Skip to department navigation
Skip to content
Skip to global navigation
library » library.mst.edu » subjectguides » reflib6 » geologygeophysics
Subject Guides to Information Resources

Geological Sciences and Engineering


Matthew Pickens
mpickens@mst.edu
Databases Print Resources Web Resources


Databases   

GeoRef
This database is a comprehensive geoscience resource containing over 2.6 million bibliographic records covering
subjects such as mineralogy and crystallography, general mineralogy, mineralogy of silicates, and mineralogy of
non-silicates. Bibliographic records from more than 3,000 journals are included in the database as well as journal
articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses. Coverage from 1693 to present.

OnePetro
OnePetro.org is a multi-society library that provides a simple way to search for and access a broad range of technical literature related to the oil and gas exploration and production industry. From one place, you can search and buy documents from many different professional societies, or similar organizations, that serve the oil and gas industry.

GeoScienceWorld
GeoScienceWorld provides electronic access to the journals of the American Association of Petroleum Geologists, American Geological Institute, Geological Society of America, Geological Society of London, Mineralogical Society of America, Society for Sedimentary Geology, and Society of Exploration Geophysicists.

Earthquake Engineering Abstracts
The 114,000 citations that comprise the database provide comprehensive of earthquake engineering and earthquake hazard mitigation. Coverage from approximately 1971 to present.

Knovel Digital Library
Knovel is a large collection of downloadable science and engineering ebooks, including reference works.


Compendex
Compendex is one of the most comprehensive bibliographic databases in the field of engineering. The citations
are drawn from over 2,600 journals, conference proceedings, technical reports, and some books. Compendex
is the online equivalent of the print Engineering Index from 1980 to the present (see below for additional coverage).
Coverage from 1884 to Present.

Dissertation Abstracts
Dissertation Abstracts contains references and abstracts for doctoral dissertations from accredited American and
Canadian, selected British and European universities, covering all academic subjects. Masters theses are also included
from accredited North American Universities. Coverage from 1861 (masters from 1988) to present.  

Scopus
Scopus provides multidisciplinary indexing of the science and engineering literature. It is Elsevier's counterpart to ISI's Web of Science, providing the same core functionality but indexing a wider variety of journals and proceedings. Coverage generally from 1996 to present though some records date as far back as the mid-1800s.

U.S. Geological Survey - Library Catalog
USGS online catalog containing over 325,000 citations to USGS publications produced since 1879. NOTE: Not all
USGS publications are listed in the USGS library catalog.

U.S. Geological Survey - Publications Warehouse
Bibliographic citations to over 70,000 USGS publications. Full-text of over 40,000 publications, including many Open-File Reports. NOTE: Not all USGS publications are listed in the Publication Warehouse.



Print Resources


Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

  • Glossary of Geology
    Reference QE5 .B38 2005
  • Dictionary of Geophysics, Astrophysics, and Astronomy
    Reference QB14 .D53 2001
  • Illustrated Petroleum Reference Dictionary
    Reference TN865 .I43 1994        
  • Encyclopedia of Geology
    Reference QE5 .E516 2005
  • Encyclopedia of Paleontology
    Reference QE703 .E523 1999
  • Water Encyclopedia
    Reference TD345 .L393 2005


Handbooks

  • Geoscience Handbook: AGI Data Sheets (4th edition)
    Reference QE52 .G46 2006
  • Practical Handbook of Physical Properties of Rocks and Minerals
    Reference QE431.6 P5 P73 1989
  • Dana's New Mineralogy
    Reference QE372 .D23 1997
  • Global Earth Physics
    Reference QC808. G56 1995
  • Ground-water Resources of the United States
    Reference GB1015 .G76 1983
  • Handbook of Groundwater Engineering
    Reference  TC176 .H35 1999
  • Handbook of Petroleum Refining Processes
    Reference TP690 .H34 1997
  • Mineral Reference Manual
    Reference QE372.1 .N53 1991
  • Modern Petroleum Technology
    Reference TN870 . .I48 2000
  • The Engineer's Career Guide
    Reference Reserve

Web Resources



Back to Main Subject Guides Page

Back to Library Home Page  

 


    If you have any suggestions and/or questions, please contact me at mpickens@mst.edu.
    Last updated 06/24/2010.

  generate print-friendly
DESERT EXPLORER

Michael Bouchard studies bizarre dome-like structures in Egypt's Afar Desert.

READ MORE >
GOING THE DISTANCE

Marathon runner Devin Dixon sped through three degrees in just over six years.

READ MORE >
MINING ON THE MOON

Dr. Leslie Gertsch takes a look at humanity's future in space.

READ MORE >
D-DAY RE-EXAMINED

John McManus' latest book looks at the Big Red One at Omaha Beach.

READ MORE >
LIFE ON MARS

Melanie Mormile studies bacteria here on Earth that could survive on Mars.

READ MORE >
SPELUNKING FOR A CAUSE

Michael Bradford helps protect bats and cave formations in Missouri.

READ MORE >
SLIMY STUFF

Paul Nam suggests the potential solution to several global problems is green slime (algae).

READ MORE >
DANCING WITH CODE

Marquia Lewis studies computer science and is a member of the Gold Miners dance squad.

READ MORE >
CRAFT-Y MAGAZINE EDITOR

Casey Burton works to improve cancer screenings and publishes a gamer magazine.

READ MORE >
A GOALIE'S PERSPECTIVE

Carrie Levy enjoys the mental challenge of being a Lady Miner goalkeeper.

READ MORE >
A PHILOSOPHY OF ADVOCACY

Kate Burns is proof that students in every major can find success.

READ MORE >
PHYTOFORENSICS

Joel Burken's research team use trees to detect soil and groundwater contamination.

READ MORE >
ROCKET SCIENTIST

Anan Takroori shares his love of planes, rockets and satellites with campers.

READ MORE >
'DOWN-TO-EARTH' SCHOLAR

Krista Rybacki studies soil samples from an area near a lead recycling smelter.

READ MORE >
MINERS ABROAD

Delancey Rougely studied the effects of war in France and blogged about it.

READ MORE >