Curtis Laws Wilson Library
400 W. 14th Street
Rolla, MO 65409-0060
8 AM - Midnight
7 Days a Week
Closed Campus Holidays
Main office: 573-341-4227
Circulation: 573-341-4008
Interlibrary Loan: 573-341-4006
Reference: 573-341-4007
Fax: 573-341-4233
Email: library@mst.edu
For assistance, please contact Sherry Mahnken at mahnkens@mst.edu
| Databases | Electronic Journals | Print Resources | Web Resources |
Use these databases to find journal articles and other materials on engineering management and related topics.
ABI/Inform provides access to information in 1000 business journals worldwide. Information covered includes economics, finance, and taxation. Full-text articles are included. Coverage begins in 1987.
Applied Science and Technology
Applied Science and Technology covers literature discussing the practical applications of science and engineering. It also provides information on careers and employment in scientific and technological fields. Some full-text articles are available. Coverage begins in 1983.
Business and Company Resource Center
Business and Company Resource Center is a fully integrated resource bringing together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information.
As the world's largest full text business database, Business Source Premier provides full text for nearly 8,350 scholarly business journals and other sources, including full text for more than 1,100 scholarly business publications. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. This database provides full text (PDF) for more than 350 of the top scholarly journals dating as far back as 1922. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.
This resource includes citations with abstracts for engineering and technical literature worldwide. It covers all fields of engineering, as well as related topics in management and the sciences. Coverage is 1884 to present.
Encyclopedia of Operations Research and Management Science
Wiley Encyclopedia of Operations Research and Management Science is a multi-volume reference devoted to operations research and management science theory, methodology, and applications. The encyclopedia includes over 600 articles featuring four types of articles: introductory, advanced, technical, and case studies. Wiley EORMS includes topic areas such as decision and risk analysis, stochastic models, and optimization models, techniques and algorithms.
IEEE Xplore provides full text access to its transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings as well as current IEEE standards. Coverage begins in 1988.
LexisNexis Academic has a business section that offers full text access to up-to-date information on business news. It also includes industry information and financial data about companies.
Mergent Online provides extensive information on 15,000 public companies in the United States and 20,000 international companies. Information on companies includes financials, stock, subsidiaries, S.E.C. filings, debt, etc.; worldwide industry reports are also available in the databse. Fifteeen years of company financial information is provided.
Scopus provides multidisciplinary indexing of the science and engineering literature. It is Elsevier's counterpart to ISI's Web of Science, providing the same core functionality but indexing a wider variety of journals and proceedings.
The Technology Research Database is a comprehensive database covering many different areas of research relating to technology, engineering, and materials. The subfiles that make up this very large (over 7 million records) database can also be searched independently.
Free Journals
Australian Journal of Management
Publishes research in areas related to management, as well as marketing, corporate strategy, and operations management
A journal of applied topics in business and economics
Electronic Journal of Business Ethics and Organization Studies
Covers topics related to business and organization ethics
Magazine from the UK covering the latest news, new products, and events for the engineering technology sector
Journal of Industrial Technology
A peer-reviewed electronic publication of the National Association of Industrial Technology publishing articles of interest to industrial technology students and professionals
Online magazine with articles on issues related to quality management, as well as a searchable database of ISO 9000 and QS-9000 registered companies and a quality resources page with links to quality-related sites
A monthly publication for manufacturing professionals with articles on quality assurance and process improvement
Dictionaries/Encyclopedias
Blackwell Encyclopedia of Managment
Reference HD30.15 .B455 2005Individual volumes of the encyclopedia cover topics such as accounting, marketing, managerial economics, finance, etc.
Encyclopedia of American Industries
Reference HC102 .E53 2005An encyclopedia providing descriptive essays on a wide range of broadly-defined manufacturing and service industries
Encyclopedia of Industrial and Organizational Psychology
Reference HF5548.8 .E498 2007A thorough overview of the cross-disciplinary field of industrial and organizational psychology
Encyclopedia of Operations Research and Management Science
Reference T57.6 .E53 2001A resource for information on operations research topics
Encyclopedia of Production and Manufacturing Management
Reference TS9 .E53 2000A specialized reference resource for the field of production and manufacturing management
International Encyclopedia of Business and Management
Reference HF1001 .I53 1996Essays describing the main topics that make up the field of business management
Handbooks
Engineering Design Reliability Handbook
Reference TA174 .E544 2005Handbook covering recent advances in various fields of reliability design, including modeling of uncertainty, reliability assessment of both static and dynamic components and systems, design decision making in the face of uncertainty, and reliability validation
Handbook of Design, Manufacturing and Automation
Reference TS183 .H359 1994Handbook designed to provide answers to problems concerning the design, operations, and management of products and manufacturing systems; topics covered include engineering design, manufacturing processes and systems, and quality engineering
ISO 9000 Quality Systems Handbook
Reference TS156 .H692 2006Guide to working with ISO 9000, offering a line-by-line interpretation of ISO 9000 requirements pertaining to management responsibility, design control, purchasing, document data and control, process control, inspection and test equipment, and training
Juran's Quality Handbook
Reference TS156.Q3618 1999A reference resource for information related to quality management
Manufacturing Engineering Handbook
Reference TS176 .M3615 2004A handbook that provides information on manufacturing processes and operations management
Maynard's Industrial Engineering Handbook
Reference T56 .M39 2001Handbook that provides a working guide to the principles, methods, materials, and systems of industrial engineering, with a focus on practical applications of new methods and technologies
Plant Engineers Handbook
Reference TS184 .P58 2001Handbook covering all areas of plant engineering, including topics such as materials handling, maintenance, corrosion, environmental considerations, insurance matters, and energy conservation
RFID Handbook
Reference TS160 .F5513 2003Contains information on RFID technologies of interest to automation, industrial and transport engineers and materials handling specialists
Tool and Manufacturing Engineers Handbook
Reference TS176 .T63 1983A multi-volume reference work for use by manufacturing engineers and managers; topics covered include quality control, manufacturing management, design, and continuous improvement
Directories
LexisNexis Corporate Affiliations
Reference HG4057 .A219 2002Directory detailing the relationships between parent companies and their subsidiaries and divisions
Standard and Poor's Register
Reference HG4057 .A4Directory with profiles of over 75,000 corporations and names and titles of executives
Ward's Business Directory of US Private and Public Companies
Reference HG4057 .A575 48th 2005Directory that lists more than 114,500 companies, 90% of which are private. In addition to listing the companies alphabetically, several volumes rank companies by sales nationally within SIC and NAICS codes. State rankings by sales within SIC codes are also available.
Careers
Engineer's Career Guide
On Reference Reserve--ask at the Circulation DeskA career resource guide for engineers that provides career-planning strategies and advice
Gateways
A searchable collection of web sites covering business, management, and economics
A searchable collection of "academically valuable" Internet sites, including sites in business and engineering
A searchable collection of web resources in various fields, including engineering and management
Searches a variety of websites for journal articles, technical reports, and other information related to engineering, mathematics, and computing
Financial Data
Access to corporate annual reports filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission
Other Sites
American Society for Engineering Management
Society whose misson is "to assist its members in developing and improving their skills as practicing managers of engineering and technology and to promote the profession of engineering management"
"The world's leading membership organization devoted to quality"
IEEE Engineering Management Society
Society devoted to "advancing the practice of engineering and technology management as a professional discipline"
IET Management Professional Network
UK site providing information for engineering management professionals focusing on five key aspects of management: knowledge management, project management, quality management, marketing, and legal issues
INFORMS - Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences
"The largest professional society in the world for professionals in the field of operations research (O.R.), management science, and business analytics"
Institute of Industrial Engineers
"The world’s largest professional society dedicated solely to the support of the industrial engineering profession and individuals involved with improving quality and productivity"
Site providing information and services for manufacturing professionals, including a supplier database, industry news and research, and selected content from 23 trade publications
Directory that combines company information with information about products and services, including actual catalogs from many companies
Go to the Subject Guides page
Go to Curtis Laws Wilson Library
Go to the Engineering Management department
Last Updated 08/11/2010