Skip to department navigation
Skip to content
Skip to global navigation
library » library.mst.edu » subjectguides » reflib6 » miningengineering
Subject Guides to Information Resources

Mining Engineering


Matthew Pickens
mpickens@mst.edu
Databases Print Resources Web Resources


Databases

      Compendex
     Compendex is one of the most comprehensive bibliographic databases in the field of engineering. The citations
     are drawn from over 2,600 journals, conference proceedings, technical reports, and some books. Compendex
     is the online equivalent of the print Engineering Index from 1980 to the present (see below for additional coverage).
     Coverage from 1884 to Present.

GeoRef
This database is a comprehensive geoscience resource containing over 2.6 million bibliographic records covering
subjects such as mineralogy and crystallography, general mineralogy, mineralogy of silicates, and mineralogy of
non-silicates. Bibliographic records from more than 3,000 journals are included in the database as well as journal
articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses. Coverage from 1785 to present.

Knovel Digital Library
Knovel is a large collection of downloadable science and engineering ebooks, including reference works.

 
Scopus
Scopus provides multidisciplinary indexing of the science and engineering literature. It is Elsevier's counterpart to ISI's Web of Science, providing the same core functionality but indexing a wider variety of journals and proceedings. Coverage generally from 1996 to present though some records date as far back as the mid-1800s.

Energy Citations Database
Citations and some full-text of materials from the Department of Energy and its predecessors.

U.S. Geological Survey - Publications
USGS online catalog containing over 325,000 citations to USGS publications produced since 1879. NOTE: Not all
USGS publications are listed in their online catalog.

 

Print Resources

Handbooks, Dictionaries, and Encyclopedias

  • SME Mining Reference Handbook
    Reference TN151 .S64 2002
  • SME Mining Engineering Handbook (2-volume)
    Reference TN151 .S6 1992  (Volume 1 currently on Reserve at Circulation Desk)
  • Blaster's Handbook
    Reference TN279 .B53 1998 (Currently on Reserve at Circulation Desk)
  • Canadian & American Mines Handbook
    Reference HD9506 .N7 C36
  • Dictionary of Mining, Mineral, and Related Terms
    Reference TN9 .T53 1968
  • Dictionary of Mining Terms
    Reference TN9 .D564 1997
  • Encyclopedia of Tunnelling, Mining and Drilling Equipment
    Reference TN345 .S83 1995
  • Handbook of Mining and Tunnnelling Machinery
    Reference TN345 .S72 1982
  • Industrial Minerals and Rocks: Commodities, Markets, and Uses (7th Edition)
    Reference TN799.5 .A43
  • Metal Statistics - The Statistical Guide to North American Metals (2002)
    Reference HD9506 .U6 A5 2002
  • Practical Mine Ventilation Engineering
    Third Floor TN301 .T56 1999
  • Rock Blasting Terms and Symbols
    Reference TN279 .R631 1998
  • Surface Mining (2nd edition)
    Reference TN291 .S78 1990
  • Underground Mining Methods Handbook
    Third Floor TN151 .U5
  • The Engineer's Career Guide
    Reference Reserve

    
U.S. Government Publications

  • Bureau of Mines,  List of publications (or journal articles ) Issued by (1910 to 1994)
    Third Floor Government Documents  I28.5:
    [NOTE: CD-ROM also available - Third Floor Government Documents CD Cabinet I28.151: 17-95]
  • Mineral Commodity Summaries
    Third Floor Government Documents  I19.166:
  • Minerals Yearbook
    Third Floor TN23 .U612
  • Report of investigations (United States. Bureau of Mines)
    Third Floor TN23 .U43
  • Safety Manual Series
    Pamphlets prepared by the National Mine Health and Safety Academy on various topics (e.g., Safety Tips for Underground Coal Mining, Coal Mine Maps, etc.). Each pamphlet is approximately 20-50 pages.
    Third Floor Government Documents L38/2:

Mining Law and Regulations


        
 Web Resources  

    U.S. Government Websites  

        Mine Safety and Health Administration (MSHA)

        National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH) - Mining  

        National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH) - Mining Statistics

        Office of Surface Mining (U.S. Department of the Interior)
   
        United States Geological Survey (USGS)

    
   Professional Organizations and Societies    

        National Mining Association

        The Minerals, Metals, and Materials Society

        Society for Mining, Metallurgy, and Exploration

    Industry News 

        InfoMine - Mining Intelligence and Technology

        Mining Journal

        Mining Record

 



     Back to Main Subject Guides Page

     Back to Library Home Page  

 


        If you have any suggestions and/or questions, please contact me at mpickens@mst.edu.
        Last updated 06/24/2010

  generate print-friendly
DESERT EXPLORER

Michael Bouchard studies bizarre dome-like structures in Egypt's Afar Desert.

READ MORE >
GOING THE DISTANCE

Marathon runner Devin Dixon sped through three degrees in just over six years.

READ MORE >
MINING ON THE MOON

Dr. Leslie Gertsch takes a look at humanity's future in space.

READ MORE >
D-DAY RE-EXAMINED

John McManus' latest book looks at the Big Red One at Omaha Beach.

READ MORE >
LIFE ON MARS

Melanie Mormile studies bacteria here on Earth that could survive on Mars.

READ MORE >
SPELUNKING FOR A CAUSE

Michael Bradford helps protect bats and cave formations in Missouri.

READ MORE >
SLIMY STUFF

Paul Nam suggests the potential solution to several global problems is green slime (algae).

READ MORE >
DANCING WITH CODE

Marquia Lewis studies computer science and is a member of the Gold Miners dance squad.

READ MORE >
CRAFT-Y MAGAZINE EDITOR

Casey Burton works to improve cancer screenings and publishes a gamer magazine.

READ MORE >
A GOALIE'S PERSPECTIVE

Carrie Levy enjoys the mental challenge of being a Lady Miner goalkeeper.

READ MORE >
A PHILOSOPHY OF ADVOCACY

Kate Burns is proof that students in every major can find success.

READ MORE >
PHYTOFORENSICS

Joel Burken's research team use trees to detect soil and groundwater contamination.

READ MORE >
ROCKET SCIENTIST

Anan Takroori shares his love of planes, rockets and satellites with campers.

READ MORE >
'DOWN-TO-EARTH' SCHOLAR

Krista Rybacki studies soil samples from an area near a lead recycling smelter.

READ MORE >
MINERS ABROAD

Delancey Rougely studied the effects of war in France and blogged about it.

READ MORE >