Curtis Laws Wilson Library
400 W. 14th Street
Rolla, MO 65409-0060
Main office: 573-341-4227
Circulation: 573-341-4008
Interlibrary Loan: 573-341-4006
Reference: 573-341-4007
Fax: 573-341-4233
Email: library@mst.edu
For assistance, please contact Sherry Mahnken at mahnkens@mst.edu
| Databases | Electronic Journals | Print Resources | Web Resources |
Use these databases to find journal articles and other materials related to business and economics.
ABI/Inform provides access to information in 1000 business journals worldwide. Information covered includes economics, finance, and taxation. Full-text articles are included. Coverage begins in 1987.
Business Source Premier provides country economic data, company profiles, industry information, market research, and business-related periodical articles. Some full-text articles are available.
EconLit provides citations for economics literature worldwide, including books, journal articles, and working papers. Full-text articles are not included. Coverage is from 1969 to the present.
JSTOR provides access to the full images (including photos, tables, and graphs) of articles from back issues of a variety of scholarly journals, including economics journals. Coverage extends back to the 19th century for some journals. Recent years' issues are generally not accessible in this database.
LexisNexis Academic has a business section that offers full text access to up-to-date information on business news. It also includes industry information and financial data about companies.
LexisNexis Statistical provides statistical data on many different topics, including business. It also indexes and abstracts
Mergent Online provides extensive information on 15,000 public companies in the United States and 20,000 international companies. Information on companies includes financials, stock, subsidiaries, S.E.C. filings, debt, etc.; worldwide industry reports are also available in the databse. Fifteeen years of company financial information is provided.
ReferenceUSA provides information on businesses that is useful for researchers and job seekers. It consists of the US businesses database, which contains information on 14 million businesses, and the Corp Tech database, a directory of 95,000 high-tech companies. Each database allows users to perform custom searches based on criteria such as business/industry type, geographic area, and business size.
Library Subscription Journals
American Economic Review
Available online from two sources: 2002 to present, 1911-last three years not online
American Journal of Economics and Sociology
Coverage of last two years only
Coverage from 1968-last three years not online
Coverage from 1981 to the present
Coverage from 1994 to the present
Coverage from 1982 to the present
Covers from 1933 on; the latest three years not available online
Coverage from 1999 to the present
Economic Journal
Available online from two sources: last two years only, 1891-last five years not online
Coverage of last two years
Only the most recent 12 months only available online
Only the most recent 12 months available online
Only the most recent 12 months available online
Journal of Business
Available online from two sources: 1997 to present, 1952-2001
>Journal of Economic Education
Coverage from 1998 to the present
Journal of Economic Literature
Available online from two sources: 2002 to present, 1969-last three years not online
Journal of Economic Perspectives
Available online from two sources: 2002 to present, 1987-last three years not online
Only the most recent 12 months available online
Journal of Finance
Available online from two sources: 2004 to present, 1946-last three years not online
Journal of Financial and Quantitative Analysis
Coverage from 1966 on, but the last four years not available online
Journal of Financial Economics
Only the most recent 12 months available online
Journal of Industrial Economics
Available online from two sources: last two years, 1952-latest five years not online
Coverage from 1997 to the present
Journal of Money, Credit, and Banking
Available online from two sources: 2002 to present, 1969-latest five years not online
Journal of Political Economy
Available online from two sources: 1997 to present, 1892-2000
Journal of Regulatory Economics
Available online from 1997 to 1998
Coverage from 2001 to the present
Coverage from 2001 to the present
Coverage from 2000 to the present
Quarterly Journal of Economics
Available online from two sources: 1997-2001, 1886-last five years not online
Quarterly Review of Economics and Finance
Only the most recent 12 months available online
Review of Economic Studies
Available online from two sources: 2005-, 1933-last three years not online
Review of Economics and Statistics
Available online from two sources: 1997-2003, 1948-last five years not online
Only the most recent 12 months available online
Coverage from 1988 on; last three years not available online
Coverage from 2000 to the present
Free Journals
Academy of Marketing Science Review
A refereed journal of marketing and consumer behavior
A professional journal for disseminating the results of economic and development research carried out by staff and resource persons of the Asian Development Bank
Australian Journal of Management
Publishes research in areas related to management, as well as marketing, corporate strategy, and operations management
A journal of applied topics in business and economics
Disseminates refereed notes, comments, and preliminary results from research economists
Electronic Journal of Business Ethics and Organization Studies
Covers topics related to business and organization ethics
Staff research papers from the International Monetary Funds
Journal of Empirical Generalizations in Marketing Science
A refereed journal covering research in marketing, consumer behavior, and strategy
A refereed journal that provides a forum for disseminating ideas and information relating to the theory and practice of marketing and marketing research
Online magazine with articles on issues related to quality management, as well as a searchable database of ISO 9000 and QS-9000 registered companies and a quality resources page with links to quality-related sites
Refereed journal that publishes papers on the economics of network industries
Dictionaries/Encyclopedias
Blackwell Encyclopedia of Managment
Reference HD30.15 .B455 2005Individual volumes of the encyclopedia cover topics such as accounting, marketing, managerial economics, finance, etc.
Encyclopedia of American Industries
Reference HC102 .E53 2005An encyclopedia providing descriptive essays on a wide range of broadly-defined manufacturing and service industries
Encyclopedia of Management
Reference HD30.15 .E49 2000Brief essays on managment topics
International Encyclopedia of Business and Management
Reference HF1001 .I53 1996Essays describing the main topics that make up the field of business management
The MIT Dictionary of Modern Economics
Reference HB61 .M49 1986Definitions for key terms and important individuals in economics
New Palgrave: A Dictionary of Economics
Reference HB61 .N49 1987Definitions of concepts in economics
New Palgrave Dictionary of Money and Finance
Reference HG151 .N48 1992Contains essays providing explanations of topics in monetary and financial economics
Handbooks
Handbook of United States Economic and Financial Indicators
Reference HC106.8 .O47 2000Provides information on the makeup, purposes, use and availability of economic indicators used for measuring the economy of the United States
Mergent's Handbook of Common Stocks
Reference HG4905 .M815Provides financial information on 900 stocks of high investor interest including market data, performance ratios, stock prices, and dividend information of recent quarterly results as well as future prospects in succinct one-page profiles
Directories
D&B Principal International Businesses
Reference HF54.U5 P74 2005/06Directory that provides key information on thousands of companies outside of the U.S in a variety of industries
LexisNexis Corporate Affiliations
Reference HG4057 .A219 2002Directory detailing the relationships between parent companies and their subsidiaries and divisions
Missouri Business Directory
Reference HF5065.M8 M57 2006/07Directory showing businesses within the state of Missouri
Sorkins' Directory of Business & Government (Kansas City ed.)
Reference HF5068.K2 S65 KCDirectory with profiles of business and government organizations in counties in Missouri and Kansas.
Sorkins' Directory of Business & Government (St. Louis ed.)
Reference HF5068.S2 S65 STLDirectory with profiles of business and government organizations in counties in Missouri and Illinois.
Standard and Poor's Register
Reference HG4057 .A4Directory with profiles of over 75,000 corporations and names and titles of executives
Ward's Business Directory of US Private and Public Companies
Reference HG4057 .A575 48th 2005Directory that lists more than 114,500 companies, 90% of which are private. In addition to listing the companies alphabetically, several volumes rank companies by sales nationally within SIC and NAICS codes. State rankings by sales within SIC codes are also available.
Government Publications
Economic Indicators
HC101 .A186Provides information on prices, wages, production, business activity, purchasing power, credit, money, and federal finance. Also available online
Economic Report of the President
HC106.5 .A272, Latest at ReferenceAnnual review of the U.S. economy, providing statistics on GNP, CPI, employment, and production. Also available online
Federal Reserve Bulletin
HG2401 .A5Contains articles on current economic matters as well as financial and business statistics. Also available online
Monthly Labor Review
HD8051 .A78Contains studies and articles on trends and developments in all fields that affect working conditions, wages, or hours. Also available online
Survey of Current Business
HC101 .A13Provides analytical findings of the Office of Business Economics as well as statistics originating from both private and public sources. Also available online
Ratios
Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios
Reference HF5681.R25 A45 2001Includes performance indicators for 50 factors in 179 fields of business
Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios, One Year
Reference HF5681.R25 I525Provides "typical" balance sheets and income statements and "common-size" financial figures for over 800 different lines of business; includes fourteen key business indicators of performance
Statistics
Business Statistics of the United States
Reference HC101 .A13122Statistics on production, sales, profits, etc. for U.S. industries
International Historical Statistics, Africa, Asia, Oceania 1750-1988
Reference HA4675 .M55 1995Presents statistics on the labor force, industry, trade, and finance for countries in the region
International Historical Statistics, Europe 1750-1988
Reference HA1107 .M5 1992Presents statistics on the labor force, industry, trade, and finance for countries in the region
International Historical Statistics, The Americas 1750-1988
Reference HA175 .M52 1993Presents statistics on the labor force, industry, trade, and finance for countries in the region
International Yearbook of Industrial Statistics
Reference HC10 .I68 2006Provides worldwide statistics on current performance and trends in the manufacturing sector that can be used to analyze patterns of growth and related long-term trends, structural change, and industrial performance in individual industries
Statistical Abstract for Missouri
HA476 .S75 2001, Latest at Reference DeskProvides data on population and vital statistics; income, employment, and prices; transportation; business, finance, and construction; agriculture and natural resources; and energy
Statistical Abstract of the United States
HA202 .U55, Latest at Reference DeskCollection of statistics on population, economy, industry, and environment. Also available online
Gateways
A searchable collection of web sites covering business, management, and economics
Site with 1,000 links to socioeconomic data sources; includes a focus on finding regional economic data
Infomine: Business and Economics
A searchable collection of business and economics web sites
RFE: Resources for Economists on the Internet
Site with 1,357 resources available on the Internet that are of interest to academic and practicing economists
Site designed to supplement the textbook Fundamentals of Financial Management that also serves as a gateway to a variety of web sites related to finance
Searchable collection of links to free information in economics on the Web
Working Papers
Provides access to working papers in business and economics (some available in full text) produced at major European business schools
Site for the distribution of working papers in economics; affiliated with RePEc (Research Papers in Economics)
Database (from RePEc) for the free dissemination of research in economics; many materials included are available in full text
Links to Working Papers in Business
Site from Washington University's School of Business with links to sites with information about working papers, some of which have the full text of the papers available
Financial Data
IRIN: Annual Report Resource Center
Provides links to current electronic annual reports for more than 3,500 companies; annual reports from preceding years are also available for many companies
Includes links to company web pages for over 2,200 annual reports, covering the majority of the fortune 500 companies
Provides information such as current stock quotes and financial overviews; registration is required but free
Access to corporate annual reports filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission Statistics
Statistics
Site sponsored by the American Statistical Association that contains links to economic and financial data sources
"Comprehensive site of free, easily available economic time series data useful for economic research . . . with more than 100,000 time series"
Directories
Online directory that provides information about companies and their products and services
Organizations
Contains information about the IMF and international monetary cooperation; provides access to IMF research and statistics, as well as IMF publications
National Bureau of Economic Research
A research organization whose purpose is "promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works." Publications summarizing their research are freely available online. The site also provides access to a database containing abstracts of NBER working papers (the papers themselves may be purchased for a minimal fee) as well as links to datasets created by researchers.
A think tank with the mission of doing research to promote a prosperous economy while focusing on the interests of low- and middle-income workers
Federal Reserve Economic Research & Data
Provides a searchable index to Federal Reserve economic research (Fed in Print) as well as links to statistical data (including FRED II)
Provides information about the World Bank and economic development in low-income countries
Government Sites
Provides access to publications and economic data from the BEA, which provides GDP and other economic statistics data; includes both national and state data, as well as data on international trade
Site for the government agency that provides statistical information related to labor economics
Site with reports providing measures of industrial activity for the production and shipments of selected products that can be used for market analysis, forecasting, and decision-making
Economic Statistics Briefing Room
Provides easy access to current federal economic indicators from the White House
Contains a variety of useful information on starting, financing, and managing a small business for students of entrepreneurship
Also see Government Information Sources for more links to state, national, and international government sites
Go to the Subject Guides page
Go to Curtis Laws Wilson Library
Go to the Missouri S&T Business Administration Department
Go to the Missouri S&T Economics Department
Last Updated 08/24/2007