Curtis Laws Wilson Library
400 W. 14th Street
Rolla, MO 65409-0060
8 AM - Midnight
7 Days a Week
Closed Campus Holidays
Main office: 573-341-4227
Circulation: 573-341-4008
Interlibrary Loan: 573-341-4006
Reference: 573-341-4007
Fax: 573-341-4233
Email: library@mst.edu
Databases Journals Print Resources Web Resources
Technology Research Database
The Technology Research Database (TRD) is comprised of a number of materials science and engineering databases (e.g., Ceramics Abstracts, Advanced Polymers Abstracts, Composites Industry Abstracts, METADEX, etc.). Dates of coverage vary for each database.
Compendex
Compendex is one of the most comprehensive bibliographic databases in the field of engineering. The citations are drawn from over 2,600 journals, conference proceedings, technical reports, and some books. Compendex is the online equivalent of the print Engineering Index from 1980 to the present (see below for additional coverage). Coverage from 1980 to Present.
Engineering Index Backfile (1884-1969)
Online equivalent to the Engineering Index from 1884-1969. Provides some of the most comprehensive coverage of engineering for that time period. Includes citations from journals, conference proceedings, technical reports, and some books. Coverage from
1884 to 1969.E
The Engineer's Career Guide
A guide to developing a career path in engineering. The print edition is available for 3-day check-out from Reference Reserves; ask at the Circulation Desk if you'd like to borrow the print edition.
Knovel Digital Library
Knovel is a science, engineering, and technology database comprised of ebooks and other types of technical information, such as data sheets, conference proceedings, and other various reports. It has interactive tables, graphs and charts to assist users with analysis of materials and properties and built-in conversion equations so data can be displayed in the required unit of measurement.
Scopus
Scopus provides multidisciplinary indexing of the science and engineering literature. It is Elsevier's counterpart to ISI's Web of Science, providing the same core functionality but indexing a wider variety of journals and proceedings. Coverage generally from 1996 to present though some records date as far back as the mid-1800s.
SciFinder Scholar (registration required: click here)
SciFinder Scholar contains a comprehensive database of chemical literature and patents. It includes literature on topics such as biotechnology, toxicology, environmental sciences, medicine, and food science. Some full text articles are available. Coverage begins in 1907. Before using SciFinder Scholar, you must register an account through this link. On some campus computers, full functionality will be available only in Internet Explorer.
For more information on understanding and using Scifinder, check out Information Retrieval: Scifinder for a thorough exploration of all the options and capabilities available in this service.
Dissertation Abstracts
Dissertation Abstracts contains references and abstracts for doctoral dissertations from accredited American and Canadian, selected British and European universities, covering all academic subjects. Masters theses are also included from accredited North American Universities. Coverage from 1861 (masters from 1988) to present.
Encyclopedia of Chemical Biology
The Wiley Encyclopedia of Chemical Biology provides researchers and advanced students with timely and authoritative review-type information. The articles in WECB illuminate the crucial role of chemistry and chemical techniques in the life sciences and support the information needs of researchers in the field of chemical biology.
PapersFirst
This database covers every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received
by the British Library. Coverage from 1993 to Present.
ASTM Standards
The IHS database provides full-text access to active ASTM standards and citations for numerous other standards from
a variety of other organizations.
American Metal Market
Metals prices and market news. Contact Missouri S&T Library Reference Desk for username and password at (573)341-4007.
Access Engineering
AccessEngineering has a broad and deep repository of fully searchable engineering content derived from more than 250 engineering handbooks, monographs, and textbooks. The database includes the latest editions of Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook, Maynard's Industrial Engineering Handbook, Roark's Formulas for Stress and Strain, and more.
Access Science
McGraw-Hill's online science platform, featuring fully searchable content from McGraw-Hill's Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, 10th Edition. The new generation of AccessScience gathers and synthesizes vast amounts of information, and organizes it to give you fast, easy and accurate access to authoritative articles in all major areas of science and technology.
Materials Research Database with METADEX
Materials Research Database with METADEX brings together in one place the majority of the leading materials science databases, with specialist content on materials science, metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites used in engineering application. Everything from raw materials and refining through processing, welding and fabrication to end use, corrosion, performance and recycling is covered in depth. Over 3,000 primary journals plus trade literature, patents, newspapers, press releases, conference proceedings, books and reports. The database also contains Materials Business File which focuses on industry news, international trade data, government regulations and management issues related to the metals and materials industries.
Scientific.net Materials Science & Engineering
Scientific.Net is one of the largest and fastest growing sites that is wholly devoted to the area of materials science and engineering. It consists of ten journals devoted to the discipline and includes both "Materials Science Forum" and "Key Engineering Materials."
The classic American Ceramics Society/NIST resource for phase equilibria diagrams, now available online.
Useful Subject Headings for the MERLIN Catalog
| Acoustical Materials | Materials—Thermal Properties |
| Biomedical Materials | Microstructure |
| Building Materials | Nanocomposite Materials |
| Bulk Solids | Nanodiamonds |
| Characterization of Materials | Nanofibers |
| Chromic Materials | Nanopase |
| Coatings | Nanosilicon |
| Composite Materials | Nanostructured Matereials |
| Electric Conductors | Nanotubes |
| Fibers | Foamed Materials |
| Nanowires | Friction Materials |
| Nonmetallic Materials | Geosynthetics |
| Optical Materials | Granular Materials |
| Polymers | Hard Materials |
| Porous Materials | Heat Resistant Materials |
| Road Materials | Inhomogeneous Materials |
| Sintering | Laser Materials |
| Smart Materials | Magnetic Materials |
| Strategic Materials | Manufacturing Processes |
| Super Lattices Materials | Materials |
| Surfaces (Technology) | Materials at High Temperatures |
| Visoelastic Materials | Materials at Low Temperatures |
| Welding |
Library of Congress Call Numbers
| QC 176 | Solid state physics |
| QC 350-467 | Optics and light |
| QD 71-142 | Analytical chemistry |
| QD241-441 | Organic chemistry |
| QD450-801 | Physical and theoretical chemistry |
| QD 901-999 | Crystallography |
| R 856-857 | Biomedical engineering |
| TA329-348 | Engineering mathematics |
| TA 401-492 | Materials engineering and Construction. Mechanics of materials |
| TN 600-799 | Metallurgy |
| TP 155-156 | Chemical engineering |
| TP 785-869 | Clay industry, ceramics, glass |
| TP 1080-1185 | Polymers and polymer manufacture |
The Wilson Library subscribes to some journals electronically, some in print, and some in both formats. To determine
if the library subscribes to a particular journal, one must search the A-Z Electronic Journal list and MERLIN online
catalog. Search MERLIN by first clicking "Journal Title" and then entering the name of the journal (e.g., Journal of the
American Ceramic Society). MERLIN will provide information about a journal's availability in print and/or electronically.
The journal list below has links to a few full-text electronic journals to help you get started. To perform a comprehensive
literature search, one needs to first one or more of the databases listed above.
NOTE: Unless the journal is freely available, you will need to use the A-Z Electronic Journal list to access the library's subscription journals from off campus.
Try some of these first:
Aldrich Handbook of Fine Chemicals
Ref Desk TP202 .A43 2009/10
Engineered Materials Handbook
This 4-volume set published by ASM International provides comprehensive coverage on the properties,
selection, processing, and applications of nonmetallic materials. Volume 1. Composites --
Volume 2. Engineering plastics -- Volume 3. Adhesives and sealants -- v. 4. Ceramics and glasses.
Volume 4 is also known as the Big Orange Book (BOB).
Reference TA459 .A5 1990
Metals Handbook
This 22-volume set published by American Society for Metals provides comprehensive coverage of metal properties,
selection, machining, welding, casting, fractography, forming & forging, and tribology to name a few.
Reference TA459 .A5 1990
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics (90th edition)
Contains an extensive collection of physical property data on elements and compounds, conversion factors,
nomenclature, and mathematical tables.
Reference Desk QD65 .H3 2009/2010
CRC Materials Science & Engineering Handbook
One of the most comprehensive collections of data on engineering material in a single volume. Topics include
structure and composition of materials; phase diagram sources; thermodynamic and kinetic data; and thermal,
mechanical, electrical, optical, and chemical properties of materials, as well as selecting these materials.
Reference TA403.4 .C74 2001
Perry's Chemical Engineer's Handbook, 8th Edition
Reference Desk TP151 .P45 2008
The handbook for chemical engineers. Provides information on processes and physical property data. Also available online.
Polymer Handbook
Single volume providing one of the most comprehensive collection of data and information on polymers.
Reference QD388 .P65 1999
Handbook of Heterogeneous Catalysis
Reference QD505 .H34 2008
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology
Reference Q121 .M3 2009 (also online)
ASM Materials Engineering Dictionary
Reference TA402 .A86 1992
Encyclopedia of Advanced Materials
Reference TA404.8 .E53 1994
Encyclopedia of Materials Science and Engineering
Reference TA402 .A86 1992
Encyclopedia of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology
Reference QC176.8.N35 E53 2004
Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and Technology
Reference TP1110 .E53 2003
International Encyclopedia of Composites
Reference TA418.9 .I51 1990
Handbook of Sol-Gel Science and Technology
Reference TP810.5 .H36 2004
Ceramics and Glasses
Engineered Materials Handbook Desk Edition
This single volume is a condensed version of the Engineered Materials Handbook.
Reference Desk TA403.4 .E64 1995
Engineered Materials Handbook - Volume 4: Ceramics and Glasses
Reference TA459 .A5 1990
Handbook of Glass Data
Reference TP848 .H36 1983
Handbook of Glass Properties
Reference TA450 .B27 1986
Handbook of Glass Manufacture
Reference TP857 .T62
Phase Diagrams for Ceramists [available online]
Metals
Smithell's Metals Reference Book
Reference Desk TN671 .S55 2004
Aluminum and Aluminum Alloys
Reference TA480 .A6 A6177 1993
Binary Alloy Phase Diagrams
Reference TN690 .B528 1990
Carbon and Alloy Steels
Reference TA479 .C37 C37 1996
Handbook of Corrosion Data
Reference TA462 .H37 1995
Pearson's Handbook of Crystallographic Data for Intermetallic Phases
Reference TN690 .V49 1991
Stainless Steels
Reference TA479 .S7 S677 1994
Ternary Alloys: A Comprehensive Compendium of Evaluated Constitutional Data and Phase Diagrams
Reference TN690 .T438 1988
Uhlig's Corrosion Handbook
Reference TA462 .U4 2000
Thermochemical Data
NIST-JANAF Thermochemical
Reference QD511 .N57 1998
Thermochemical Data of Pure Substances
Reference QD511.8 .B369 1995
Thermochemical Properties of Inorganic Substances
Reference QD511.8 .T47 1991
Periodic Tables
Chemical Properties
Ceramics WebBook
Evaluated data from the National Institute of Standards & Technology
Chemical and Physical Properties
This website, maintained by LSU, allows one to select a chemical/physical property and then provides a print
resource where that information can be found. After you locate a print resource on the LSU Website, check
MERLIN to see if we own it.
CODATA: Internationally Recommended Values of the Fundamental Physical Constants
INFOMAT
Directory and links to resources from the United Nations' International Materials Assessment and Application
Centre. Lists a number of freely available databases in the area of materials science and engineering.
NIST Ceramics
Webpage of the Ceramics division of the National Institute of Standards & Technology (NIST).
NIST Data Gateway
ThermoDex
This website, maintained by University of Texas-Austin, allows one to select a chemical/physical property and
then provides a print resource and/or Web-based resources where that information can be found. After you
locate a print resource in ThermoDex, check MERLIN to see if we own it.
Societies and Organizations
American Ceramic Society
Association for Iron & Steel Technology
International Union of Crystallography
Materials Research Society
Microscopy Society of America
Minerals, Metals, and Materials Society (TMS)
Missouri S&T ACerS/NICE
Link to the Missouri S&T student chapter of the American Ceramic Society/National Institute of
Ceramic Engineers.
Missouri S&T Materials Science & Engineering
MSE Web Sites
http://ww1.iucr.org/cww-top/crystal.index.html
http://srdata.nist.gov/gateway/
http://www.plasticwebsite.com.au/
http://www.platinumgroupmetals.net/
Back to Main Subject Guides Page
Back to Library Home Page
If you have any suggestions and/or questions, please contact me at jocius@mst.edu.
Last updated: March 23, 2009.