UMR Curtis Law Wilson Library
[an error occurred while processing this directive]

 

 

 

Curtis Laws Wilson Library
400 W. 14th Street
Rolla, MO 65409-0060


Main office: 573-341-4227
Circulation: 573-341-4008
Interlibrary Loan: 573-341-4006
Reference: 573-341-4007
Fax: 573-341-4233
Email: library@mst.edu

print 
Popular Law Resources in the Missouri S&T Library

 
Whether you are looking for a specific legal case or need general legal information, some of these books and links may be useful to you. These materials may be published by:

  1. the United States (federal) government,
  2. state or local governments, or
  3. private companies which make legal materials available.

If you don't know what you are looking for, please ask for help at the Reference Desk. The reference librarian on duty will be glad to help you. However, reference librarians cannot and will not give legal advice.

This listing is in alphabetical order by title. Each book or set of books has a unique call number. The books themselves are shelved in call number order. The notation "REFERENCE" in the books' call number means the books are located in the Reference Collection. You will find them on the east side of the First Floor (main floor) of the building. Most U. S. Government Documents (the abbreviation for this location is "GovDoc") are located on the Third Floor, also on the east side.

In addition to the printed books, some of this information is available in electronic format. When that is true, the title is underlined in the left-hand column; you may access these titles directly from this web page.

Occasionally, the original publication date of a title listed below is included in the call number. Usually, if the material is located within Reference, the materials are kept current with some form of supplement. These might be in the form of "pocket parts" or separate supplements. (In other words, you cannot rely on the call number date to determine currency of a publication.)

Selected Print and Electronic Resources:
Title
(Click to access
underlined titles.)
Missouri S&T Call Number
(for print titles)
Sample CitationRemarks
American Jurisprudence 2dREFERENCE
KF 379
.A52
31A Am Jur 2d § ____A multi-volume encyclopedia with comprehensive coverage of legal topics from 'Abandoned Property' to 'Zoning'. The set includes a six-volume index.
Code of Federal RegulationsREFERENCE
KF 70
.A3
11 CFR 109.1A systematic arrangement of all the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the Executive departments and agencies of the Federal Government. The CFR is divided into 50 titles which represent broad areas subject to federal regulation. It is updated quarterly on a rotating basis.
Federal RegisterMissouri S&T
GovDoc AE 2.106:; located in Government Documents, Third Floor
57 FR 11814, Apr. 7, 1992The source for all new announcements of generally applicable federal rules and regulations.
Missouri Code of State RegulationsREFERENCE
KFM 7835
1976 .A23
3 CSR 10-4.111Rules and regulations from Missouri departments and agencies. It is kept current by annual updates from the Missouri Secretary of State. An index is included.
Missouri RegisterMissouri S&T GovDoc SS.Ad 10Volume 26, Number 1 January 2, 2001Bi-monthly changes to Missouri laws and regulations from the Missouri Secretary of State.
Missouri Revised StatutesREFERENCE
KFM 7829
.A25 2000
Also available in Missouri Government Documents at this call number: GovDoc GA.Leg 5:St 2/2000
RSMo 182.640The complete laws in force for the State of Missouri, with a four-volume "General Subject" index. Kept up to date with yearly print supplements.
Rolla Municipal OrdinancesREFERENCE
KFX 2263
.A35 1988
Ord. 478, § 2Made available by the City of Rolla
United States CodeREFERENCE
KF 62
.A2
16 U. S. C. § 1311 (1988)The official record of all federal laws. The Code is reissued every six years and updated with yearly supplements. Note that the newest print supplement on the reference shelf is dated 1990.
United States Supreme Court Reports, Lawyer's EditionREFERENCE
JK 1565
.U59
487 US 815, 101 L Ed 2d 702A commercial set of Supreme Court decisions, commentary, and cross-references to prior cases.
United States Statutes At LargeREFERENCE
KF 50
.U55
112 STAT 3035The official, permanent session law publication for federal laws. Contains public and private laws passed by Congress, cumulated and published in chronological order. Each volume contains a subject index to the laws included in it.
** Vernon's Annotated Statutes of MissouriREFERENCE
KFM 7830
1949
.A413
V. A. M. S. § 572.070A commercially-produced, indexed collection of Missouri state laws and federal and state cases.
** West's Missouri Cases Reported in South West Reporter, 2ndREFERENCE
KFM 7847
.A2
Meeker v. Grissum,
971 S.W.2d 345
(Mo.App.S.D. 1998)
A commercially-produced set which gives summaries and selected transcripts for cases heard in the Missouri Supreme Court and the three Missouri Courts of Appeals (Eastern District, Western District, and Southern District).
** West's Missouri Digest 2dREFERENCE
KFM 7857
.M53
Alphabetical entryGives access by subject and by names of parties to Missouri court cases after 1930.
** These important legal reference sets are recent gifts from the Phelps County Law Library; they were added to the Library's collection in 2001.



Electronic-Only Resources:
Title
(Click to access
underlined titles.)
How to AccessRemarks
Academic Universe (from Lexis-Nexis)
(Available only to members of the Missouri S&T community)
  • Go to "Databases" from the Missouri S&T Library Home Page
  • Choose "Select Databases By Name",
  • Select "Academic Universe",
  • Then, go to "Legal Research".
Full text of laws and court decisions from federal and state courts, in addition to a wide variety of other legal information
Law Library of Congresswww.loc.gov/law/guide/us_mo.htmlAn extensive list of Missouri-related web links made available and maintained by the U. S. Library of Congress. There are also links to other states and countries. Highly recommended for completeness.
Missouri House of Representativeswww.house.state.mo.usYou may track House Bills as well as past and present legislation. Made available by the Missouri House.
Missouri Judiciarywww.osca.state.mo.usLinks to the Supreme Court of Missouri, Courts of Appeals, and Circuit Courts around the state
Missouri State Senatewww.senate.state.mo.usYou may track Senate Bills as well as past and present legislation. Made available by the Missouri Senate.
THOMAS -- "Legislative Information on the Internet"thomas.loc.govAccess to an incredible array of information about House and Senate committee reports, bills, and votes. THOMAS is provided by the Library of Congress. Includes many of the resources identified above--and much more.
For further research, there is an infinite variety of other electronic resources available at the Federal Government Information Resources link, from the Missouri S&T Library home page.Links to these sites are maintained by Nena Thomas, Head of Reference at UM-Rolla



Additional Resources:
FindLaw is a commercial site with an extensive set of links to information in these categories:

  • Legal Professionals
  • Students
  • Business
  • Public

FindLaw appears to be comprehensive. You may also choose personalized access through "My Find Law". Check it out!


The Missouri Bar Association has prepared several brochures and introductory guides to a wide variety of legal topics. You may view them online or by visiting their web site at www.mobar.org. One publication in particular, Client Resource Guide, is an extremely useful introduction to many commonly asked questions. This publication also includes an extensive directory of state agencies and local organizations to which further specific inquiries may be made.


Back to the Subject Guides
File modified Thursday, June 06, 2002 by Andy Stewart