![]() |
Curtis Laws Wilson Library
400 W. 14th Street
Rolla, MO 65409-0060
Main office: 573-341-4227
Circulation: 573-341-4008
Interlibrary Loan: 573-341-4006
Reference: 573-341-4007
Fax: 573-341-4233
Email: library@mst.edu
Databases Journals Print Resources Web Resources
Databases
Compendex
Compendex is one of the most comprehensive bibliographic databases in the field of engineering. The citations
are drawn from over 2,600 journals, conference proceedings, technical reports, and some books. Compendex
is the online equivalent of the print Engineering Index from 1980 to the present (see below for additional coverage).
Coverage from 1884 to Present.
GeoRef
This database is a comprehensive geoscience resource containing over 2.6 million bibliographic records covering
subjects such as mineralogy and crystallography, general mineralogy, mineralogy of silicates, and mineralogy of
non-silicates. Bibliographic records from more than 3,000 journals are included in the database as well as journal
articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses. Coverage from 1785 to present.
GeoBase
GeoBase covers journals, books, monographs, conference proceedings and reports in all areas of geography,
geology and ecology. coverage from 1980 to present.
Technology Research Database
Technology Research Database (TRD) is comprised of a number of materials science and engineering databases
(e.g., Aluminum Industry Abstracts, Copper Data Center Database, METADEX, etc.). Dates of coverage vary for
each database.
Scopus
Scopus provides multidisciplinary indexing of the science and engineering literature. It is Elsevier's counterpart to ISI's Web of Science, providing the same core functionality but indexing a wider variety of journals and proceedings. Coverage generally from 1996 to present though some records date as far back as the mid-1800s.
Energy Citations Database
Citations and some full-text of materials from the Department of Energy and its predecessors.
U.S. Geological Survey - Publications
USGS online catalog containing over 325,000 citations to USGS publications produced since 1879. NOTE: Not all
USGS publications are listed in their online catalog.
Journals (and Trade Magazines)
AusIMM Bulletin - The Institute of Mining and Metallurgy
Third Floor TN121 .A67
Cement Americas
Lower Level HD9622.A1 C44
CIM Magazine
Third Floor TN1 .C24
Economic Geology - The Bulletin of the Society of Economic Geologists
Third Floor QE1 .E15
Explosives Engineering
Third Floor TP270.A1 E82
Geophysical Prospecting (Last 3 years online)
Third Floor TN269 .G4
Geotechnical and Geological Engineering (Online 1997-present)
Online access only
International Journal of Mining, Reclamation and Environment (Online 1987-present)
Third Floor TN291 .I54
International Journal of Rock Mechanics and Mining Science (Last 12 months online)
Third Floor TA710.A1 I522
JOM: The Journal of the Minerals, Metals, and Materials Society (Online 11/1997-present)
Journal of Mining Science (Online 7/2000-present)
Online access only
Mining Engineering
Third Floor TN1 .A5258
Mining Environmental Management
Third Floor TN5 .M512
Pit & Quarry
Third Floor TN1 .P65
Rock Mechanics and Rock Engineering (Online 1998-present)
Third Floor TA710.A1 R599
Rock Products
Third Floor TN950 .A3
Transactions of the Institution of Mining and Metallurgy. Section A, Mining Technology (Online 2000-present)
Third Floor TN1 .I62
Transactions of the Institution of Mining and Metallurgy. Section B, Applied Earth Science (Online 2000-present)
Third Floor TN1 .I63
Transactions of the Institution of Mining and Metallurgy. Section C, Mineral & Extractive Metallurgy
Third Floor TN1 .I64
Tunnelling & Trenchless Construction
Third Floor TA800 .T85
Tunnels & Tunnelling International
Third Floor TA800 .T8
Tunnelling and Underground Space Technology (Last 12 months online)
Third Floor TA800 .T7893
Handbooks, Dictionaries, and Encyclopedias
SME Mining Reference Handbook
Reference TN151 .S64 2002
SME Mining Engineering Handbook (2-volume)
Reference TN151 .S6 1992 (Volume 1 currently on Reserve at Circulation Desk)
Blaster's Handbook
Reference TN279 .B53 1998 (Currently on Reserve at Circulation Desk)
Canadian & American Mines Handbook
Reference HD9506 .N7 C36
Dictionary of Mining, Mineral, and Related Terms
Reference TN9 .T53 1968
Dictionary of Mining Terms
Reference TN9 .D564 1997
Encyclopedia of Tunnelling, Mining and Drilling Equipment
Reference TN345 .S83 1995
Handbook of Mining and Tunnnelling Machinery
Reference TN345 .S72 1982
Industrial Minerals and Rocks: Commodities, Markets, and Uses (7th Edition)
Reference TN799.5 .A43 2006
Metal Statistics - The Statistical Guide to North American Metals (2002)
Reference HD9506 .U6 A5 2002
Practical Mine Ventilation Engineering
Third Floor TN301 .T56 1999
Rock Blasting Terms and Symbols
Reference TN279 .R631 1998
Surface Mining (2nd edition)
Reference TN291 .S78 1990
Underground Mining Methods Handbook
Third Floor TN151 .U5
U.S. Government Publications
Bureau of Mines, List of publications (or journal articles ) Issued by (1910 to 1994)
Third Floor Government Documents I28.5:
[NOTE: CD-ROM also available - Third Floor Government Documents CD Cabinet I28.151: 17-95]
Mineral Commodity Summaries
Third Floor Government Documents I19.166:
Minerals Yearbook
Third Floor TN23 .U612
Report of investigations (United States. Bureau of Mines)
Third Floor TN23 .U43
Safety Manual Series
Pamphlets prepared by the National Mine Health and Safety Academy on various topics (e.g., Safety Tips
for Underground Coal Mining, Coal Mine Maps, etc.). Each pamphlet is approximately 20-50 pages.
Third Floor Government Documents L38/2:
Mining Law and Regulations
American Law of Mining (2nd Edition)
Reference TN223 .R6 1987
Code of Federal Regulations Title 30 - Mineral Resources
Reference KF70 .A3
Web Resources
U.S. Government Websites
Mine Safety and Health Administration (MSHA)
National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH) - Mining
National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH) - Mining Statistics
Office of Surface Mining (U.S. Department of the Interior)
United States Geological Survey (USGS)
Professional Organizations and Societies
National Mining Association
The Minerals, Metals, and Materials Society
Society for Mining, Metallurgy, and Exploration
Industry News
InfoMine - Mining Intelligence and Technology
Mining Journal
Back to Main Subject Guides Page
Back to Library Home Page
If you have any suggestions and/or questions, please contact me at mpickens@mst.edu.
Last updated: March 23, 2009.