Fines and billing fees
Reserves are held at the Service Desk and the majority of reserve materials adhere to a two hour check out and can leave the library. If you need an item longer, come to the library up to two hours before the library closes and you can check the item out until the next morning with a due date of one hour after the library opens for the day. There are still a few items that adhere to an in library use check out for 2 hours, these are primarily only instructor copies. Reserve materials accrue fines. The maximum fine is $2, unless the item is lost or damaged. There are a few items on permanent reserve with loan periods ranging from overnight to up to 30 days.
If an item is needed for course reserve, it may be recalled. If an item is recalled, the due date will be shortened and a notice will be sent to the patron that currently has this item checked out. Recalls generate fines of $1.00 if items are returned after the adjusted recall due date. There is a minimum use period of two weeks for Missouri S&T regular collection items, if an item has been checked out for more than one week, it will be due one week from the recall date. Other collections are subject to variable minimum use periods.
Other fines and billing charges:
Other MERLIN or MOBIUS libraries may charge fines of up to $5.00 per day for certain overdue items. Missouri S&T cannot drop or reduce fines charged by other libraries. All billed items accrue billing fees of up to $20.00 per item that cannot be waived. Billing fees are charged in addition to the cost of the item if the item is not returned. Books are billed 30 days after the due date. Books that have been lost and paid for are not eligible for a refund if six or more months have passed since the bill was paid, or one year after the book has been billed, whichever is less.