 subject areas. This resource is also available online.On Being a Scientist: A Guide to Responsible Conduct in Research
Q180.A1 S35 2009
This resource is also available online.
Ready Reference - Try these first.
Perry's Chemical Engineer's Handbook, 8th Edition
Reference Desk TP151 .P45 2008
The handbook for chemical engineers. Provides information on processes and physical property data. Also available online.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, 90th Edition
Reference Desk QD65 .H3 2009/2010
Contains an extensive collection of physical property data, conversion factors, nomenclature, and mathematical
tables. This resource is also available online.
Riegel's Handbook of Industrial chemistry, 10th Edition
Reference TP145 .R53 2003
Contains information on chemistry and engineering of numerous industrial chemical processes.
Merck Index
Reference Desk RS51 .M4 2006
encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, and biologicals that contains more than 10,000 monographs.
Each monograph in this authoritative reference source is a concise description of a single
substance or a small group of closely related compound. This resource is also available online. A browser plug-in is required for the structure search feature.
Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology
Reference Q121 .M3 2007Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
Reference TP9 .K54 2004Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry
Reference TP9 .U57 2003\Dictionary of Scientific Biography
Reference Q141 .D5Encyclopedia of Chemical Biology
The Wiley Encyclopedia of Chemical Biology provides researchers and advanced students with timely and authoritative review-type information. The articles in WECB illuminate the crucial role of chemistry and chemical techniques in the life sciences and support the information needs of researchers in the field of chemical biology. Available online.Encyclopedia of Chemical Processing and Design (McKetta)
Reference TP9 .E66Encyclopedia of Chemical Processing (Lee)
Reference TP9 .E648 2006
Bailey's Industrial Oil & Fat Products
Reference TP670 .B28 2005Chemical Formulary
Third Floor TP151 .C53Encyclopedia of Bioprocess Technology
Reference TP248.3 .F57 1999Handbook of Food Science, Technology, and Engineering
Reference TP370.4 .H38 2006Encyclopedia of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology
Reference QC176.8.N35 E53 2004Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and Engineering
Reference QD281 .P6 E55 1985Encyclopedic Handbook of Biomaterials and Bioengineering
Reference R856 .A3 E52 1995
Handbooks
Biomedical Engineering Handbook
Reference R856.8513 2006 v. 1-3
- Biomedical Engineering Fundamentals
- Medical Devices and Systems
- Tissue Engineering and Artificial Organs
Bretherick's Handbook of Reactive Chemical Hazards
Reference T55.3 .H3 B73 1999Chemical Process Equipment: Selection and Design
Reference TP157 .C414 2005Handbook of Chemical Engineering Calculations
Reference TP149 .H285 2004Handbook of Heterogeneous Catalysis
Reference QD505 .H34 2008Handbook of Organic Solvents
Reference TP247.5 .L53 1995Handbook of Separation Techniques for Chemical Engineers
Reference TP156 .S45 H35 1997Polymer Handbook
Reference QD388 .P65 1999
Chemical Engineering Library of Congress Call Numbers
| Analytical Chemistry | QD 71-145 |
| Biochemistry QD | 415-431.7, QH345, QP 501-801 |
| Chemical technology | TP 1-1185 |
| Chemical engineering | TP 155-159 |
| --Manufacturing and use of chemicals | TP 200-248 |
| --Fuels | TP316-360 |
| --Food Processing and manufacturing | TP 368-456 |
| --Fermentation industry | TP 500-660 |
| --Petroleum refining and products | TP 690-692.4 |
| --Polymers, plastics and their manufacture | TP 1080-1185 |
| Chemistry (General) | QD 1-69 |
| Crystallography | QD 911-999 |
| Fluid mechanics | QA 901 |
| Genetic engineering | QH 442 |
| Heat and Mass Transfer | QC 320, TJ 260 |
| Inorganic Chemistry | QD 146-196 |
| Kinetics | QD 51-505, TP 149-157 |
| Macromolecules | QD 380-388 |
| Molecular Biology | QH 506 |
| Organic Chemistry | QD 241-449 |
| Organometallic Compounds | QD 410-412 |
| Physical and Theoretical Chemistry | QD 450-7 |
Periodic Tables
Chemical Properties and Spectra
ChemBioFinder.com
Requires free registration.
Chemical and Physical Properties
This website, maintained by LSU, allows one to select a chemical/physical property and then provides a print
resource where that information can be found. After you locate a print resource on the LSU Website, check
MERLIN to see if we own it.
CODATA: Internationally Recommended Values of the Fundamental Physical Constants
Spectral Database for Organic Compounds (SDBS)
A spectral database, maintained by the National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (Japan),
for organic compounds. Includes spectra for FT-IR, MS, NMR, C13 NMR, Raman, and ESR.
ThermoDex
This website, maintained by University of Texas-Austin, allows one to select a chemical/physical property and
then provides a print resource and/or Web-based resources where that information can be found. After you
locate a print resource in ThermoDex, check MERLIN to see if we own it.
Miscellaneous
American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE )
Chemical Profiles
Chemical process and historical pricing information (late 1990s - early 2000s) on 160
key chemicals. Based on information prepared for the Chemical Market Reporter.
ICIS Chemical Business (Formerly Chemical Market Reporter)
Provides chemical pricing for late 2006 - early 2007 only (i.e., ceased being updated by ICIS).
International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC) Nomenclature
Where to find Material Safety Data Sheets
CBE Web Sites
Property Data
http://www.lib.utexas.edu/thermodex/
http://webbook.nist.gov/chemistry/
http://www.nist.gov/srd/nist10.cfm
http://guides.lib.udel.edu/content.php?pid=163404&hs=a
http://guides.library.ucsb.edu/chemeng?hs=a
History of CE
http://www.pafko.com/history/h_chem20.pdf
Bioengineering/Biomedical Engineering
Missouri S&T Library Resources
Overview of the subject:
“Bioengineering chapter in “Using the Engineering Literature” Ref T.10.7.U85 2011.
Bioengineering: Subject headings (Library of Congress):
| Q300-342 | Cybernetics |
| QA76.87 | Neural computers; Neural networks (in computing) |
| QH55 | Biophysics |
| QH507 | Information theory in biology |
| QH508 | Biological control systems |
| QH 509 | Biological transport |
| QH509.5 | Bioelectronics |
| QH 513 | Biomechanics |
| QH513,5 | Fluid dynamics (in biology) |
| QH324.2 | Bioethics |
| QH332 ? | Biodegradable products |
| QH530.5 | Biodegradation (biology) |
| QP303 | Mechanics; Kinesiology |
| QP517.B5 | Biodegradation (biochemistry) |
| QP363.3 | Neural circuitry; Neural networks (in physiology) |
| R724 | Medical ethics |
| R856-857 | Biomedical engineering; Electronics; Instrumentation (this call num range includes many special topics such as biosensors, biomaterials, imaging systems, nanotechnology) |
| R858-859 | Computer applications to medicine; Medical informatics; Medical information technology |
| RD130 | Prosthetics, Artificial organs |
| RD132 | Artificial implants and implant materials |
| RS199.5-RS201 | Pharmaceutical Tech.; Drug delivery systems |
| RS21 | Drug deliver Drug delivery systems |
| RS21 | Drug delivery devices |
| TA164 | Bioengineering |
| TP1180.B55 | Biodegradable plastics |
Subject journals:
Biomedical Engineering 2000- (MST online only)
Biotechnology and Bioengineering (QH345.B48 1962-
Biotechnology Progress (620.8.B524p 1985-
Journal of biomedical engineering 1977- (MST online 2000)
Biotechnology and Bioengineering QH345.B48 (also online 1997-2000)
Annual Review of Biomedical Engineering 1999- (MST online only)
Reference Books:
Career Development in Bioengineering & Biotechnology ed. by Guruprasd Madhaven (2008) On References Reserves in CIRC: 3 day loan
The Electrical engineering handbook: sensors, nanoscience, biomedical engineering, and instruments ed. by R. Dorf (R857.E44 2006)
Encyclopedia handbook of biomaterials & bioengineering (Ref R856,A3.E52 1995)
Is there a biomedical engineer inside you? By Celeste Baine ReferenceCareer (R856.25.B356 2004))
The Oxford Companion to the History of Modern Science (R Q125.O86 2003: See
Instruments, Biological” and for Instruments, Electrical Measuring”.)
Wiley Encyclopedia of Electrical and electronics engineering (Ref TK9.E53 1999)
Books:
“Biomedical Investigation” in The Joys of Research ed. by Walter Shropshire)
Biomedical Engineering Handbook (R856.15.B56 1995)
Biomedical Transducers and Instruments by T. Tatsuo Togawa (R856.T64 1997)
Chase, Chance, & Creativity: the lucky art of novelty by James H. Austin (RC339.52.A97 2003)
Meaning in Technology by Arnold Pacey (14.P28 1999)
New Medical Devices: invention, development, & use (also online from www.nap.edu)
Small Things Considered: there is no perfect design by Henry Petroski TA174.P4738
Success Through Failure: the paradox of design by Henry Petroski TA174.P4739 2006
Biology is technology by Robert H. Carlson TP248.2.C37 2010
Web sites
Bioengineering Institute of California
Back to Main Subject Guides Page
Back to Library Home Page
If you have any suggestions and/or questions, please contact me at jociusc@mst.edu.
This page was created by Chris Jocius. Last updated in December 2011.