![]() |
Curtis Laws Wilson Library
400 W. 14th Street
Rolla, MO 65409-0060
Main office: 573-341-4227
Circulation: 573-341-4008
Interlibrary Loan: 573-341-4006
Reference: 573-341-4007
Fax: 573-341-4233
Email: library@mst.edu
Databases
Journals Print Resources Web Resources
Technology Research Database
The Technology Research Database (TRD) is comprised of a number of materials science and engineering databases (e.g., Ceramics Abstracts, Advanced Polymers Abstracts, Composites Industry Abstracts, METADEX, etc.). Dates of coverage vary for each database.
Compendex
Compendex is one of the most comprehensive bibliographic databases in the field of engineering. The citations are drawn from over 2,600 journals, conference proceedings, technical reports, and some books. Compendex is the online equivalent of the print Engineering Index from 1980 to the present (see below for additional coverage). Coverage from 1980 to Present.
Engineering Index Backfile
(1884-1969)
Online equivalent to the Engineering Index from 1884-1969. Provides some of the most comprehensive coverage of engineering for that time period. Includes citations from journals, conference proceedings, technical reports, and some books. Coverage from
1884 to 1969.
Scopus
Scopus provides multidisciplinary indexing of the science and engineering literature. It is Elsevier's counterpart to ISI's Web of Science, providing the same core functionality but indexing a wider variety of journals and proceedings. Coverage generally from 1996 to present though some records date as far back as the mid-1800s.
SciFinder Scholar
SciFinder Scholar is the most comprehensive bibliographic database in the field of chemistry. The database is essentially an online version of Chemical Abstracts, but provides enhanced search capabilities (e.g., reaction searching) and coverage now predates the 1907 commencement of Chemical Abstracts. The database contains over 27 million citations primarily from journals, patents, and conferences. While the focus of the database is chemistry, it is also a valuable resource for certain areas of agriculture, biology, engineering, geology, medicine, and physics. Coverage from mid-1800s to present.
Unlike most databases, client software will need to be downloaded onto your computer in order to access SciFinder Scholar. SciFinder Scholar is available on computers in the Wilson Library and most Computer Learning Centers (CLCs).
Dissertation Abstracts
Dissertation Abstracts contains references and abstracts for doctoral dissertations from accredited American and
Canadian, selected British and European universities, covering all academic subjects. Masters theses are also included
from accredited North American Universities. Coverage from 1861 (masters from 1988) to present.
PapersFirst
This database covers every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received
by the British Library. Coverage from 1993 to Present.
ASTM Standards
The IHS database provides full-text access to active ASTM standards and citations for numerous other standards from
a variety of other organizations.
American Metal Market
Metals prices and market news. Contact Missouri S&T Library Reference Desk for username and password at (573)341-4007.
The Wilson Library subscribes to some journals electronically, some in print, and some in both formats. To determine
if the library subscribes to a particular journal, one must search the A-Z Electronic Journal list and MERLIN online
catalog. Search MERLIN by first clicking "Journal Title" and then entering the name of the journal (e.g., Journal of the
American Ceramic Society). MERLIN will provide information about a journal's availability in print and/or electronically.
The journal list below has links to a few full-text electronic journals to help you get started. To perform a comprehensive
literature search, one needs to first one or more of the databases listed above.
NOTE: Unless the journal is freely available or use the A-Z Electronic Journal list, you will need to be on-campus or
set-up VPN in order to access electronic journals. VPN This includes the electronic journals linked from MERLIN.
Acta Materialia (Last 12 months online)
Third Floor TS200 .A3
Advanced Functional Materials
Third Floor TK7874.8 .A317
Advanced Materials
Third Floor TA401 .A29
Annual Review of Materials Research (Online 2001-present)
Third Floor TA401 .A7
Biomaterials (Last 12 months online)
Third Floor R857.M3 B568
Chemistry of Materials
Second Floor QD1 .C7448
Crystal Growth & Design
Online access only
Glass and Ceramics (Online 7/2000-present)
Third Floor TP845 .S7135
Glass Physics and Chemistry (Online 11/2000-present)
Online access only
Hydrometallurgy (Last 12 months online)
Third Floor TN688 .H89
Inorganic Materials (Online 12/2000-present)
Second Floor QD1 .I55
International Journal of Plasticity (Last 12 months online)
Third Floor TA418.14 .I55
JOM : the journal of the Minerals, Metals & Materials Society (Online 1997-present)
Third Floor TN1 .A513
Journal of Computer-Aided Design (Online 1997-present)
Online access only
Journal of Electroceramics
Online access only
Journal of Materials Science (Online 1997-present)
Third Floor TA401 .J69
Journal of Materials Science Letters
Third Floor TA401 .J692
Journal of Materials Science: Materials in Electronic (Online 1997-present)
Third Floor TK7871 .J68
Journal of Materials Science: Materials in Medicine (Online 1997-present)
Third Floor R857.M3 J687
Journal of Materials Chemistry (Online 1997-present)
Third Floor TA401 .J684
Journal of Materials Synthesis & Processing (Online 1998-2002)
Online access only
Journal of Nanoparticle Research
Online access only
Journal of Non-Crystalline Solids (Last 12 month online)
Third Floor TP845 .J65
Journal of Porous Materials
Online access only
Journal of Sol-Gel Science & Technology
Online access only
Journal of the American Ceramic Society (Last 3 years online)
Third Floor TP785 .A62
Journal of the European Ceramic Society (Last 12 months online)
Third Floor TA455.C3 J68
Magnetic Resonance Materials in Physics, Biology and Medicine (MAGMA)
Online access only
Materials Research Bulletin (Last 12 months online)
Third Floor TA401 .M382
Materials Science (Online 7/2000-present)
Online access only
Mechanics of Composite Materials (Online 9/2000-present)
Online access only
Mechanics of Time-Dependent Materials
Online access only
Nano Letters
Online access only
Nature Materials
Online access only
Try some of these first:
Engineered Materials Handbook
This 4-volume set published by ASM International provides comprehensive coverage on the properties,
selection, processing, and applications of nonmetallic materials. Volume 1. Composites --
Volume 2. Engineering plastics -- Volume 3. Adhesives and sealants -- v. 4. Ceramics and glasses.
Volume 4 is also known as the Big Orange Book (BOB).
Reference TA459 .A5 1990
Metals Handbook
This 21-volume set published by American Society for Metals provides comprehensive coverage of metal properties,
selection, machining, welding, casting, fractography, forming & forging, and tribology to name a few.
Reference TA459 .A5 1990
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics (87th edition)
Contains an extensive collection of physical property data on elements and compounds, conversion factors,
nomenclature, and mathematical tables.
Reference Desk QD65 .H3 2005/2006
CRC Materials Science & Engineering Handbook
One of the most comprehensive collections of data on engineering material in a single volume. Topics include
structure and composition of materials; phase diagram sources; thermodynamic and kinetic data; and thermal,
mechanical, electrical, optical, and chemical properties of materials, as well as selecting these materials.
Reference TA403.4 .C74 2001
Polymer Handbook
Single volume providing one of the most comprehensive collection of data and information on polymers.
Reference QD388 .P65 1999
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology
Reference Q121 .M3 2007
ASM Materials Engineering Dictionary
Reference TA402 .A86 1992
Encyclopedia of Advanced Materials
Reference TA404.8 .E53 1994
Encyclopedia of Materials Science and Engineering
Reference TA402 .A86 1992
Encyclopedia of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology
Reference QC176.8.N35 E53 2004
Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and Technology
Reference TP1110 .E53 2003
International Encyclopedia of Composites
Reference TA418.9 .I51 1990
Handbook of Sol-Gel Science and Technology
Reference TP810.5 .H36 2004
Ceramics and Glasses
Engineered Materials Handbook Desk Edition
This single volume is a condensed version of the Engineered Materials Handbook.
Reference Desk TA403.4 .E64 1995
Engineered Materials Handbook - Volume 4: Ceramics and Glasses
Reference TA459 .A5 1990
Handbook of Glass Data
Reference TP848 .H36 1983
Handbook of Glass Properties
Reference TA450 .B27 1986
Handbook of Glass Manufacture
Reference TP857 .T62
Phase Diagrams for Ceramists [CD-ROM loaded on one computer 1st Floor (See Reference Desk)]
Reference QD501 .L592
Metals
Smithell's Metals Reference Book
Reference Desk TN671 .S55 2004
Aluminum and Aluminum Alloys
Reference TA480 .A6 A6177 1993
Binary Alloy Phase Diagrams
Reference TN690 .B528 1990
Carbon and Alloy Steels
Reference TA479 .C37 C37 1996
Handbook of Corrosion Data
Reference TA462 .H37 1995
Pearson's Handbook of Crystallographic Data for Intermetallic Phases
Reference TN690 .V49 1991
Stainless Steels
Reference TA479 .S7 S677 1994
Ternary Alloys: A Comprehensive Compendium of Evaluated Constitutional Data and Phase Diagrams
Reference TN690 .T438 1988
Uhlig's Corrosion Handbook
Reference TA462 .U4 2000
Thermochemical Data
NIST-JANAF Thermochemical
Reference QD511 .N57 1998
Thermochemical Data of Pure Substances
Reference QD511.8 .B369 1995
Thermochemical Properties of Inorganic Substances
Reference QD511.8 .T47 1991
Periodic Tables
Chemical Properties
Ceramics WebBook
Evaluated data from the National Institute of Standards & Technology
Chemical and Physical Properties
This website, maintained by LSU, allows one to select a chemical/physical property and then provides a print
resource where that information can be found. After you locate a print resource on the LSU Website, check
MERLIN to see if we own it.
CODATA: Internationally Recommended Values of the Fundamental Physical Constants
INFOMAT
Directory and links to resources from the United Nations' International Materials Assessment and Application
Centre. Lists a number of freely available databases in the area of materials science and engineering.
NIST Ceramics
Webpage of the Ceramics division of the National Institute of Standards & Technology (NIST).
NIST Data Gateway
ThermoDex
This website, maintained by University of Texas-Austin, allows one to select a chemical/physical property and
then provides a print resource and/or Web-based resources where that information can be found. After you
locate a print resource in ThermoDex, check MERLIN to see if we own it.
Societies and Organizations
American Ceramic Society
Association for Iron & Steel Technology
International Union of Crystallography
Materials Research Society
Microscopy Society of America
Minerals, Metals, and Materials Society (TMS)
Missouri S&T ACerS/NICE
Link to the Missouri S&T student chapter of the American Ceramic Society/National Institute of
Ceramic Engineers.
Missouri S&T Materials Science & Engineering
Back to Main Subject Guides Page
Back to Library Home Page
If you have any suggestions and/or questions, please contact me at mahnkens@mst.edu.
Last updated: March 23, 2009.