![]() |
Curtis Laws Wilson Library
400 W. 14th Street
Rolla, MO 65409-0060
Main office: 573-341-4227
Circulation: 573-341-4008
Interlibrary Loan: 573-341-4006
Reference: 573-341-4007
Fax: 573-341-4233
Email: library@mst.edu
Databases Journals Print Resources Web Resources
Databases (Gray Literature)
Gray (or grey) literature consists of materials produced by governments, academia, industry, research centers
government contractors, or professional associations that is not commercially or widely distributed. The materials
are typically technical reports, bulletins, progress reports, working papers, and some conference proceedings. These
materials are referred to as gray literature because they reside in the "shadows" and can be challenging to locate.
Below is a select group of databases (some freely available) for searching the gray literature.
Energy Citations Database (1948-present) – freely available
Citations and some full-text of materials from the Department of Energy and its predecessors.
DOE Information Bridge
(1996-present) – freely available
Citations and some full-text of technical reports from the Department of Energy and its contractors.
NASA Technical Reports Server (1901-present) – freely available
Citations and some full-text of technical reports from NASA and its predecessors.
Public STINET - Defense Technical Information Center (1974-present) – freely available
DTIC's Public STINET provides citations and some full-text of unclassified materials from the Department of Defense.
ETEDWEB - Energy Technology Data Exchange World Energy Base (1974-present)
Contains citations and some full-text of materials related to energy from the 16 Energy Technology Data Exchange
member countries, including the United States (DOE).
INIS Database – International Nuclear Information System (1970-present)
(On-Campus Use Only)
Citations and some full-text of technical information related to the uses of nuclear power with worldwide coverage from
116 member states of the International Atomic Energy Agency. NOTE: .
NTIS - National Technical Information Service (1964-present) – freely available
Indexes materials from a number of U.S. government agencies. Some materials have links to obtain the full-text.
NRC ADAMS –
A
gency-wide
D
ocuments
A
ccess and
M
anagement
S
ystem (1999-present)
Contains public documents from the Nuclear Regulatory Commission.
Electric Power Research Institute (EPRI)
EPRI is a non-profit organization that conducts research and development on technology, operations and the
environment for the global electric power sector. EPRI's reports can be searched through the link above and
some of the reports are freely for download.
Science.gov - freely available
Provides simultaneous searching of databases and websites from 13 federal agencies (e.g., Energy Citations Database,
DOE Information Bridge, NASA Technical Reports Server, NTIS, and Public STINET).
Databases (Journal Literature)
Here are a few databases to search the journal literature in nuclear engineering and related disciplines.
Compendex
Covers all areas of engineering. Indexes over 2,600 journals, as well as some conference proceedings, technical reports,
and some books.
CSA Technology Research Database (1966-present)
Consists of a number of specialized engineering databases (e.g., aerospace, civil, etc.) and material science databases
(e.g., metals, ceramic, etc.). Indexes over 4,000 periodicals, which includes journals, conference proceedings, trade
magazines, newsletters. Also indexes technical reports and a few books.
Scopus
Scopus provides multidisciplinary indexing of the science and engineering literature. It is Elsevier's counterpart
to ISI's Web of Science, providing the same core functionality but indexing a wider variety of journals and
proceedings. Coverage generally from 1996 to present though some records date as far back as the mid-1800s.
IEEExplore (1988-present)
Provides full-text access to the journal/proceeding/magazine publications of the Institute of Electrical and
Electronics Engineers.
Scifinder Scholar (1907-present)
The focus of this database is chemistry, but it covers many areas of physics, engineering, material science, and life
sciences. Indexes ~ 1,500 core journals and selectively covers over 9,500 journals. The database also indexes some
patents, conference proceedings, and some books.
Databases (IAEA and OECD - Technical Reports and E-Books)
A number of technical reports and ebooks from International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) and the Atomic Nuclear
Agency (an agency of Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development) are freely available online. You might
locate full-text versions of reports found in other databases or search these two collections like a database:
IAEA Publications
Nuclear Energy Agency Publications (OECD)
Here are a couple of sample publications from IAEA and OCED
Radiological Impacts of Spent Nuclear Fuel Management Options: A Comparative Study
Liquid Metal Cooled Reactors: Experience in Design and Operation
Below is a select group of current journals received by the library related to nuclear engineering. We have access to
additional nuclear engineering journals, so please check the A-Z Electronic Journals list and the Merlin online catalog
for print holdings and other journal titles. NOTE: The dates below refer to the print version unless stated otherwise.
Annals of Nuclear Energy: 1975-Present
Third Floor TK9001 .J6
Atomic Data and Nuclear Data Tables: 1973-Present
Third Floor QC173 .A8242
Atomic Energy (English translation of Atomnaia energiia): 2000-Present
Online through Merlin catalog
IEEE Transactions on Nuclear Science: 1963-2004 (Online 1987-Present)
Third Floor TK9001 .I2
J
ournal of Fusion Energy: 1981-Present (Online 1997-Present
)
Third Floor TK9001 .J68
Journal of Heat Transfer: 1959-Present (Online 2000-Present)
Third Floor TA1 .J64
Journal of Nuclear Science and Technology: 1966-2005 (Online 2004-Present)
Third Floor QC770 .J66
Nuclear Science and Engineering: 1956-Present
Third Floor QC770 .N85
Nuclear Technology: 1971-Present
Third Floor TK9001 .N72
Physical Review C: Nuclear Physics: 1970-Present
Third Floor QC770 .P45
Progress in Nuclear Energy: 1977-Present
Third Floor TK9001 .P73
Handbook and Tables
American Society of Mechanical Engineers. (1993). ASME steam tables. New York:
American Society of Mechanical Engineers.
Reference TJ270 .A75 1993
Brodsky, A. (Ed.). (1982). CRC handbook of radiation measurement and protection.
West Palm Beach, FL: CRC Press.
Reference QC795. 32 .R3 C17 Sect. A vol. 1
Browne, E., & Firestone, R. (1986). Table of radioactive isotopes. New York: Wiley.
Reference QD601.2 .B76 1986
Dresser, P. (1993). Nuclear power plants worldwide. Detroit, MI: Gale.
Reference TK1194 .N83 1993
Etherington, H. (Ed.). (1958). Nuclear engineering handbook. New York: McGraw-Hill.
Reference TK9151 .E58
Firestone, R., & Shirley, V. (Eds.). (1996).Table of isotopes. New York: Wiley.
Reference QD601.2 .F57 1996 (2-vol set)
Petrangeli, G. (2006). Nuclear safety. Amsterdam: Elsevier.
Reference TK9152 .P47 2006
Reactor Handbook. (2nd Ed.). (1960-1964). (4-vol w/ separate editors and publication dates)
New York: Interscience. [Vol. 1: Materials; Vol. 2: Fuel Reprocessing; Vol. 3: Engineering;
Vol. 4 Physics and Shielding].
Reference TK9202 .R37
Ronen, Y. (Ed.). (1986). Handbook of nuclear reactor calculations. Boca Raton, FL: CRC Press.
Third Floor TK9153 .C73 (3-vol set)
Taboas, A., Moghissi, A., & LaGuardia, T. (2004). The decommissioning handbook. New York: ASME.
Third Floor TK9152.2 .D3585 2004
Tarlton, S. (2006). World nuclear industry handbook. Foots Cray, Kent, UK: Wilmington Media.
Lists of reactor power statistics/performance and technical details of reactors worldwide.
Reference TK9012 .W6 2006
Standards, Codes, and Regulations
Consensus standards used by the NRC (Just a list – No full-text):
http://www.nrc.gov/what-we-do/regulatory/standards-dev/concensus.html
American Concrete Institute. (2005). ACI Manual of Concrete Practice. Farmington Hills, MI; American
Concrete Institute. (Part 4: Standard 349 - Code Requirements for Nuclear Safety Related Concrete Structures).
Reference TA681 .A5 2005
American Society of Mechanical Engineers. (2004). ASME boiler and pressure code: An international code.
New York: ASME. (Part 3: Section III - Rules for Construction of Nuclear Power Plant Components).
Consult “Companion Guide to the ASME Boiler & Pressure Vessel Code" for index, commentary, and
other relevant sections [Reference TJ289 .C66 2006]
Reference TJ291 .A5 2004
American Society of Mechanical Engineers. (2005). Code for operation and maintenance of nuclear power plants
(ASME OM Code-2004). New York: American Society of Mechanical Engineers.
Reference TK1343 .C64 2005
American Nuclear Society (ANS) Standards
Wilson Library has a few ANS standards located in Reference. The ANS standards can be searched by title in Merlin.
Reference TK9153 .A59
ASTM Standards – Only active ASTM standards are accessible from this source.
Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) - CFR10 - Chapter 1: Nuclear Regulatory Commission
The CFR is also available in print: Reference KF70 .A3
IEEE Standards – Are available through the IEEExplore database.
Missouri S&T Department of Nuclear Engineering
WWW Table of Radioactive Isotopes
Review of Criticality Accidents (2000)
Energy Information Administration (EIA)
World Map of Nuclear Power Plants
Virtual Library:Nuclear Engineering
Economic Future of Nuclear Power Study (University of Chicago)
Roadmap to Deploy New Nuclear Power Plants in the United States by 2010 - Summary
Roadmap to Deploy New Nuclear Power Plants in the United States by 2010 - Main Report
Generation IV Nuclear Energy Systems
Technology Road Map for Generation IV Nuclear Energy Systems
Priorities in Space Science Enabled by Nuclear Power and Propulsion
Role of Nuclear Power and Nuclear Propulsion in the Peaceful Exploration of Space
Back to Main Subject Guides Page
Back to Library Home Page
If you have any suggestions and/or questions, please contact me at mpickens@mst.edu.
Last updated: March 23, 2009.