Skip to department navigation
Skip to content
Skip to global navigation
library » library.mst.edu » subjectguides » reflib4 » physics
Physics Resources

For assistance, please contact Matthew Pickens at mpickens@mst.edu

 

Databases Print Resources Select Journals Web Resources

 

Library Databases

  • Compendex

    Bibliographic citations and abstracts for engineering and technical literature in a broad range of disciplines, dating back to 1884. No full text.

  • Materials Research Database

    Allows simultaneous searching of several databases containing scholarly literature on a variety of engineered and structural materials. No full text.

  • Scopus

    Scopus provides multidisciplinary indexing of the science and engineering literature. It is Elsevier's counterpart to ISI's Web of Science, providing the same core functionality but indexing a wider variety of journals and proceedings.

  

Print Resources

  • Dictionary of Physics
    REF QC5 .C43 1999
  • The Physics Handbook : Fundamentals and Key Equations
    REF QC61 .P65 2007
  • Encyclopedia of Astronomy and Astrophysics
    REF QB14 .E534 2001
  • Encyclopedia of Condensed Matter Physics
    REF QC173.454 .B37 2005
  • Encyclopedia of Mathematical Physics
    REF QC20 .E63 2006

Professional Societies:

 

Select Journals

 

Web Resources

  • AIP Style Manual

    Authoritative guidance on formatting and writing style in physics papers.

  • EnergyPortal-- from the OSTI

    Department of Energy database of scientific articles. Contains citations and some full text.

  • SPIRES HEP Job listings

    Searchable database of high energy physics jobs.

  • Physical Review Focus

    Summaries of select articles from Physical Review and Physical Review Letters, written at an introductory level.

  • PhysLINK

    Daily links to physics and astronomy news.

  • PhysicsWeb

    "Physics news, jobs, and resources" from the Institute of Physics Publishing.

  • Review of Particle Physics-- Particle Data Group

    A collection of the best current knowledge about particle physics. Updated every two years.

  • NIST Physical Reference Data

    Online handbook from the National Institute of Standards and Technology. Contains an abundance of useful data.

  • The Smithsonian/NASA Astrophysics Data System

    Extensive indexing of physics, astronomy, and astrophysics articles. Contains some full text.

Major laboratories online


 

Go to the Subject Guides page

Go to Curtis Laws Wilson Library

Go to the Mathematics & Statistics department

Last Updated 06/24/2010

  generate print-friendly
DESERT EXPLORER

Michael Bouchard studies bizarre dome-like structures in Egypt's Afar Desert.

READ MORE >
GOING THE DISTANCE

Marathon runner Devin Dixon sped through three degrees in just over six years.

READ MORE >
MINING ON THE MOON

Dr. Leslie Gertsch takes a look at humanity's future in space.

READ MORE >
D-DAY RE-EXAMINED

John McManus' latest book looks at the Big Red One at Omaha Beach.

READ MORE >
LIFE ON MARS

Melanie Mormile studies bacteria here on Earth that could survive on Mars.

READ MORE >
SPELUNKING FOR A CAUSE

Michael Bradford helps protect bats and cave formations in Missouri.

READ MORE >
SLIMY STUFF

Paul Nam suggests the potential solution to several global problems is green slime (algae).

READ MORE >
DANCING WITH CODE

Marquia Lewis studies computer science and is a member of the Gold Miners dance squad.

READ MORE >
CRAFT-Y MAGAZINE EDITOR

Casey Burton works to improve cancer screenings and publishes a gamer magazine.

READ MORE >
A GOALIE'S PERSPECTIVE

Carrie Levy enjoys the mental challenge of being a Lady Miner goalkeeper.

READ MORE >
A PHILOSOPHY OF ADVOCACY

Kate Burns is proof that students in every major can find success.

READ MORE >
PHYTOFORENSICS

Joel Burken's research team use trees to detect soil and groundwater contamination.

READ MORE >
ROCKET SCIENTIST

Anan Takroori shares his love of planes, rockets and satellites with campers.

READ MORE >
'DOWN-TO-EARTH' SCHOLAR

Krista Rybacki studies soil samples from an area near a lead recycling smelter.

READ MORE >
MINERS ABROAD

Delancey Rougely studied the effects of war in France and blogged about it.

READ MORE >