Curtis Laws Wilson Library
400 W. 14th Street
Rolla, MO 65409-0060
8 AM - Midnight
7 Days a Week
Closed Campus Holidays
Main office: 573-341-4227
Circulation: 573-341-4008
Interlibrary Loan: 573-341-4006
Reference: 573-341-4007
Fax: 573-341-4233
Email: library@mst.edu
For assistance, please contact Sherry Mahnken at mahnkens@mst.edu
| Databases | Electronic Journals | Print Resources | Web Resources |
Use these databases to find journal articles and other materials on literature and related topics.
Communication and Mass Media Complete
This database indexes articles in journals related to all aspects of communications, including technical communication. Full text content is available for many journals.
Dictionary of National Biography
The Dictionary of National Biography includes 55,000 biographies of people who played a significant role in the history of the British Isles. In addition to biographical information from primary and secondary sources, entries are accompanied by bibliographies and are often illustrated with portraits.
JSTOR provides access to the full images (including photos, tables, and graphs) of articles from back issues of a variety of scholarly journals, including literature journals. Coverage extends back to the 19th century for some journals. Recent years' issues are generally not accessible in this database.
MLA indexes articles in the modern languages, literatures, linguistics, and folklore. It includes journals, books, dissertations, and collections of essays. Complete coverage begins in 1963, although basic records for earlier articles in journals available in the JSTOR database are also included in MLA.
The Oxford English Dictionary is the most authoritative and comprehensive dictionary of English in the world. The online dictionary provides information on the meaning, usage, and evolution of over 600,000 words.
Project Muse provides access to the full text of articles from almost 200 journals, many of them in the humanities. Coverage begins in 1993.
Free Journals
CLCWeb: Comparative Literature and Culture
A peer-refereed quarterly of scholarship combining comparative literature with cultural studies from Purdue University
A refereed journal examining English literature, literary culture, and language during the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries
Erfurt Electronic Studies in English
A refereed journal publishing articles on English literature and language
Romanticism and Victorianism on the Net
A refereed journal with articles on the literature of nineteenth-century Britain
A free online magazine dedicated to women writers that includes both fiction and scholarly articles
Collections of Critical Essays
American Writers
Reference PS129 .A55A collection of critical and biographical articles that covers hundreds of notable American authors from the 17th century to the present day
British Writers
Reference PR85 .B688A collection of critical essays that covers writers who have made significant contributions to British, Irish, and Commonwealth literature from the 14th century to the present day
Contemporary Authors
Reference PN451 .C59Contains biographical information, lists of works, and lists of sources of biographical and critical information for authors in many different fields, including fiction, non-fiction, poetry, journalism, theater, film, and television
Contemporary Literary Criticism
Reference PN94 .T95Includes brief biographies and reprints of critical essays on the works of living authors or authors who died after 1999
Dictionary of Literary Biography
Reference PN451 .D434Provides lengthy career biographies that cover that cover the development of the authors work and reputation; also includes lists of sources of interviews and critical evaluations
Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800
Reference PN86 .L56Provides brief biographies and reprints of critical essays on the works of writers who died between 1400 and 1799
Nineteenth Century Literary Criticism
Reference PN92 .N5Provides brief biographies and reprints of critical essays on the works of writers who died between 1800 and 1899
Twentieth Century Literary Criticism
Reference PN94 .T85Provides brief biographies and reprints of critical essays on the works of writers who died between 1900 and 1999
Other Resources
Anatomy of Wonder: A Critical Guide to Science Fiction
Reference PN3433.8 .A5 2004Provides a history of the genre; a critical examination of 1,400 works; and a survey of the secondary literature
Dictionary of American Young Adult Fiction, 1997-2001
Reference PS374.Y57 H45 2004A collection of 741 alphabetically arranged title, author, and character entries covering 290 books and 242 authors
Encyclopedia of Gothic Literature
Reference PN3435 .S58 2005An A-to-Z guide to Gothic literature that covers works and writers from Britain, America, and other countries
Greenwood Encyclopedia of Science Fiction and Fantasy
Reference PS374.S35 G74 2005Provides a scholarly discussion of themes and classic works in both sci-fi and fantasy literature
The Harlem Renaissance: A Gale Critical Companion
Reference PS153.N5 H245 2003Discusses social, economic, and political influences; performing arts; periodicals; and visual arts related to the Harlem Renaissance; also includes primary sources
Gateways
Linguistic Resources on the Internet
Site with a well-organized list of sites relating to various topics in linguistics
A collection of links to sites on the Internet dealing especially with English and American literature that are useful to academics
Voice of the Shuttle: Literature
Site with briefly annotated links to online resources for literature in English
Collections
A searchable and browseable electronic archive of volumes of American poetry prior to 1920
Library of Southern Literature
Site containing a wide variety of literary works of the American South published before 1924; also linked from this site is a collection of North American Slave Narratives
A searchable collection of thousands of poems
A collection of literary works that are in the public domain in the United States
A large full text collection of literature (fiction, non-fiction, and poetry) and reference works that fall within the public domain
A site that includes over 3,000 English poems by 500 poets from the Old English period to the work of living poets; based on the book Representative Poetry, published by the University of Toronto Press
Wright American Fiction, 1851-1875
A collection that attempts to include every novel published in the United States between 1851 and 1875, among them works by important writers such as Twain, Hawthorne, and Melville, as well as many forgotten authors
American Literature Resources
Provides biographies of American authors, links to full-text resources, a literary timeline, a guide to American literary movements, and links to American literature sites
PAL: Perspectives in American Literature
A guide to American literature, organized by period and subject
English Literature Resources
Luminarium: Anthology of English Literature
Site containing information about authors and links to online texts for a variety of writers, chiefly medieval, Renaissance, 17th century, and 18th century
Literary Genre Sites
Index to Science Fiction Anthologies and Collections
An index to the contents of 3,900 science fiction anthologies and collections by single authors published prior to 1984
Science Fiction and Fantasy Research Database
A database of materials including "history, criticism, commentary, fan writings and some reviews" (although not book reviews) in the genres of science fiction, fantasy, horror, supernatural, and weird fiction
A "guide to all things concerned with literary Gothicism, which includes ghost stories, "classic" Gothic novels and Gothic fiction (1764-1820), and related pre- and post-Gothic and supernaturalist literature written prior to the mid-C20"
Composition Help
Site that provides information about grammar and writing; a subsection of the site, Principles of Compostion, discusses the writing process and the structure and types of composition
The Nuts and Bolts of College Writing
Site designed for students and others who want (or need) to improve their writing skills; covers the process of writing from the thinking and planning stages to the finished product
The website for Purdue's Writing Lab includes handouts, interactive presentations and workshops, and links to other sites, all providing information on topics relating to improving writing
Grammar and Style Guides
Strunk's classic guide to plain English style, focusing on commonly violated rules of usage; hosted by Project Bartleby
Guide to Citation Style Guides
A collection of links to guides for properly citing Internet resources using the APA, MLA, Chicago, and Turabian styles
Go to the Subject Guides page
Go to Curtis Laws Wilson Library
Go to the English and Technical Communication Department
Last Updated 8/9/2010