![]() |
Curtis Laws Wilson Library
400 W. 14th Street
Rolla, MO 65409-0060
Main office: 573-341-4227
Circulation: 573-341-4008
Interlibrary Loan: 573-341-4006
Reference: 573-341-4007
Fax: 573-341-4233
Email: library@mst.edu
Databases Journals Print Resources Web Resources
GeoRef
This database is a comprehensive geoscience resource containing over 2.6 million bibliographic records covering
subjects such as mineralogy and crystallography, general mineralogy, mineralogy of silicates, and mineralogy of
non-silicates. Bibliographic records from more than 3,000 journals are included in the database as well as journal
articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses. Coverage from 1693 to present.
GeoBase
GeoBase covers journals, books, monographs, conference proceedings and reports in all areas of geography,
geology and ecology. coverage from 1980 to present.
OnePetro
OnePetro.org is a multi-society library that provides a simple way to search for and access a broad range of technical literature related to the oil and gas exploration and production industry. From one place, you can search and buy documents from many different professional societies, or similar organizations, that serve the oil and gas industry.
GeoScienceWorld
GeoScienceWorld provides electronic access to the journals of the American Association of Petroleum Geologists, American Geological Institute, Geological Society of America, Geological Society of London, Mineralogical Society of America, Society for Sedimentary Geology, and Society of Exploration Geophysicists.
Earthquake Engineering Abstracts
The 114,000 citations that comprise the database provide comprehensive of earthquake engineering and earthquake hazard mitigation. Coverage from approximately 1971 to present.
Compendex
Compendex is one of the most comprehensive bibliographic databases in the field of engineering. The citations
are drawn from over 2,600 journals, conference proceedings, technical reports, and some books. Compendex
is the online equivalent of the print Engineering Index from 1980 to the present (see below for additional coverage).
Coverage from 1884 to Present.
Dissertation Abstracts
Dissertation Abstracts contains references and abstracts for doctoral dissertations from accredited American and
Canadian, selected British and European universities, covering all academic subjects. Masters theses are also included
from accredited North American Universities. Coverage from 1861 (masters from 1988) to present.
Society of Petroleum Engineers eLibrary (SPE eLibrary)
Database of papers and journal articles of the Society of Petroleum Engineers. Freely searchable, but you need to contact the Library for username, password, and instructions to access full-text: (573)341-7841 or hubbardd.mst.edu
Scopus
Scopus provides multidisciplinary indexing of the science and engineering literature. It is Elsevier's counterpart to ISI's Web of Science, providing the same core functionality but indexing a wider variety of journals and proceedings. Coverage generally from 1996 to present though some records date as far back as the mid-1800s.
U.S. Geological Survey - Library Catalog
USGS online catalog containing over 325,000 citations to USGS publications produced since 1879. NOTE: Not all
USGS publications are listed in the USGS library catalog.
U.S. Geological Survey - Publications Warehouse
Bibliographic citations to over 70,000 USGS publications. Full-text of over 40,000 publications, including many Open-File Reports. NOTE: Not all USGS publications are listed in the Publication Warehouse.
The Wilson Library subscribes to some journals electronically, some in print, and some in both formats. To determine
if the library subscribes to a particular journal, one must search the A-Z Electronic Journal list and MERLIN online
catalog. Search MERLIN by first clicking "Journal Title" and then entering the name of the journal (e.g., Geological
Journal ). MERLIN will provide information about a journal's availability in print and/or electronically.
The journal list below has links to a few full-text electronic journals to help you get started. To perform a comprehensive
literature search, one needs to first one or more of the databases listed above.
NOTE: Unless the journal is freely available or use the A-Z Electronic Journal list, you will need to be on-campus or
set-up VPN in order to access electronic journals. VPN This includes the electronic journals linked from MERLIN.
Annual Review of Earth and Planetary Sciences (Online 1996-present)
Third Floor QE1 .A674
Bulletin of Engineering Geology and the Environment (Online 1998-present)
Third Floor TA705 .I48 (1998-2006)
Clays and Clay Minerals (Online 2002-present)
Third Floor TN941 .N32
Geochimica et Cosmochimica (Last 12 months online)
Third Floor QE351 .G425
Geological Society of America Bulletin
Third Floor QE1 .G2
Geology
Third Floor QE1 .G528
Geophysics (Online 1936-present)
Third Floor QE500 .G4
Journal of Geology (Online 3/1997-present)
Third Floor QE1 .J8
Journal of Geoscience Education
Third Floor QE40 .J6
Journal of Geotechnical and Geoenvironmental (Online 1995-present)
Third Floor TA710.A1 A57
Journal of Structural Geology
Third Floor QE601 .J68
Journal of the Geological Society (London) (Online 1979-present)
Third Floor QE1 .G432
Sedimentology (Current and previous year online)
Third Floor QE471 .S419
Print Resources
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Glossary of Geology
Reference QE5 .B38 2005
Dictionary of Geophysics, Astrophysics, and Astronomy
Reference QB14 .D53 2001
Illustrated Petroleum Reference Dictionary
Reference TN865 .I43 1994
Encyclopedia of Geology
Reference QE5 .E516 2005
Encyclopedia of Paleontology
Reference QE703 .E523 1999
Water Encyclopedia
Reference TD345 .L393 2005
Handbooks
Geoscience Handbook: AGI Data Sheets (4th edition)
Reference QE52 .G46 2006
Practical Handbook of Physical Properties of Rocks and Minerals
Reference QE431.6 P5 P73 1989
Dana's New Mineralogy
Reference QE372 .D23 1997
Global Earth Physics
Reference QC808. G56 1995
Ground-water Resources of the United States
Reference GB1015 .G76 1983
Handbook of Groundwater Engineering
Reference TC176 .H35 1999
Handbook of Petroleum Refining Processes
Reference TP690 .H34 1997
Mineral Reference Manual
Reference QE372.1 .N53 1991
Modern Petroleum Technology
Reference TN870 . .I48 2000
Web Resources
American Mineralogist Crystal Structure Database
Encyclopedia of Earth
A fully searchable collection of articles written by scholars, professionals, educators, and
experts who collaborate and review each other's work (i.e., a wiki).
Geologic Time Scale
Website maintained by the University of California Museum of Paleontology.
National Geophysical Data Center
Palynology - Research and images of fossilized spores and pollens from the University of Arizona
Topozone - Interactive topographic map of the United States
Back to Main Subject Guides Page
Back to Library Home Page
If you have any suggestions and/or questions, please contact me at mpickens@mst.edu.
Last updated: March 23, 2009.