Curtis Laws Wilson Library
400 W. 14th Street
Rolla, MO 65409-0060

8 AM - Midnight
7 Days a Week
Closed Campus Holidays

Main office: 573-341-4227
Circulation: 573-341-4008
Interlibrary Loan: 573-341-4006
Reference: 573-341-4007
Fax: 573-341-4233
Email: library@mst.edu

Business and Economics Resources

For assistance, please contact Sherry Mahnken at mahnkens@mst.edu

 

Databases Electronic Journals Print Resources Web Resources

 

Library Databases

Use these databases to find journal articles and other materials related to business and economics.

ABI/Inform

ABI/Inform provides access to information in 1000 business journals worldwide. Information covered includes economics, finance, and taxation. Full-text articles are included. Coverage begins in 1987.

Business Insights: Essentials

Business Insights: Essentials is a fully integrated resource bringing together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information.

Business Source Premier

As the world's largest full text business database, Business Source Premier provides full text for nearly 8,350 scholarly business journals and other sources, including full text for more than 1,100 scholarly business publications. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. This database provides full text (PDF) for more than 350 of the top scholarly journals dating as far back as 1922. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.

EconLit

EconLit provides citations for economics literature worldwide, including books, journal articles, and working papers. Full-text articles are not included. Coverage is from 1969 to the present.

Encyclopedia of Finance

This work covers all important aspects of finance, such as Capital asset pricing model, Financial management, Corporate finance, Investment analysis, Option pricing model, Efficient market hypothesis, and Modigliani and Miller Proposition.

JSTOR

JSTOR provides access to the full images (including photos, tables, and graphs) of articles from back issues of a variety of scholarly journals, including economics journals. Coverage extends back to the 19th century for some journals. Recent years' issues are generally not accessible in this database.

LexisNexis Academic

LexisNexis Academic has a business section that offers full text access to up-to-date information on business news. It also includes industry information and financial data about companies.

LexisNexis Statistical

LexisNexis Statistical provides statistical data on many different topics, including business.

Mergent Online

Mergent Online provides extensive information on 15,000 public companies in the United States and 20,000 international companies. Information on companies includes financials, stock, subsidiaries, S.E.C. filings, debt, etc.; worldwide industry reports are also available in the databse. Fifteeen years of company financial information is provided.

Safari Books Online

Safari Books Online offers electronic books about programming, IT, and business. It features over 5,000 books from a variety of top technology publishers.

Scopus

Scopus provides multidisciplinary indexing of literature in the sciences and social sciences. It is Elsevier's counterpart to ISI's Web of Science, providing the same core functionality but indexing a wider variety of journals and proceedings.

 

Electronic Journals

Free Journals

 

Print Resources

Dictionaries/Encyclopedias

  • Blackwell Encyclopedia of Managment
    Reference HD30.15 .B455 2005

    Individual volumes of the encyclopedia cover topics such as accounting, marketing, managerial economics, finance, etc.

  • Encyclopedia of American Industries
    Reference HC102 .E53 2005

    An encyclopedia providing descriptive essays on a wide range of broadly-defined manufacturing and service industries

  • Encyclopedia of Management
    Reference HD30.15 .E49 2000

    Brief essays on managment topics

  • International Encyclopedia of Business and Management
    Reference HF1001 .I53 1996

    Essays describing the main topics that make up the field of business management

  • The MIT Dictionary of Modern Economics
    Reference HB61 .M49 1986

    Definitions for key terms and important individuals in economics

  • New Palgrave: A Dictionary of Economics
    Reference HB61 .N49 1987

    Definitions of concepts in economics

  • New Palgrave Dictionary of Money and Finance
    Reference HG151 .N48 1992

    Contains essays providing explanations of topics in monetary and financial economics

Handbooks

  • Handbook of United States Economic and Financial Indicators
    Reference HC106.8 .O47 2000

    Provides information on the makeup, purposes, use and availability of economic indicators used for measuring the economy of the United States

  • Mergent's Handbook of Common Stocks
    Reference HG4905 .M815

    Provides financial information on 900 stocks of high investor interest including market data, performance ratios, stock prices, and dividend information of recent quarterly results as well as future prospects in succinct one-page profiles

Directories

  • D&B Principal International Businesses
    Reference HF54.U5 P74 2005/06

    Directory that provides key information on thousands of companies outside of the U.S in a variety of industries

  • LexisNexis Corporate Affiliations
    Reference HG4057 .A219 

    Directory detailing the relationships between parent companies and their subsidiaries and divisions

  • Missouri Business Directory
    Reference HF5065.M8 M57 2006/07

    Directory showing businesses within the state of Missouri

  • Sorkins' Directory of Business & Government (Kansas City ed.)
    Reference HF5068.K2 S65 KC

    Directory with profiles of business and government organizations in counties in Missouri and Kansas.

  • Sorkins' Directory of Business & Government (St. Louis ed.)
    Reference HF5068.S2 S65 STL

    Directory with profiles of business and government organizations in counties in Missouri and Illinois.

  • Standard and Poor's Register
    Reference HG4057 .A4

    Directory with profiles of over 75,000 corporations and names and titles of executives

  • Ward's Business Directory of US Private and Public Companies
    Reference HG4057 .A575 48th 2005

    Directory that lists more than 114,500 companies, 90% of which are private. In addition to listing the companies alphabetically, several volumes rank companies by sales nationally within SIC and NAICS codes. State rankings by sales within SIC codes are also available.

Government Publications

  • Economic Indicators
    HC101 .A186

    Provides information on prices, wages, production, business activity, purchasing power, credit, money, and federal finance. Also available online

  • Economic Report of the President
    HC106.5 .A272, Latest at Reference

    Annual review of the U.S. economy, providing statistics on GNP, CPI, employment, and production. Also available online

  • Federal Reserve Bulletin
    HG2401 .A5

    Contains articles on current economic matters as well as financial and business statistics. Also available online

  • Monthly Labor Review
    HD8051 .A78

    Contains studies and articles on trends and developments in all fields that affect working conditions, wages, or hours. Also available online

  • Survey of Current Business
    HC101 .A13

    Provides analytical findings of the Office of Business Economics as well as statistics originating from both private and public sources. Also available online

Ratios

  • Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios
    Reference HF5681.R25 A45

    Includes performance indicators for 50 factors in 179 fields of business

  • Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios, One Year
    Reference HF5681.R25 I525

    Provides "typical" balance sheets and income statements and "common-size" financial figures for over 800 different lines of business; includes fourteen key business indicators of performance

Statistics

  • Business Statistics of the United States
    Reference HC101 .A13122

    Statistics on production, sales, profits, etc. for U.S. industries

  • International Historical Statistics, Africa, Asia, Oceania 1750-1988
    Reference HA4675 .M55 1995

    Presents statistics on the labor force, industry, trade, and finance for countries in the region

  • International Historical Statistics, Europe 1750-1988
    Reference HA1107 .M5 1992

    Presents statistics on the labor force, industry, trade, and finance for countries in the region

  • International Historical Statistics, The Americas 1750-1988
    Reference HA175 .M52 1993

    Presents statistics on the labor force, industry, trade, and finance for countries in the region

  • International Yearbook of Industrial Statistics
    Reference HC10 .I68 2006

    Provides worldwide statistics on current performance and trends in the manufacturing sector that can be used to analyze patterns of growth and related long-term trends, structural change, and industrial performance in individual industries

  • Market Share Reporter
    Reference HF5410 .M35

    Provides comparative business statistics on market share, giving an overview of companies, products, and services and citing original sources

  • Statistical Abstract of the United States
    HA202 .U55, Latest at Reference Desk

    Collection of statistics on population, economy, industry, and environment. Also available online

 

Web Resources

Gateways

  • Biz/ed

    A searchable collection of web sites covering business, management, and economics

  • EconData.Net

    Site with 1,000 links to socioeconomic data sources; includes a focus on finding regional economic data

  • Infomine: Business and Economics

    A searchable collection of business and economics web sites

  • RFE: Resources for Economists on the Internet

    Site with 1,357 resources available on the Internet that are of interest to academic and practicing economists

  • Wachowicz's Web World

    Site designed to supplement the textbook Fundamentals of Financial Management that also serves as a gateway to a variety of web sites related to finance

  • WebEc

    Searchable collection of links to free information in economics on the Web

Working Papers and Other Research

  • EBSLG Working Papers

    Provides access to working papers in business and economics (some available in full text) produced at major European business schools

  • Harvard Business School Working Knowledge

    Site with essays and working papers written by faculty in the business school at Harvard University

  • IDEAS

    Database (from RePEc) for the free dissemination of research in economics; many materials included are available in full text

  • Knowledge@Wharton

    Provides essays by the business faculty at the University of Pennsylvania’s Wharton School of Business; requires free registration to access older materials

Financial Data

  • Reuters Investor

    Provides information such as current stock quotes and financial overviews; registration is required but free

  • SEC Edgar Database

    Access to corporate annual reports filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission 

  • Yahoo! Finance

    Contains financial information about companies, including historical stock prices and other investing information.

Statistics

Directories

  • Thomas Register

    Online directory that provides information about companies and their products and services

Organizations

  • International Monetary Fund

    Contains information about the IMF and international monetary cooperation; provides access to IMF publications, research, and statistics, including the World Economic Outlook databases

  • National Bureau of Economic Research

    A research organization whose purpose is "promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works." Publications summarizing their research are freely available online. The site also provides access to a database containing abstracts of NBER working papers (the papers themselves may be purchased for a minimal fee) as well as links to datasets created by researchers.

  • Federal Reserve Economic Research & Data

    Provides a searchable index to Federal Reserve economic research (Fed in Print) as well as links to statistical data (including FRED II)

  • World Bank Group

    Provides information about the World Bank and economic development in developing countries; site includes access to world development indicators

Government Sites

  • Bureau of Economic Analysis

    Provides access to publications and economic data from the BEA, which provides GDP and other economic statistics data; includes both national and state data, as well as data on international trade

  • Bureau of Labor Statistics

    Site for the government agency that provides statistical information related to labor economics

  • Current Industrial Reports

    Site with reports providing measures of industrial activity for the production and shipments of selected products that can be used for market analysis, forecasting, and decision-making

  • Small Business Administration

    Contains a variety of useful information on starting, financing, and managing a small business for students of entrepreneurship; also see Business.gov a partnership between the SBA and other government agencies to provide information about legal requirements and government services for small businesses

  • U.S. Census Bureau: Business and Industry

    Provides links to Economic Census data, economic indicators, and other economic reports

        Also see Government Documents for more links to state, national, and international government sites

Special Topics

  • Entrepreneur

    A guide to information technology resources, with technical white papers, webcasts, and product information; requires free registration

  • Entrepreneur

    Affiliated with Entrepreneur magazine, this site provides how-to guides and other information related to entrepreneurial topics

  • globalEDGE

    A portal for information relating to international business, including reports and statistics for countries, states, and industries

  • Quirk's Market Research Review

    An archive of more than 2,500 articles, case studies, and white papers related to market research; free registration is required to view recent material

  • TechWeb Digital Library

    Provides white papers, case studies, and other resources on IST topics; registration is required


Go to the Subject Guides page

Go to Curtis Laws Wilson Library

Go to the Missouri S&T Business and Information Technology Department

Go to the Missouri S&T Economics Department

Last Updated 7/21/2010