Curtis Laws Wilson Library
400 W. 14th Street
Rolla, MO 65409-0060
Main office: 573-341-4227
Circulation: 573-341-4008
Interlibrary Loan: 573-341-4006
Reference: 573-341-4007
Fax: 573-341-4233
Email: library@mst.edu
For assistance, please contact Sherry Mahnken at mahnkens@mst.edu
| Databases | Electronic Journals | Print Resources | Web Resources |
Use these databases to find journal articles and other materials on literature and related topics.
America: History & Life covers the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. It includes citations with abstracts for books, dissertations, and articles from 1964 to the present. It does not include full-text articles, although it does link to some sources of full text.
Dictionary of National Biography
The Dictionary of National Biography includes 55,000 biographies of people who played a significant role in the history of the British Isles. In addition to biographical information from primary and secondary sources, entries are accompanied by bibliographies and are often illustrated with portraits.
Historical Abstracts covers world history from 1450 to the present, excluding material on the United States and Canada. Citations and abstracts for books, dissertations, and articles from over 2,000 journals are included in the database. Coverage begins in 1954. It does not include full-text articles, although it does link to some full-text sources.
JSTOR provides access to the full images (including photos, tables, and graphs) of articles from back issues of a variety of scholarly journals, including history journals. Coverage extends back to the 19th century for some journals. Recent years' issues are generally not accessible in this database.
NewspaperARCHIVE.com contains a collection of newspapers from the United States (excluding Missouri papers) and from a few other countries, including the United Kingdom and Canada. Library users can view, save, and print PDF images from newspapers dating from 1759 to 1977. Access to the database is restricted to recognized Missouri S&T IP addresses.
This database allows researchers to search the full text of the New York Times and offers both page and article images back to the very first issue. The contents include news articles, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, historical photos, stock photos, and advertisements.
19th Century Masterfile is an index to articles in British and American scholarly journals. The core of the database is Poole's Plus, which covers periodical literature from 1802 to 1906. The Masterfile provides only citations, not the full text of articles.
Project Muse provides access to the full text of articles from almost 200 journals, many of them in the humanities. Coverage begins in 1993.
This database provides access to the full text of reports, documents, and journals of both the Senate and the House of Representatives. It currently covers Congressional activities from 1817 to 1945.
Library Subscription Journals
American Historical Review
American Studies International
Available online from 1999 to 2004
Available online from 1999 to the present
Comparative Studies in Society and History
Available online from 1958-last five years not online
Available online from 1927-last five years not online
Available online from 1999-2004
Available online from 2002 to the present
Journal of American History
Available online from two sources: 1999-, 1964-last five years not online
Available online from 2002 to the present
Available online from 1941-last 5 years not online
Journal of Military History
Available online from two sources: 2003-, 1989-last 3 years not online
Available online from 1935-last 5 years not available
Journal of the History of Ideas
Available online from two sources: 1996-, 1940-last three years not online
Available online from 2001 to the present
Reviews in American History
Available online from 1941-last five years not available online
Science, Technology, & Human Values
Available online from 1999 to the present
Social Science Computer Review
Available online from 1999 to 2001
William and Mary Quarterly
Available online from two sources: 2001-, 1944-last five years not online
Free Journals
Bulletin of the German Historical Institute
Publishes articles on topics in German and American history
An online publication for exploring and exchanging ideas about American history and culture before 1900
Interdisciplinary journal that publishes articles exploring human interactions with the natural world over time; disciplines covered include history, geography, anthropology, the natural sciences, and others
A journal in the United States devoted to the teaching of history in the secondary and higher education classroom, featuring professional analyses of traditional and innovative teaching techniques
A journal with peer-reviewed historical articles, reviews, and critical essays on the history of Indiana and the Midwest
International Journal of Naval History
A refereed journal of naval history
Journal of the Gilded Age and Progressive Era
A peer-reviewed journal that publishes original essays and reviews scholarly books on all aspects of U.S. history for the time period from 1865 through the 1920s
Provides refereed, scholarly articles in the field of labor history, focusing mainly on the Australasian region
The official publication of the Canadian Committee on Labour History, with articles in the fields of working-class history, industrial sociology, labor economics, and labor relations, primarily focusing on Canadian workers
America's leading legal history journal, encompassing American, English, European, and ancient legal history
A journal of African American religious history, presenting peer-reviewed articles that "explore the religious cultures of people of African descent in the United States"
A peer-reviewed journal from the Oregon Historical Society, an independent, nonprofit organization. OHQ brings well-researched, well-written history about Oregon and the Pacific Northwest to both scholars and a general audience
Publishes reviews of books on historical subjects, sometimes accompanied by the author's response to the review; published by the Insitute of Historical Research at the University of London
Handbooks/Guides
Sources Of Information for Historical Research
Reference D20 .S63Describes major reference works in the field of history arranged by geography, form, and subject
American Historical Association's Guide to Historical Literature
Reference D20 .A55 1995Contains almost 27,000 annotated citations for works selected by historians as the best and most useful works in their fields, from prehistory to the twentieth century
Encyclopedias/Almanacs/Chronologies
Almanac of American History
Reference E174.5 .A45 1983Divides American history into periods, from the pre-Revolutionary War to post-World War II eras
Dictionary of American History
Reference E174 .A43 2002Provides descriptions of concepts from U.S. history
Encyclopedia of American Facts and Dates
Reference E174.5 .C3 1997Discusses events from different periods in American history
The Timetables of History: A Historical Linkage of People and Events
Reference D11 .G78 1991Presents names and events in parallel columns organized by subject: history/politics; literature/theater; religion /philosophy/learning; visual arts; music; scienct/technology
Atlases
Times Atlas of World History
Reference G1030 .T54 1989Includes maps covering the following subjects: the world of early man, the first civilizations, the classical civilizations of Eurasia, the world of divided regions, the world of the emerging West, the age of European dominance, and the age of global civilization
Historical Atlas of the United States
Reference G1201.S1 N3 1988Maps illustrating U.S. history arranged thematically and chronologically
Historical Atlas of Missouri
Reference G1436.S1 R3 1981Presents maps covering specific aspects of the history and geography of Missouri
Statistics
International Historical Statistics, Africa, Asia, Oceania 1750-1988
Reference HA4675 .M55 1995Presents statistics on population, labor force, agriculture, industry, trade, finance, and education for countries in the region
International Historical Statistics, Europe 1750-1988
Reference HA1107 .M5 1992Presents statistics on population, labor force, agriculture, industry, trade, finance, and education for countries in the region
International Historical Statistics, The Americas 1750-1988
Reference HA175 .M52 1993Presents statistics on population, labor force, agriculture, industry, trade, finance, and education for countries in the region
Statistical Abstract of the United States
HA202 .U55, Latest at Reference DeskCollection of statistics on population, economy, industry, and environment; the library has copies back to 1905. Also available online
Historical Statistics of the United States, Colonial Times to 1970
Reference HA202 .A385 1976Collection of historical statistics on the population and economy of the United States. Similar information online at the Historical Census Browser site
Gateways
Academic Info: History Gateway
Directory of Internet resources in history selected for students and researchers
Portal of history sites rated for usefulness and accuracy for students and educators
A nonprofit humanities resource linking to online history journals, as well as a variety of web sites of interest to historians and the full text of the papers of Booker T. Washington
Site with the goal of providing high-quality information resources for the teaching and learning of history
Site listing history resources that have been selected, evaluated, and described by subject specialists for students and researchers in higher education. Intute also has a history of science page.
World Wide Web Virtual Library: History
Contains a large number of links to historical sources on a wide variety of topics
Primary Documents
AMDOCS: Documents for the Study of American History
Collection of documents from U.S. history organized chronologically
"A gateway to rich primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States . . . offers more than 7 million digital items from more than 100 historical collections"
Yale project providing access to digital copies of a wide variety of primary documents in the areas of law, history, and diplomacy.
This site allows users to search and read newspaper articles from 1900 to 1910 from the following states: California, District of Columbia, Florida, Kentucky, New York, Utah, and Virginia. It also provides information about newspapers published in the United States between 1690 and the present. Chronicling America is part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP), which plans to create a national digital resource of historically significant newspapers published between 1836 and 1922 in all states and U.S. territories.
Documenting the American South
A collection of sources on Southern history, literature, and culture from the colonial period through the first decades of the 20th century
Online version of a print anthology that includes documents relating to issues addressed by the US Constitution; documents range in age from the early seventeenth century to the 1830s and include writings of philosophers, popular pamphlets, debates in ratifying conventions, and private correspondence
Internet History Sourcebooks Project
Extensive collections of public domain historical texts in ancient, medieval, and modern history
A database that allows keyword searching of oral history materials that are freely available on the Web; eventually it should also include pointers to other first person content, like letters and diaries
A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction that contains approximately 8,500 books and 50,000 journal articles from the 19th century
A guide to the best online primary source archives in world history, with historians describing the materials available and their strengths and weaknesses
Missouri Digital Collections
University of Missouri Digital Library
Digital library of materials from the University of Missouri system
Digital collections and exhibits created by Missouri institutions
Statistical Data
Historical census data describing the population and economy of U.S. states and counties from 1790 to 1960; includes mapping capabilities
Go to the Subject Guides page
Go to Curtis Laws Wilson Library
Go to the History and Political Science Department
Last Updated 09/14/2007