Curtis Laws Wilson Library
400 W. 14th Street
Rolla, MO 65409-0060
8 AM - Midnight
7 Days a Week
Closed Campus Holidays
Main office: 573-341-4227
Circulation: 573-341-4008
Interlibrary Loan: 573-341-4006
Reference: 573-341-4007
Fax: 573-341-4233
Email: library@mst.edu
For assistance, please contact Sherry Mahnken at mahnkens@mst.edu
| Databases | Electronic Journals | Print Resources | Web Resources |
Use these databases to find journal articles and other materials on literature and related topics.
America: History & Life covers the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. It includes citations with abstracts for books, dissertations, and articles from 1964 to the present. It does not include full-text articles, although it does link to some sources of full text.
Dictionary of National Biography
The Dictionary of National Biography includes 55,000 biographies of people who played a significant role in the history of the British Isles. In addition to biographical information from primary and secondary sources, entries are accompanied by bibliographies and are often illustrated with portraits.
Historical Abstracts covers world history from 1450 to the present, excluding material on the United States and Canada. Citations and abstracts for books, dissertations, and articles from over 2,000 journals are included in the database. Coverage begins in 1954. It does not include full-text articles, although it does link to some full-text sources.
JSTOR provides access to the full images (including photos, tables, and graphs) of articles from back issues of a variety of scholarly journals, including history journals. Coverage extends back to the 19th century for some journals. Recent years' issues are generally not accessible in this database.
NewspaperARCHIVE.com contains a collection of newspapers from the United States (excluding Missouri papers) and from a few other countries, including the United Kingdom and Canada. Library users can view, save, and print PDF images from newspapers dating from 1759 to 1977. Access to the database is restricted to recognized Missouri S&T IP addresses.
This database allows researchers to search the full text of the New York Times and offers both page and article images back to the very first issue. The contents include news articles, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, historical photos, stock photos, and advertisements.
Project Muse provides access to the full text of articles from almost 200 journals, many of them in the humanities. Coverage begins in 1993.
St. Louis Post-Dispatch (Historical 1874-1922)
The St. Louis Post-Dispatch (1874-1922) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
The Times (London) Archive (1785-1985)
Search the complete digital edition of The Times (London) to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.
This database provides access to the full text of reports, documents, and journals of both the Senate and the House of Representatives. It currently covers Congressional activities from 1817 to 1980. It also provides access to maps from the serial set, as well as the American State Papers, 1789-1838, a collection containing legislative and executive documents.
Free Journals
Bulletin of the German Historical Institute
Publishes articles on topics in German and American history
International Journal of Naval History
A refereed journal of naval history
Publishes reviews of books on historical subjects, sometimes accompanied by the author's response to the review; published by the Insitute of Historical Research at the University of London
Handbooks/Guides
Sources Of Information for Historical Research
Reference D20 .S63Describes major reference works in the field of history arranged by geography, form, and subject
American Historical Association's Guide to Historical Literature
Reference D20 .A55 1995Contains almost 27,000 annotated citations for works selected by historians as the best and most useful works in their fields, from prehistory to the twentieth century
Encyclopedias/Almanacs/Chronologies
Africana: The Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience
Reference DT14 .A37435Provides biographical, political, artistic, economic, historical, and geographical data relating to Africa and the African diaspora
Almanac of American History
Reference E174.5 .A45 1983Divides American history into periods, from the pre-Revolutionary War to post-World War II eras
Chronological History of U.S. Foreign Relations
Reference E183.7 .B745 2003"A reference for scholars, librarians, students, researchers, journalists, and citizens seeking a straightforward explanation of particular events regarding the United States' relations with other nations"
Dictionary of American History
Reference E174 .A43 2002Provides descriptions of concepts from U.S. history
Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History
Reference E185 .E54 2006Encyclopedia that discusses the history and culture of black people in the Americas
Encyclopedia of American Facts and Dates
Reference E174.5 .C3 1997Discusses events from different periods in American history
Encyclopedia of World War II
Reference D740 .E516 2005Encyclopedia that covers "the entire scope of the Second World War from its earliest roots to its continuing impact on global politics and human society"
The Timetables of History: A Historical Linkage of People and Events
Reference D11 .G78 1991Presents names and events in parallel columns organized by subject: history/politics; literature/theater; religion /philosophy/learning; visual arts; music; scienct/technology
Atlases
Times Atlas of World History
Reference G1030 .T54 1989Includes maps covering the following subjects: the world of early man, the first civilizations, the classical civilizations of Eurasia, the world of divided regions, the world of the emerging West, the age of European dominance, and the age of global civilization
Historical Atlas of the United States
Reference G1201.S1 N3 1988Maps illustrating U.S. history arranged thematically and chronologically
Historical Atlas of Missouri
Reference G1436.S1 R3 1981Presents maps covering specific aspects of the history and geography of Missouri
Statistics
International Historical Statistics, Africa, Asia, Oceania 1750-1988
Reference HA4675 .M55 1995Presents statistics on population, labor force, agriculture, industry, trade, finance, and education for countries in the region
International Historical Statistics, Europe 1750-1988
Reference HA1107 .M5 1992Presents statistics on population, labor force, agriculture, industry, trade, finance, and education for countries in the region
International Historical Statistics, The Americas 1750-1988
Reference HA175 .M52 1993Presents statistics on population, labor force, agriculture, industry, trade, finance, and education for countries in the region
Statistical Abstract of the United States
HA202 .U55, Latest at Reference DeskCollection of statistics on population, economy, industry, and environment; the library has copies back to 1905. Also available online
Historical Statistics of the United States, Colonial Times to 1970
Reference HA202 .A385 1976Collection of historical statistics on the population and economy of the United States. Similar information online at the Historical Census Browser site
Gateways
Portal of history sites rated for usefulness and accuracy for students and educators
A nonprofit humanities resource linking to online history journals, as well as a variety of web sites of interest to historians and the full text of the papers of Booker T. Washington
Site with the goal of providing high-quality information resources for the teaching and learning of history
Site listing history resources that have been selected, evaluated, and described by subject specialists for students and researchers in higher education. Intute also has a history of science page.
A large collection of links relating to historical topics
World Wide Web Virtual Library: History
Contains a large number of links to historical sources on a wide variety of topics
Primary Documents
AMDOCS: Documents for the Study of American History
Collection of documents from U.S. history organized chronologically
American Archives: Documents of the American Revolution, 1774-1776
A collection of thousands of pamphlets, booklets, and newspaper articles from the Revolutionary period
"A gateway to rich primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States . . . offers more than 7 million digital items from more than 100 historical collections"
Yale project providing access to digital copies of a wide variety of primary documents in the areas of law, history, and diplomacy.
This site allows users to search and read newspaper articles from 1880 to 1922 from selected states, including Missouri. It also provides information about newspapers published in the United States between 1690 and the present.
Documenting the American South
A collection of sources on Southern history, literature, and culture from the colonial period through the first decades of the 20th century; it includes collections of slave narratives, oral histories, and first-person accounts of life in the South
Online version of a print anthology that includes documents relating to issues addressed by the US Constitution; documents range in age from the early seventeenth century to the 1830s and include writings of philosophers, popular pamphlets, debates in ratifying conventions, and private correspondence
Internet History Sourcebooks Project
Extensive collections of public domain historical texts in ancient, medieval, and modern history
A database that allows keyword searching of oral history materials that are freely available on the Web; eventually it should also include pointers to other first person content, like letters and diaries
A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction that contains approximately 8,500 books and 50,000 journal articles from the 19th century
A guide to the best online primary source archives in world history, with historians describing the materials available and their strengths and weaknesses
Missouri Digital Collections
University of Missouri Digital Library
Digital library of materials from the University of Missouri system
Digital collections and exhibits created by Missouri institutions
Statistical Data
Historical census data describing the population and economy of U.S. states and counties from 1790 to 1960; includes mapping capabilities
Special Topics
Civil Rights Digital Library/b>
A collection of over 5,000 links to websites relating to the history of science and technology
ECHO: Science, Technology, and Industry
A collection of over 5,000 links to websites relating to the history of science and technology
Links to resources for the study of medieval history
Military History Encyclopedia on the Web
Site with articles, pictures, and maps related to all aspects of military history, with more extensive coverage available for the First and Second World Wars, the Napoleonic Wars, and the American Civil War
A searchable archive of materials related to the Vietnam War; not all of them are primary source materials, but a date limit is available under the advanced search to find documents from the time of the war
War of the Rebellion: A Compilation of the Official Records of the Union and Confederate Armies
Contains the formal Union and Confederate reports for the Civil War, including all military operations
Go to the Subject Guides page
Go to Curtis Laws Wilson Library
Go to the History and Political Science Department
Last Updated 7/14/2010